Mountain Biking

stikid09

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby stikid09 » September 20th, 2018, 10:08 am

Shattering the Bike Land Speed Record at 183.9MPH Looks Weirdly Chill

On Sunday, the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah were witness to yet another land speed record being shattered. Extreme cyclist Denise Mueller-Korenek hopped on her two-wheeled ride, and with the assistance of a streamlined pace vehicle, hit an average speed of 183.932 miles per hour over a distance of three-and-a-half miles.

The bike that Mueller-Korenek rode to shatter the previous land speed record of 167MPH wasn’t your typical off-the-rack Schwinn. It featured 17-inch motorcycle rims and high-speed tires to help lower its center of gravity; a custom, hand-made elongated frame to improve stability; short-travel shocks to help dissipate high-speed vibrations; and a steering stabilizer to minimize wobble, which could potentially be deadly at these speeds.

[instagram]https://www.instagram.com/p/BntvP6KB5gd[/instagram]

There’s little doubt that Mueller-Korenek had trained hard to ensure her body was up to the challenge, but the laws of physics, aerodynamics, and biology prevent a human from reaching speeds like this without a little assistance. So for the first mile-and-a-half of her record-setting run, she was towed behind a dragster that had been outfitted with a windshield on the back to eliminate any wind resistance once the tether connecting the bike and vehicle was released.

The smooth, featureless surface of the Bonneville Salt Flats, and the gearing setup on her bike giving the impression of a slow, leisurely pedal, makes it hard to get a feeling for just how fast Mueller-Korenek was actually riding. Hopefully, they’ll post additional videos on her YouTube channel showing the run from other perspectives. But the next time you’re cruising down the highway at 60 miles per hour, remember that’s a third of the speed she was cruising at—and without the peace of mind of a seatbelt or being surrounded in airbags were something to go wrong.

Source: https://gizmodo.com/shattering-the-bike ... 1829168830

Postby De Dragon » September 22nd, 2018, 2:21 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:they have several stops along the way plus police escort.
Have to cross this off my riding bucket list!

No doubt, but right now I have no desire to speed up said bucket by trying this now! :lol:

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 30th, 2018, 9:03 pm

did it!
It was a great experience.
The police escort, refuelling stops and experienced organizers made it a great ride.
Will do again.

Postby ismithx » September 30th, 2018, 10:45 pm

next time yes

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 1st, 2018, 4:26 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:did it!
The police escort, refuelling stops and experienced organizers made it a great ride.
Will do again.

You did this on a mountain bike?

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 1st, 2018, 8:32 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
Will do again.

Yup MTB. Specialized pitch comp. Has great gearing for roads as well as Hill climbs. Can actually get some decent top end on it. Saw a number of road bikes taking falls and ruptured tubes on this ride. They were notably faster but the mtbs with good gearing kept pace and handled the bad roads better.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 1st, 2018, 9:15 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
Will do again.

For significant stretches the roads on that route are essentially like mountain biking paths anyhows. Mountain bike or nothing!!

Postby Redman » October 1st, 2018, 10:44 am

Will do again.

Well done breds, well done.

Postby shogun » October 1st, 2018, 6:28 pm

Damn. Congrats man.

Name change in order? VexXx Beastt?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 1st, 2018, 8:49 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:
Will do again.

Yup MTB. Specialized pitch comp. Has great gearing for roads as well as Hill climbs. Can actually get some decent top end on it. Saw a number of road bikes taking falls and ruptured tubes on this ride. They were notably faster but the mtbs with good gearing kept pace and handled the bad roads better.

Impressive still. Image
I did this on Sunday and felt like I was dying. Need to ride more

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 1st, 2018, 9:00 pm

excellent.
a few years ago i could barely make 15 mins on a spin bike ;)
keep at it!

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 2nd, 2018, 8:19 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:excellent.
a few years ago i could barely make 15 mins on a spin bike ;)
keep at it!

