Mountain Biking

metalgear2095

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby metalgear2095 » October 11th, 2018, 3:44 pm

adnj wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I realized the full suspension bikes aren't that good for cross-country - the gearing isn't tall enough for speed. You'll be flailing when riding on road.

I wasn't aware of these things when I was shopping, I lucked out and my MTB bike was 3x8 and has some good top end ratio in addition to a 34T for hillclimbs. It's good for these road/trail rides. Won't be able to keep up with the bajillion dollar road bikes, but I do ok
In my experience, the hardtails are more efficient for pounding up a hill simply because the rear geometry is much more rigid.

If you are riding technical trails with road riding mixed in, you can change your gear ring to suit. You don't need to give up tall gears if you really want them.

Generally 3x8 is an entry level bike and the granny gear on the cassette is much smaller than a 1x or 2x making it harder to pedal uphill. Entry level bikes are also much heavier as well. Yes a hardtail should be more efficient but most full suspension allow you to lock out the shock to prevent that loss of energy. The Scott bikes allow you to do this remotely with a switch on the handlebars= zero travel on the shock and fork. I'll take a 2x 11/12 or a 1x over a 3x anything anyway. It's a simpler system and does the job better

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2018, 8:48 pm

yup, it's an decent entry level specialized hardtail, pretty good shimano components so shifting is buttery smooth. The hydro brakes are a bloody godsend when descending with twistyturns (downhill from the top of Gran couva into la vega is THE SHIZ)
I appreciate the 3x8, the 44 helps when I need some top end.
I've put it through the paces - over 3000 kms logged on mixed terrain since I bought it 1.5 years ago.

Agreed on the fork lockout. I tend to use it locked more than anything except when the terrain is really horrible. It fscks up my carpal tunnel

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 11th, 2018, 9:45 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:yup, it's an decent entry level specialized hardtail, pretty good shimano components so shifting is buttery smooth. The hydro brakes are a bloody godsend when descending with twistyturns (downhill from the top of Gran couva into la vega is THE SHIZ)
I appreciate the 3x8, the 44 helps when I need some top end.
I've put it through the paces - over 3000 kms logged on mixed terrain since I bought it 1.5 years ago.

Agreed on the fork lockout. I tend to use it locked more than anything except when the terrain is really horrible. It fscks up my carpal tunnel

Get a decent full suspension and you’ll never want to go back. You got 27.5 or 29? My hard tail was 26 with sheit brakes and heavy like a tank. Don’t miss it one bit

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2018, 9:46 pm

650b/27.5
in retrospect, I should have gone 29 and done.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 12th, 2018, 6:11 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:650b/27.5

Same thing I thought except I was 26. Was advised by a friend to go 27.5 which is pretty good but 29 would be easier for my lazy ass. That genius I posted can take 27.5, 29 and plus though.

Postby 16 cycles » October 12th, 2018, 7:52 am

Level dogs on that gran couva route...up mayo and out by police station...

TRAVIS23

Postby TRAVIS23 » October 12th, 2018, 8:18 am

SHIMANO MTB SHOE
Like new , size is 46
Price is 400
Call 720 3867
Willing to trade for a road bike shoe(46)
Screenshot_2018-10-12-08-15-29.jpeg
Screenshot_2018-10-12-08-15-25.jpeg
Screenshot_2018-10-12-08-15-20.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 12th, 2018, 9:35 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:650b/27.5

Same thing I thought except I was 26. Was advised by a friend to go 27.5 which is pretty good but 29 would be easier for my lazy ass. That genius I posted can take 27.5, 29 and plus though.

I think you've convinced me a bit.
Ill ride this specialized till it dead.

When I'm upgrading, I'll go for a full suspension 29er. maybe a 2x12; if i can get a 38-40 chainring for the big one. I use the top gear all the gawddamn time :)

Postby adnj » October 12th, 2018, 2:58 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:
adnj wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:I realized the full suspension bikes aren't that good for cross-country - the gearing isn't tall enough for speed. You'll be flailing when riding on road.

I wasn't aware of these things when I was shopping, I lucked out and my MTB bike was 3x8 and has some good top end ratio in addition to a 34T for hillclimbs. It's good for these road/trail rides. Won't be able to keep up with the bajillion dollar road bikes, but I do ok
In my experience, the hardtails are more efficient for pounding up a hill simply because the rear geometry is much more rigid.

If you are riding technical trails with road riding mixed in, you can change your gear ring to suit. You don't need to give up tall gears if you really want them.

Generally 3x8 is an entry level bike and the granny gear on the cassette is much smaller than a 1x or 2x making it harder to pedal uphill. Entry level bikes are also much heavier as well. Yes a hardtail should be more efficient but most full suspension allow you to lock out the shock to prevent that loss of energy. The Scott bikes allow you to do this remotely with a switch on the handlebars= zero travel on the shock and fork. I'll take a 2x 11/12 or a 1x over a 3x anything anyway. It's a simpler system and does the job better
I was saying to actually install a different sized chainring.

Swap out the offending components if you really like your frame or just buy a frame, components that you want and build it the way that you really want it without the compromises. You don't need to let the bicycle manufacturer decide for you.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 12th, 2018, 4:33 pm

adnj wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
adnj wrote:

I was saying to actually install a different sized chainring.

