Mountain Biking

baigan

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby baigan » November 4th, 2016, 8:21 am

Redman wrote:Looking for a solid bike for jr...he is 7..any ideas?

Mikes bikes got a bunch of kids bikes, check them out

gencon

Postby gencon » November 4th, 2016, 12:56 pm

jm3 wrote:The Couva trail is very short and steep in areas riding in an anti clockwise direction is more fun

sounds somewhat dangerous for beginners, which I am.

jm3

Postby jm3 » January 16th, 2017, 7:23 pm

well you only live once may aswell just give it a try and see how you do.

Postby shogun » January 16th, 2017, 8:47 pm

Need to get back on the trails myself. Been procrastinating for a lil too long now about repairing Betsy (my bike)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 16th, 2017, 9:37 pm

I'm looking at a Trek at Bike Inn
any experience with that brand? Mostly for Chaguaramas trails

I think the model is the Trek Marlin 5 mountain bike

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2017, 9:53 pm

Thought the trek dealer was geronimos

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 16th, 2017, 10:04 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I'm looking at a Trek at Bike Inn

Was actually looking at bringing one of these down, could ask what Bike Inn charging for it?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2017, 10:44 am

iM@st@1 wrote:

Was actually looking at bringing one of these down, could ask what Bike Inn charging for it?

During Christmas the cable disc brakes and non adjustable front strut model was $3000 and the hydraulic disc brake and adjustable front strut model was $3600.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 17th, 2017, 10:55 am

I have one of these, got it for Xmas 2015 and have not ridden it since receiving it.

IMG_.jpg
IMG_.jpg (143.73 KiB) Viewed 2956 times

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 17th, 2017, 11:22 am

iM@st@1 wrote:

During Christmas the cable disc brakes and non adjustable front strut model was $3000 and the hydraulic disc brake and adjustable front strut model was $3600.

That's a really good price, better to buy it here then. Hopefully is still the same.

bcozier

Postby bcozier » January 17th, 2017, 9:48 pm

Is this at Bike Inn or Geronimo's?

Postby ismithx » January 17th, 2017, 10:52 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I have one of these, got it for Xmas 2015 and have not ridden it since receiving it.

IMG_.jpg

you want some clout my friend.... surely you jest

Brans

Postby Brans » January 18th, 2017, 8:22 am

bcozier wrote:Is this at Bike Inn or Geronimo's?

I am wondering the same thing because Geronimo's is the dealer for Trek in Trinidad and I called them Saturday self where they stated they are selling the Marlin 5 for $4500.00

Brans

Postby Brans » January 18th, 2017, 8:33 am

On a side note, if anyone is looking for a Marlin 5 Bike i have one for sale. Have some Maxxiss High Rollers 2 on, hardly ridden.
20160615_065220.jpg

$3900. PM or whatsapp 756-6294 if interested.

Postby gastly369 » January 18th, 2017, 8:51 am

Took mines out from storage lol need to start back riding yes

Anywhere have bike racks for vehicles selling locally? Something to hold at least 2 bikes

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2017, 9:26 am

ismithx wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:I have one of these, got it for Xmas 2015 and have not ridden it since receiving it.

IMG_.jpg

No jest...got that for Xmas, my son was born 1 week later and just been busy with him ever since. By the time I'm home on evenings I get a few hours with him before he falls asleep, so essentially there's only weekends and that's where it all falls apart.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2017, 9:29 am

Brans wrote:

I am wondering the same thing because Geronimo's is the dealer for Trek in Trinidad and I called them Saturday self where they stated they are selling the Marlin 5 for $4500.00

Bike Inn

I'm not 100% sure it's the Marlin 5 but it looks very similar. Trek Matte black.

Postby ismithx » January 18th, 2017, 2:44 pm

ismithx wrote:

IMG_.jpg

No jest...got that for Xmas, my son was born 1 week later and just been busy with him ever since. By the time I'm home on evenings I get a few hours with him before he falls asleep, so essentially there's only weekends and that's where it all falls apart.

cool, at least take out in your neighborhood for a little half an hour though... two-wheeled vehicles are one of the finer pleasures of this life

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 18th, 2017, 2:58 pm

ismithx wrote:

IMG_.jpg

sellin or wah?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » January 18th, 2017, 6:20 pm

Trek is a good brand. A lot of people start on a Trek. My first was a Trek. It's a heavy ass bike though but tough

Postby ismithx » January 18th, 2017, 10:05 pm

or you can check Geronimo's. I bought a secondhand trek there, never rode it offroad but it handles real nice, never had to tune the gear shifters since I got it.

Postby Redman » January 19th, 2017, 5:11 am

baigan wrote:
Redman wrote:Looking for a solid bike for jr...he is 7..any ideas?

Mikes bikes got a bunch of kids bikes, check them out

Bai gain, I'm sorry but I missed this post. ...thanks for the help...I ended up heading to Geronimos and getting a trek 820 with a 13 inch frame.

Slightly too big...mount/dismount is hard for now...but the upside is that he is learning that falling isn't the end of the world...

Thx again.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2017, 8:39 am

Brans wrote:

Bike Inn

I'm not 100% sure it's the Marlin 5 but it looks very similar. Trek Matte black.

Ok correction. It's not a Trek Marlin 5 but a Fuji Nevada One.7 :|

Hydraulic disc brakes and adjustable front struts for $3800.

Postby De Dragon » January 21st, 2017, 10:13 am

^^Not bad, I'm seeing Oval parts which is a good sign. What brand are the shifters, crank and gears etc.? I have a Nevada 3.0 and it works really well once tuned. Made 36.5 miles on it once. Seat hard like banga though. You gotta develop that numb arse to rode it :lol: :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2017, 8:26 pm

^ the shifter is Shimano from the pics I took. I assume the derailleur and gears are Shimano too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2017, 8:26 pm

^ the shifter is Shimano from the pics I took. I assume the derailleur and gears are Shimano too.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 21st, 2017, 8:27 pm

This one is a size 19. I'll need a 17 which they also have.
Is this a good buy?

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 22nd, 2017, 4:47 am

Any advise on road bikes, any one have a used one to sell?

Postby pugboy » January 22nd, 2017, 5:01 am

you should also check the Cannondale dealer, his prices are usually ok

105 Ajim Ali Street Munroe Road
Cunupia
678-7080 Larry

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This one is a size 19. I'll need a 17 which they also have.
Is this a good buy?

Postby De Dragon » January 22nd, 2017, 9:07 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:This one is a size 19. I'll need a 17 which they also have.
Is this a good buy?

I'm also seeing FSA components so it looks to be a good beginner bike. I don't use mine for trails (yet), still trying to build that stamina and get a road bike, so I can't speak for trail riding, but for road riding Fuji's are good.