Mountain Biking

Re: Mountain Biking

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2019, 8:28 am

16 cycles wrote:If front tire has quick release...you can part disassemble bike and fit it....seen ppl remove both wheels and fit bike in trunk of sedan...

nah my current jokey Price Smart schwinn bike won't fit in the MINI even with the front wheel removed, so a full size mtb def won't fit, and because of the plastic tailgate spoiler, I can't hang a tailgate rack either
The MGF is a 2 door convertible with the engine behind the seats, so not in there either :lol: I'm trying to find a bike rack to fit the trunk but the vertical part of the trunk is so short that most racks simply can't fit, but I found one design online that just might work

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2019, 8:32 am

Open to suggestions for a bike rack for this

Postby Dizzy28 » February 12th, 2019, 9:01 am

Will that MG try to sell me a forex pyramid scheme?

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2019, 9:08 am

hahahahahahahaha yeah I really need to peel thatshit off but it old and brittle and I doh have the patience

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 12th, 2019, 9:22 am

Saris Bones might work on that.

https://www.boot-bag.com/Convertible%20 ... arrier.htm

There was a used one on FB for small $ in one of the groups I'm in, but it's sold now. If you posted last week....

Check ebay for a used one

Postby MG Man » February 12th, 2019, 9:36 am

yeah that's the one I was looking at...Ideally I'd like to try one out first and see how well it fits, especially as some of the weight rests on the bumper...the bumper lip on mine is virtually nonexistent
Cool link tho, first time I've seen a specific reference to the MGF

Postby adnj » February 12th, 2019, 10:23 am

MG Man wrote:Image

Open to suggestions for a bike rack for this
You just get a bike that fits.

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 12th, 2019, 10:52 am

MG Man wrote:yeah that's the one I was looking at...Ideally I'd like to try one out first and see how well it fits, especially as some of the weight rests on the bumper...the bumper lip on mine is virtually nonexistent
Cool link tho, first time I've seen a specific reference to the MGF

Not sure if Motorcycle Etc has it but call and see and you can always do a test fit.
Motorcycle Etc
105 Ajim Ali St., Munroe Rd. Cunupia, Trinidad & Tobago W.I.
info@motorcycleetc.com
868-678-7080

Postby Redman » February 12th, 2019, 11:20 am

https://www.amazon.com/Allen-Sports-Del ... 311&sr=8-3

-everything is anchored to the trunk.

Ive used it on a Skoda, and a Forrester-a friend used it on a Yaris-I carried 2 full sized MTB and he carried 1 full and his sons MTB

bgh

Postby bgh » February 12th, 2019, 12:33 pm

An option that may work.

Install a curt hitch which are made to bolt on to specific vehicles. Purchase a hitch bick rack which can be bolt on and off in 30 seconds.

Visit curtmft.com, enter your vechicle model to find the correct model. Purchase from Amazon as its cheaper. However, its will cost some dollars to clear.

Purchase the bike rack locally as a special order. There are saris dealers here. The the price online plus shipping is sometime more that the price they will give.

YouTube the install for your vehicle and check out the look.

Postby ismithx » February 12th, 2019, 1:13 pm

PariaMan wrote:Years ago my pal and I bought bikes together. I bought a trex and my buy bought a cheap bike

Hi intention was as things go bad he will buy good parts

One day while in chaguaramas while going over a hump the fork gave away

Ended up in hospital with 8 front teeth missing and a grated face

ouch but yeah this is why I say don't go that way. Also get some cheap body armor (or padded clothing if you can't get that), and learn to fall properly.

MG Man wrote:cool
thanks guys
I was just curious....will probably buy a used Felt or similar
My biggest problem right now is none of my vehicles can hold a bike rack :|
Well the MINI is built for a roof f=rack but that crap will cost more than the bike :|
Hoping to find something that would hang off the back of the MGF
Until then, going round and round my block

if you have a bike with quick release wheels it can get pretty compact. Or ride with people who have bigger vehicles.

bgh

Postby bgh » February 12th, 2019, 1:26 pm

bgh wrote:An option that may work.

