The | Apple Inc.  | Thread

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 11th, 2008, 11:53 pm

Thanks in part to heavy demand and insufficient capacity, the phone's launch today did not go smoothly. The iPhone went on sale in dozens of countries worldwide today, and in some cases, there were distribution problems. AT&T's and Apple's servers both suffered from heavy traffic loads, preventing many customers from being able to begin using their phones (greatly irritating some users, and provoking mirth among others). We tried for several hours to activate our iPhone, only succeeding about 2 p.m. Pacific -- five hours after we'd purchased the phone.

The problems seem to have cleared up now, however, and reports suggest that activation is proceeding much more quickly. Part of the activation process must be completed in an Apple or AT&T store, part of it can be done via iTunes. It lacks the innovative simplicity of the original iPhone's hassle-free sign-up process, but on the whole, it's a less onerous sign up than you'll face in most cellphone stores. - WIRED.com

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 12th, 2008, 1:29 am

pioneer wrote::pwned:

i updated itunes...but i always ask...what's the big update about :|

no visual difference

actually it froze jus now :|

then you really dont 'use' itunes...

click itunes store and check out the appstore

if you had an ipod touch, apple tv or an iphone, (or all ;)) you would immediately know what the update and commotion was all about.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 12th, 2008, 8:35 am

oddly i have started paying for music and tv shows...
the stuff i really like i buy, and download the rest...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 12th, 2008, 8:56 am

isn't that kind of good? people can just walk out with it, and get it
unlocked without a 2 year contract?
am i correct?
or is there something else going on?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 12th, 2008, 10:19 am

video showing FW 2.0 pwned!

<embed src="http://www.vimeo.com/moogaloop.swf?clip_id=1326377&server=www.vimeo.com&show_title=1&show_byline=1&show_portrait=0&color=&fullscreen=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always" width="400" height="302"></embed>

Postby X_Factor » July 12th, 2008, 10:43 am

i used the apple iphone 3G or something so today so far, not a big fan of phones but its sweet!!

Yeo

Postby Yeo » July 12th, 2008, 4:30 pm

Updated my iPhone to 2.o. Took 20 mins :mrgreen:

Already grabbed 2 free apps, Loopt and Weatherbug.

All 3ne2nrs with iPhones should get Loopt. (This way If allyuh invite mih, I can see where all allyuh is :lol: )

Postby tr1ad » July 12th, 2008, 5:17 pm

wah a walkthru before i fack up meh phone

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 12th, 2008, 6:14 pm

Yeo wrote:Updated my iPhone to 2.o. Took 20 mins :mrgreen:

Already grabbed 2 free apps, Loopt and Weatherbug.

All 3ne2nrs with iPhones should get Loopt. (This way If allyuh invite mih, I can see where all allyuh is :lol: )

Should download Remote too

scientist

Postby scientist » July 12th, 2008, 11:11 pm

Why aren't there more options in the poll?

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » July 12th, 2008, 11:17 pm

aye fellas i jus wa find out sum...if i update my current 1.1.4 iphone to the new 2.0 things to get the apps etc will my phone lock back after updating?

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 13th, 2008, 12:31 am

scientist wrote:Why aren't there more options in the poll?

like...?

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 13th, 2008, 7:15 am

Dion76 wrote:aye fellas i jus wa find out sum...if i update my current 1.1.4 iphone to the new 2.0 things to get the apps etc will my phone lock back after updating?

yes it will lock back...
the software tuh unlock should be out this week...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 13th, 2008, 9:09 am

SRASC wrote:
scientist wrote:Why aren't there more options in the poll?

like...?

you should add these two for ppl who don't know better:
Yes | but cant wait to get rid of it
No | and I dont want one either

SRASC

Re: Apple iPhone/iTunes news

Postby SRASC » July 13th, 2008, 10:10 am

Early iPhone 3G adopters bothered by yellow-tinted screens:
http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08 ... reens.html
Last edited by SRASC on July 21st, 2008, 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » July 13th, 2008, 10:18 am

so did anyone brick their phone during the server meltdown while trying to upgrade to 2.0? Still trying to see if i could get my hands on a 3G today hopefully those lines have died down by now not to mention the angry mob :? Apple screwed up this launch big time :lol:

xtech

Postby xtech » July 13th, 2008, 11:02 am

All those features................... I think that is to much for me I will just update to 2.0 an call dat Steve

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 13th, 2008, 11:14 am

RASC wrote:Still trying to see if i could get my hands on a 3G today hopefully those lines have died down by now not to mention the angry mob :? Apple screwed up this launch big time :lol:

not apple... AT&T...