I used to ride a lot a couple years ago but have other interests these days. Last decent ride I did was to El Tucuche via caura. That was a lot of fun. I ride with the MTB Kings. Really good group of people. We are going to Tobago next year March. Tobago has some sweet trails

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 2nd, 2018, 8:25 am

Tobago ride I did a couple years ago

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 2nd, 2018, 9:16 am

metalgear2095 wrote:Image

Hoss, you is a beast.
is El Tucuche you say there inno

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 2nd, 2018, 11:19 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:Image

Hoss, you is a beast.
is El Tucuche you say there inno

Yeah going in was pain. I real walk man. But the downhill coming back out was sweet

Postby De Dragon » October 2nd, 2018, 10:14 pm

Did a 20 mile last weekend after a long time off of the saddle. Almost turned back several times, but oddly, as the ride progressed, I felt better. Did it in 1 hour and 32 minutes.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 3rd, 2018, 10:46 pm

Pride_Of_The_South_Ride_2018.png

Bigger one coming up next week.
Considering it.
Pride of the South 100k

tuner lime or wa

Postby De Dragon » October 3rd, 2018, 11:56 pm

^^^ Nice! But maybe next year.

Postby ismithx » October 4th, 2018, 7:23 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:Pride_Of_The_South_Ride_2018.png
Considering it.
Pride of the South 100k

tuner lime or wa

Where to find out about these things tho?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 4th, 2018, 11:37 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Pride_Of_The_South_Ride_2018.png

Considering it.
Pride of the South 100k

tuner lime or wa

My seat too hard and bamsee too small for that long ride biz

Postby De Dragon » October 8th, 2018, 4:57 pm

Made a 23.5 mile on Saturday morning. Next year with a road bike for those 100km plus treks

Postby shogun » October 8th, 2018, 10:22 pm

Men making me feel lazy as eff, in here. Well done fellas.

metalgear2095 wrote:My seat too hard and bamsee too small for that long ride biz

Postby Morpheus » October 8th, 2018, 10:54 pm

All ah allyuh mad yes lol. VERY impressive! That's some long arse drives, far less for rides! I have to try it some time...

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2018, 8:58 am

OH GAWD.
I was thinking about this, but common sense getting the better of me.
I think this may be a bit beyond my capability.
https://www.strava.com/clubs/120143/group_events/396547
Arima to Las Cuevas thru Blanchisseuse
Look at that MF climb.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 9th, 2018, 8:59 am

If anyone wants to know about some group rides, check Central Spokes on Facebook.
they plan some good rides. seems like a decent club. I'm not a member but a few buddies of mine are.
https://www.facebook.com/centralspokes/

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 11th, 2018, 11:46 am

This is bike

Postby ismithx » October 11th, 2018, 12:11 pm

yes sah

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2018, 12:40 pm

I realized the full suspension bikes aren't that good for cross-country - the gearing isn't tall enough for speed. You'll be flailing when riding on road.

I wasn't aware of these things when I was shopping, I lucked out and my MTB bike was 3x8 and has some good top end ratio in addition to a 34T for hillclimbs. It's good for these road/trail rides. Won't be able to keep up with the bajillion dollar road bikes, but I do ok

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 11th, 2018, 12:56 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I realized the full suspension bikes aren't that good for cross-country - the gearing isn't tall enough for speed. You'll be flailing when riding on road.

I wasn't aware of these things when I was shopping, I lucked out and my MTB bike was 3x8 and has some good top end ratio in addition to a 34T for hillclimbs. It's good for these road/trail rides. Won't be able to keep up with the bajillion dollar road bikes, but I do ok

Not full suspension but rather 1x. Mine is 2x10 with 38/24 at the front and it's more than sufficient. 34t would be too much for a hill climb for me. Actually a 1x with 32 at the front will be good for most situations. I rarely use my 38 ring

Postby adnj » October 11th, 2018, 1:08 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:I realized the full suspension bikes aren't that good for cross-country - the gearing isn't tall enough for speed. You'll be flailing when riding on road.

In my experience, the hardtails are more efficient for pounding up a hill simply because the rear geometry is much more rigid.

If you are riding technical trails with road riding mixed in, you can change your gear ring to suit. You don't need to give up tall gears if you really want them.