Install a curt hitch which are made to bolt on to specific vehicles. Purchase a hitch bick rack which can be bolt on and off in 30 seconds.

Visit curtmft.com, enter your vechicle model to find the correct model. Purchase from Amazon as its cheaper. However, its will cost some dollars to clear.

Purchase the bike rack locally as a special order. There are saris dealers here. The the price online plus shipping is sometime more that the price they will give.

YouTube the install for your vehicle and check out the look.
This is my setup. Rack takes 30s to bolt on and off.

Hitch was 100us on Amazon and 700tt to clear.
Took 15 minutes to bolt on to vehicle by myself.
2 bike Rack was 2400tt from Gene Samuel special order.
Been doing it like this 3 years now.
20190212_123745.jpeg

eKeith

Postby eKeith » February 12th, 2019, 6:20 pm

http://www.etrailer.com

I second the recommendation for a hitch and hitch-mount bike rack. Enter your vehicle info for compatibility options...

Postby adnj » February 12th, 2019, 6:38 pm

I used a hitch mount cargo carrier with a bike rack on an S2000.

eKeith

Postby eKeith » February 12th, 2019, 8:41 pm

You can also get a proper folding bike

https://www.montaguebikes.com

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2019, 8:50 am

adnj wrote:I used a hitch mount cargo carrier with a bike rack on an S2000.

pics of S2k? :shock:

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 13th, 2019, 10:59 am

eKeith wrote:You can also get a proper folding bike

Folding bikes are sheit

Postby ismithx » February 13th, 2019, 11:08 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Folding bikes are sheit

I also concur

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2019, 11:24 am

metalgear2095 wrote:

Folding bikes are sheit

actually if you have a well manicured twirly-mustache / beard combo, and rock flannel shirt and boots while being unable to change a car tyre as you sip your overpriced latte, it's the perfect bike

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 13th, 2019, 11:26 am

Wtf

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2019, 11:33 am

you feel I lie?

metalgear2095 wrote:Wtf
hipster-beard-and-bike.jpg

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2019, 1:35 pm

adnj wrote:I used a hitch mount cargo carrier with a bike rack on an S2000.

pics of S2k? :shock:
My car is long gone. I used a light weight steel carrier for it. The carrier came in handy for larger items, too. I could tie down two full sets of golf clubs when my clubs would barely fit in the trunk with the woods pulled out.

Postby MG Man » February 13th, 2019, 1:46 pm

definitely worth considering for the MINI

Postby adnj » February 13th, 2019, 1:56 pm

MG Man wrote:definitely worth considering for the MINI
You get one carrier and move it to any vehicle with the same receiver hitch size. If you don't overload it, it works well in my experience.

I've carried boxes, a lawn mower and a dirt bike at different times on the back of an SUV with a 500 lb. receiver hitch.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 13th, 2019, 5:35 pm

MG Man wrote:you feel I lie?

metalgear2095 wrote:Wtf
That's exactly the image I had in my head

Postby pugboy » February 13th, 2019, 6:02 pm

you guys ride with helmet and other cycling approved clothing etc ?

eKeith

Postby eKeith » February 13th, 2019, 7:54 pm

ismithx wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Folding bikes are sheit

I also concur
Reviews? Why so? Any of you have experience with them? Please elaborate...

bgh

Postby bgh » February 13th, 2019, 8:07 pm

pugboy wrote:you guys ride with helmet and other cycling approved clothing etc ?
Helmet is a must. Everything else is optional and your comfort.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » February 13th, 2019, 8:18 pm

eKeith wrote:
ismithx wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Folding bikes are sheit

I also concur
Strong frame but chances are it will be heavier. sheit components. Like everything. Narrow handlebars, sheit brakes, drive train, fork etc. Guess it's decent for riding around the block.

bgh

Postby bgh » February 13th, 2019, 8:24 pm

eKeith wrote:
ismithx wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Folding bikes are sheit

I also concur
That bike friggin ugly yo...

Bikes need to make you look good...