The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Re: The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby RedVEVO » November 3rd, 2018, 10:24 pm

Leave MG Man alone nah ..

He likes compact small phones . Same here .

[ .. Do a survey ? Women like large screen phone . Real Men like small ]

iPhones give no problems.

Other than if they fall on hard surface - they damage but can fix easy .

RedVEVO approved .

Postby MG Man » November 5th, 2018, 7:02 pm

MG Man wrote:that's why I holding onto my SE...very pocketable, plus I love being able to sweep the entire screen with a thumb...I really don't want a bigger phone :(

I'm pretty sure i can find a post of yours from 2007 where you said the first iPhone had no physical keyboard and you need to feel the keys to that's why you holding on to whatever phone you currently had.

yes I did, and I held on to my basic nokia as long as I could
I didn't buy a blackberry because I find those tiny keys frustrating to use
I have another larger phone and I hate using it, vs my SE
*cue small hands jokes

Postby A172 » November 5th, 2018, 8:34 pm

have my 2 week old xs max silver 64gb fs from next week

$8k

pm

Postby RedVEVO » November 6th, 2018, 12:35 am

A172 wrote:have my 2 week old xs max silver 64gb fs from next week

$8k

pm

You should have gotten the 512 GB
So many video & photos to take and so little time .

eitech

Postby eitech » November 9th, 2018, 8:36 am

Now that i migrate to lte sim i can hotspot with iphone. Before it was not allowed

Postby tr1ad » November 9th, 2018, 8:51 am

eitech wrote:Now that i migrate to lte sim i can hotspot with iphone. Before it was not allowed

was able to do that (hotspot) on bmobile all the time before "LTE"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2018, 10:16 am

tr1ad wrote:
eitech wrote:Now that i migrate to lte sim i can hotspot with iphone. Before it was not allowed

was able to do that (hotspot) on bmobile all the time before "LTE"

Yup years now

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » November 9th, 2018, 1:04 pm

still hotspotting meh Digicel EDGE on my old SE when ah in certain locations an service bad :wink:

Postby K74T » December 11th, 2018, 4:54 pm

Anyone ever used a dual sim adapter? And if so how did it work?

Postby tr1ad » December 11th, 2018, 10:30 pm

K74T wrote:Anyone ever used a dual sim adapter? And if so how did it work?
Via bluetooth connection. . .. heavy battery drain

I recently switched the other day to an physical dual sim device

Toting two phone really was a task

Postby K74T » December 12th, 2018, 7:07 am

Was looking at this but skeptical a bit

https://www.magic-sim.com/magicsim-elite-iphone-se-dual-sim-adapter

Or might just end up buying a dual sim phone

Postby tr1ad » December 12th, 2018, 8:47 am

K74T wrote:Was looking at this but skeptical a bit

https://www.magic-sim.com/magicsim-elite-iphone-se-dual-sim-adapter

Or might just end up buying a dual sim phone

yea … easier to use a dual sim.... plus most out there have the parallel apps feature.... example with the current dual sim, I have WhatsApp for my personal number and another WhatsApp icon on the home screen for my work number

Postby Redman » December 12th, 2018, 9:42 am

Dual Sim phone would be my rec-
Single phone as triad said is less headache as it consolidates everything into one unit

Get a ruggedized phone

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » December 19th, 2018, 5:21 pm

Hi need an iPhone 5s unlocked from AT&T. Anyone here can help?

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 21st, 2018, 11:00 am

MacBook Pro 2017 F.S! viewtopic.php?f=11&t=736727

Postby M_2NR » December 27th, 2018, 10:30 pm

Just throwing it out there. Don’t waste your time buying used iPhone 6s’. The free battery replacement program may be ending soon and even after this replacement, your battery will still go bad.

