Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2014, 3:15 pm

Finally decided to try something healthier than walking to the fridge.
I bought a Schwinn from Price Smart ($1,600), and some gear from Corky's (very nice, helpful lady)
Last time I rode a bike was when I was 11.....so complete novice here.
Before I even took the bike out, the rear tyre went flat. Replaced the tube in a place in Couva...
Sunday gone, I jumped off the deep end, and rode some trails in Chaguaramas with Pornie, Mr Gear and Mini.....pushed the bike along a fair deal, rode very cautiously and wobbly, but had a great time. Those guys took turns dropping back to make sure I didn't die....can't thank them enough for that....
Got a flat toward the end. Took the wheel off, wrapped the rim in electrical tape and then put back the rubber band, before repairing the tube and reinstalling it. Got some help servicing it by a the Felt dealer in Couva...very cool dude....plan is to ride around the Ato Boldon stadium twice during the week, and do as many sunday trail rides as possible...
Zorak yuh good boy. I real fraid to ride on public roads O_o but Indian Trail sounding good

Postby MG Man » December 30th, 2014, 3:26 pm

first bit of advice from everybody: get rid of the kickstand!
IMG_3087.JPG
IMG_3087.JPG (113.37 KiB) Viewed 4245 times

Postby shogun » December 30th, 2014, 6:47 pm

Well done man. Great way to stay in shape and not have it be too much of a chore.

Been looking into those stop flat liners mehself to stop those pesky flats.

Dude likes to talk, so skip to 3:28 for when he finally gets to the point. Stay safe and good luck.

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2014, 9:51 am

in my case, it was the rim-side that was causing the punctures. The lady in Corky's suggested I buy the tyre-side guard if I plan on trail riding....after pushing the bike out of the bush, I may very well invest in two

PapaC

Postby PapaC » December 31st, 2014, 4:24 pm

You could tell what exactly was puncturing the tyre? You should deal with hat problem first. Could be a spoke a lil too long, and just need to use a file or a hacksaw blade to sort it out.

Postby MG Man » December 31st, 2014, 5:33 pm

we couldn't find anything...on both tubes, it was a tiny pinhole in the exact same spot. There was a tiny cut in the rim band but it was slightly off the nearest spoke, so sort of a mystery. Rode 8kms in Ato Boldon Stadium yesterday with no problem, so hopefully the electrical tape did the trick

Postby De Dragon » December 31st, 2014, 6:01 pm

MG Man wrote:we couldn't find anything...on both tubes, it was a tiny pinhole in the exact same spot. There was a tiny cut in the rim band but it was slightly off the nearest spoke, so sort of a mystery. Rode 8kms in Ato Boldon Stadium yesterday with no problem, so hopefully the electrical tape did the trick

You gots a bike computer?

boostaddict

Postby boostaddict » December 31st, 2014, 6:35 pm

Tuners we should organise a ride on the trails sort of like a meet an greet .... jus saying

Zorak

Postby Zorak » December 31st, 2014, 7:57 pm

Whoa MG! Things cool on my end bro. I guess I'll see you up in the trails...whenever I reach! Lol! No lie, my bike tyres haven't left the carpet yet :|
Friday I'm supposed to be heading out on the trails with a brethren from work. And who knows, maybe Sunday too!

All the best in 2015 fellas!

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2015, 11:08 am

MG Man wrote:we couldn't find anything...on both tubes, it was a tiny pinhole in the exact same spot. There was a tiny cut in the rim band but it was slightly off the nearest spoke, so sort of a mystery. Rode 8kms in Ato Boldon Stadium yesterday with no problem, so hopefully the electrical tape did the trick

mobile app

Zorak, where in Indian Trail do you ride?
ride3.jpg
ride2.jpg
ride1.jpg

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 2nd, 2015, 11:43 am

Happy new year guys ...

If anyone is looking for a bike shoes ... check here:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=608981

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 2nd, 2015, 12:17 pm

mobile app

Zorak, where in Indian Trail do you ride?

Decent pace still. Should have a tuner ride for real. At least I know it have one person I could ride with in the group.

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2015, 3:03 pm

hoping to hit Ato Boldon Stadium this evening, around 5:15 if anybody wanna fall een

Porn Star

Postby Porn Star » January 2nd, 2015, 4:30 pm

A group of us are riding the trails on Saturday afternoon at 3 pm and on sunday morning at 7 am.
Meet at Saman Park, Chaguaramas.

Postby pugboy » January 2nd, 2015, 4:39 pm

those rim liners work, they are a Kevlar band coated with rubber
however over time the rubber separates and the Kevlar band will puncture your tube,
so they need to be checked every 6 months or so,
also if they are trimmed for length, the end should be burnt with a flame to soften it.

invest in a good floor pump and keep tires pumped hard enough
soft tires puncture easier

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2015, 4:45 pm

good info :)

bgh

Postby bgh » January 12th, 2015, 11:19 pm

Check the FB page for more info.
1421119147210.jpg

Postby shogun » January 12th, 2015, 11:40 pm

Nice.

Postby gastly369 » January 13th, 2015, 12:25 am

looking for this bike locally anyone knows where?

tryin some :|

Postby MG Man » January 14th, 2015, 9:46 am

riding in Ato Boldon Stadium three times a week now...averaging 10-12 kms....goal for now is 15 km in an hour....challenging now with lots of ppl walking
Got my average speed up from around 13kph to 15kph now.....don't laugh....just an out of shape fatboy trying to get into shape

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 14th, 2015, 3:31 pm

just keep pedalling but its better to have company, its more fun.

skulls

Postby skulls » January 14th, 2015, 4:51 pm

gastly369 wrote:looking for this bike locally anyone knows where?

tryin some :|

Pricesmart online

Postby gastly369 » January 17th, 2015, 12:37 pm

Got some
1421512605393.jpg

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 17th, 2015, 5:43 pm

How much?

Postby gastly369 » January 17th, 2015, 7:32 pm

$1800

Aluminum dual suspension frame, Alloy crown front suspension, Alloy A-head style stem, Microshift push-push shifters, Front and rear promax disk brakes, 21 Speeds, Shimano TZ30 rear derailleur, Shimano topswing front derailleur, MTB tread 26" x 2.10", Quando HUB, Alloy rims, 48T-38T-28T 3-piece crank, quick release MTB seat.

Postby MG Man » January 17th, 2015, 8:44 pm

where did you buy it?

Postby gastly369 » January 18th, 2015, 1:21 am

Debe next to scotia bank .. Guy has lots of bikes

Postby SR » January 18th, 2015, 7:09 am

Just ordered a 2015 cannondale seeing that everbody I know who never use to ride 15 years ago is now into it
finally some company

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » January 18th, 2015, 10:05 am

Sr what model Cannondale ?

Postby SR » January 18th, 2015, 1:06 pm

Cheap one :)