Swap out the offending components if you really like your frame or just buy a frame, components that you want and build it the way that you really want it without the compromises. You don't need to let the bicycle manufacturer decide for you.

It's usually cheaper to buy the whole bike then all the parts and build. A decent 2x will have gears for all situations imo

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 14th, 2018, 2:39 pm

Went for a distance pr this morning. 84k riding alone. One pitstop on return leg to hit up a parlour for a water and Gatorade.
Couva to Piarco and back again.
Looking for some new routes.

The Munroe road to Warren stretches were a bit too dangerous for my liking. Ahole Drivers
IMG_20181014_101956_643.jpeg

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 15th, 2018, 8:17 am

Wow. You a beast

Postby 16 cycles » October 15th, 2018, 8:29 am

well done !!

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2018, 9:18 am

nah not a beast nah.
Just trying to be a better me.

I seeing some dudes in their 50's pushing double this, then normal the next day.
I have slight DOMS, because my normal ride is about 60; so I had to push a little harder to wrap this up. My prob is pain in the gluteus maximus lol.

Hoping that we can motivate each other!

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 15th, 2018, 1:10 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:nah not a beast nah.

I seeing some dudes in their 50's pushing double this, then normal the next day.
I have slight DOMS, because my normal ride is about 60; so I had to push a little harder to wrap this up. My prob is pain in the gluteus maximus lol.

You wear a padded liner under your shorts?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 15th, 2018, 1:11 pm

metalgear2095 wrote:

You wear a padded liner under your shorts?

nah, regular shorts and underwear, lol.
I ride with pretty much normal clothing.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 15th, 2018, 2:18 pm

It helps imo. I like the Fox brand shorts. Pretty comfortable with many pockets. Good for the beach too.

Postby 16 cycles » October 15th, 2018, 2:22 pm

padded specific cycling shorts help cushion your sit bones....does not have to be tights/bibs as per road cyclists....can use mountain bike type shorts...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 16th, 2018, 6:56 am

I bought a pair of BIG GRIP KENDA MTB tires 26" so I wouldn't get flats riding on pitch roads with all those broken glass splinters.

Not gonna lie doing 6 miles seems very hard compared to my older gravel tires that was closer to smooth tires than this. You can feel how the bike slows down.

A padner told me he has those tires and he never gets a flat cause the grips are too big for glass splinters to penetrate all the way to the tube

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 16th, 2018, 12:57 pm

you can also install tyre liners and use puncture resistant tubes.

There's a deal right now on blueskycycling.com for tubes as low as $2. I bought a couple spares recently after getting a puncture from a piece of broken glass.

I'm in the market for new tyres (650b/ 27.5"); but mtb tires more expensive than car tyres yes. LOLOL. Might buy online if I can find a good deal on some rubber to handle wet/dry asphalt, loose gravel and the occasional dirt/mud

Postby adnj » October 16th, 2018, 4:09 pm

For two years, I rode Saturday centuries in Lower Indiana and Kentucky with a Trini that was in his 60s.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 16th, 2018, 6:20 pm

Go tubeless. For the trails go with the more aggressive tires at the front and a slimmer one at the back. Makes pedalling and cornering easier.

Postby De Dragon » October 17th, 2018, 3:27 pm

Have the Maxxis Ardents on my MTB. Good , durable tyre, but I have the 2.25 width, which has a rolling resistance which can be tough on hills.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2018, 4:02 pm

Inching closer to 100k.

Cliff's: Munroe road is the most dangerous stretch I've ever ridden on. Jesus.

Rear tyre kinda shot now. Center grips almost gone after about 3400kms. They came with the bike. Started locking up under gentle breaking so it's dangerous for my quick descents on the twistys like in Gran Couva and down brasso

Local tyre prices are insane. 400+ each?
Picked up a couple vittoria mezcal iii on sale at jensonusa.com. 50 bux for both, regular price was about 60ea.
Looks like it will suit my kinda riding.
IMG_20181028_104526_852.jpeg

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2018, 4:02 pm

**braking

Postby ismithx » October 28th, 2018, 6:08 pm

400? Waht kinda tyres you buying padna?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 28th, 2018, 6:19 pm

650b MTB tyres. I checked a couple places and the prices seem to be 400 up, unless is some kinda dryrot old stock where you can't even find info online

Postby shogun » October 30th, 2018, 6:48 pm

Bought a pair of FOX full riding gloves online and in a few months thing already lookin beatup.

What y'all using if anything?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 30th, 2018, 7:05 pm

I had a cheap pair of fox, still going strong after 18months. Colour faded tho.
Bought a pair of lizard skins that ended up being too tight/small and I chopped off the fingers and it ended up ripping out . Wasted 35usd.

Got some Vittoria but didn't open em yet.

Gloves really help with hand fatigue

Postby shogun » October 30th, 2018, 7:22 pm

The color fade is expected. Three or four of the fingers already chewed up on the ends, on mine and my fingers sticking out. Have to keep stopping to readjust from time to time.

Tight, too small? Try using the size chart that is usually somewhere on the item page. My hands big, so izza must for me.

The Vittoria Fuga full finger, looking like the winner. Thanks.