Postby tr1ad » December 28th, 2018, 9:21 am

M_2NR wrote:Just throwing it out there. Don’t waste your time buying used iPhone 6s’. The free battery replacement program may be ending soon and even after this replacement, your battery will still go bad.

anything pre iphone 8 will be pressure

currently have an SE in constant bootloop - i would tend to believe it's the battery that degraded and causing this now

Postby RedVEVO » December 31st, 2018, 4:36 pm

Can someone technical or otherwise tell people here how to transfer

ALL information from one apple iPhone to another ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 31st, 2018, 4:39 pm

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Can back up using iTunes on a pc or use iCloud with Apple ID to restore on new phone after backing up old phone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 31st, 2018, 6:05 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:^^

Can back up using iTunes on a pc or use iCloud with Apple ID to restore on new phone after backing up old phone.

correct, easiest thing to do
when you log in with your AppleID on the new device, everything including whatsapp, txt, phone numbers, everything gets moved over

Postby M_2NR » January 2nd, 2019, 8:59 am

Once it is using the latest iOS 12, use the iCloud route. The latest iTunes for backing up and restoring is no longer a viable option.

Tr1ad, ifixit battery replacement for dat. Or you replaced it already?

Postby tr1ad » January 2nd, 2019, 10:51 am

M_2NR wrote:Once it is using the latest iOS 12, use the iCloud route. The latest iTunes for backing up and restoring is no longer a viable option.

Tr1ad, ifixit battery replacement for dat. Or you replaced it already?

haven't tried a battery replacement yet... unsure if to even bother

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 2nd, 2019, 10:57 am

Anybody did a battery replacement themself on a retina MacBook Pro? Have a 2012 one and wondering if to ifixit myself.

neexis

Postby neexis » January 2nd, 2019, 2:40 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Anybody did a battery replacement themself on a retina MacBook Pro? Have a 2012 one and wondering if to ifixit myself.

Did it on my 2014 MBP

Fairy straightforward in terms of opening up and disconnecting/reconnecting. The hardest part was getting past the adhesive holding the battery in place. Just be careful not to puncture it esp if you're using alcohol to weaken the adhesive.

Just checked the ifixit guide..... I didn't take everything out like they did.
Last edited by neexis on January 2nd, 2019, 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 2nd, 2019, 2:42 pm

neexis wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Anybody did a battery replacement themself on a retina MacBook Pro? Have a 2012 one and wondering if to ifixit myself.

Did it on my 2014 MBP

Fairy straightforward in terms of opening up and disconnecting/reconnecting. The hardest part was getting past the adhesive holding the battery in place. Just be careful not to puncture it esp if you're using alcohol to weaken the adhesive

Thanks. Thinking to use fishing wire to cut thru it rather than the chemicals. Also don’t want to take apart every single thing to do it. Where did you order your battery from? What symptoms did you have?

neexis

Postby neexis » January 2nd, 2019, 2:47 pm

neexis wrote:

Did it on my 2014 MBP

Fairy straightforward in terms of opening up and disconnecting/reconnecting. The hardest part was getting past the adhesive holding the battery in place. Just be careful not to puncture it esp if you're using alcohol to weaken the adhesive

Thanks. Thinking to use fishing wire to cut thru it rather than the chemicals. Also don’t want to take apart every single thing to do it. Where did you order your battery from? What symptoms did you have?

The battery was swollen and pushing up against the trackpad so it would no longer click.

I ordered mine off Amazon. I used isopropyl to help, but that battery is really stuck in there so I don't know how well that fishing wire will get under it.

Sidenote: I recently had to replace my speakers. It took some time but it was doable.... if you go that route, just keep all 600 screws in order

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 2nd, 2019, 2:53 pm

neexis wrote:

Did it on my 2014 MBP

The battery was swollen and pushing up against the trackpad so it would no longer click.

I ordered mine off Amazon. I used isopropyl to help, but that battery is really stuck in there so I don't know how well that fishing wire will get under it.

Sidenote: I recently had to replace my speakers. It took some time but it was doable.... if you go that route, just keep all 600 screws in order

Speakers were sounding staticky?

neexis

Postby neexis » January 2nd, 2019, 3:09 pm

Speakers were sounding staticky?

Speakers were sounding like they proper buss... couldn't hear any discernible audio

Postby RedVEVO » January 4th, 2019, 12:24 am

Tuner Bunny this is easy .

Order the battery from Amazon .

Pull it out and replace - instructions come with the battery .

Also order a computer tool set & mobile phone tool set - very useful .

l33t2

Postby l33t2 » January 7th, 2019, 4:56 pm

Ok seriously where can I buy an iPhone XR in Trinidad? Everywhere seems to be out of stock.

Or even online?