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 13th, 2008, 12:39 pm

ill check today and then tomorrow b4 work i could order it online but they dont offer teh plan i want there... stupid rogers

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 13th, 2008, 6:20 pm

Apple says yellow-tinted iPhone 3G screen deliberate:
http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08 ... erate.html
Last edited by SRASC on July 21st, 2008, 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 13th, 2008, 11:07 pm

Last edited by SRASC on July 21st, 2008, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Manchungster

Postby Manchungster » July 13th, 2008, 11:43 pm

Freelander wrote:ill check today and then tomorrow b4 work i could order it online but they dont offer teh plan i want there... stupid rogers

I ordered one thru Fido retentions. They are offering if for 349$ (16 Gig white) if you sign a 3 year contract. Kept my present contract of $15 per month and extended it for 3 years. No need to sign for a data plan or have a minimum of $30 voice plan. I have another line, with a $50 unlimited data plan, which the Fido said I could use the phone on no problem.

Just waiting for it to ship, though, I might consider selling it to capitalize on the hype.

Just call Robber or Fido Retentions line, if you interested in getting one.

xtech

Postby xtech » July 14th, 2008, 3:36 am

bsande1 says:

July 13th, 2008 at 10:38 pm
I had the same problem with several apps, but one in particular, ICE, crashed continuously. I wrote the author, and this is his reply:

There appears to be an issue with either the iPhone OS or iTunes or some combination of both that for some reason causes the problem that you mentioned. This issue is not limited to ICE, but appears to affect pretty much any third party application, but it’s totally random. Many developers as well as Apple personnel have been working this weekend to try to figure out what is going on.

Now that we have the background information out of the way, let’s move on to resolving the problem!

1. Make sure your iPhone is synced with your copy of iTunes.
2. Remove an application from the iPhone. It doesn’t appear to matter which application you remove, but since ICE is fairly small and you’re experiencing issues using it, go ahead and remove it.
3. Once the application is removed, completely power down your iPhone.
4. Wait a moment.
5. Power your iPhone back up.
6. Reconnect to iTunes.
7. Add the application (ICE in this case) back to the iPhone.

I did this, and it seems much more stable.

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2008, 6:48 am

kes_vtec wrote:
RASC wrote:Still trying to see if i could get my hands on a 3G today hopefully those lines have died down by now not to mention the angry mob :? Apple screwed up this launch big time :lol:

not apple... AT&T...

Last time I checked, who's stock prices were down 4 dollars Friday evening?
Who controlled inventory roll out to all stores?
Who controlled the server's which were also down?

RIGHT :lol:

Postby RASC » July 14th, 2008, 6:51 am

I'm sure AT&T caused this also right:
:?: Image

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 14th, 2008, 8:05 am

RASC wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:

not apple... AT&T...

Last time I checked, who's stock prices were down 4 dollars Friday evening?
Who controlled inventory roll out to all stores?
Who controlled the server's which were also down?

RIGHT :lol:

(1) lines where due to in store activation (which is what you commented on)
(2) server down again (in store activation) if use could have taking the phone home this would not happen

i will give you inventory, as you where not talking about that

SRASC

Postby SRASC » July 14th, 2008, 11:30 am

Hidden iPhone 3G firmware "fixes" yellow screens:
http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/08 ... reens.html
Last edited by SRASC on July 21st, 2008, 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » July 14th, 2008, 11:49 am

dude would u stop quoting urself

we already kno u postin links within this thread

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » July 14th, 2008, 11:51 am

HAHA beyotches, 2.0 has been jailbroken!!!!!!! Not to be confused with UNLOCK so that means no 3G for Trinidad... Yet

http://www.modmyifone.com/cmps_index.php

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » July 14th, 2008, 11:59 am

Apple Sells 1 Million iPhones, 10 Million Apps Downloaded in First Weekend
Despite long lines and activation troubles, Apple announced today that they sold its one millionth iPhone 3G on Sunday, only three days after its initial launch on Friday, July 11th. In the press release, Steve Job points out that it took 74 days to sell the same number of the original iPhone. The iPhone 3G is now available in in 21 countries. When the iPhone was first announced in 2007, Apple had announced a goal of selling 10 million iPhones in 2008.

In addition, Apple announced that the newly launched App Store has had over 10 million iPhone and iPod touch applications downloaded over roughly the same period of time.

http://www.macrumors.com/