The guitar string (thread)

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby timelapse » April 19th, 2017, 10:24 am

If you want to play anything close to Adrian Smith you will eventually need 2 things, a fast action guitar and an amp with screaming overdrive.
My recommendation, as you have that limited budget, buy a good guitar first.You can start the basics on it unplugged,or use a house amp or something.after that, but a decent amp.For that price, you will be able to get a Dean Vendetta , a Jackson Dinky or a decent Ibanez. There is also the option of used equipment.Check the old Facebook.

JMC

Postby JMC » April 19th, 2017, 11:59 am

Even if I stick with it, I know I'm lightyears away from reaching Adrian's level.
For now, with a year or so practice, just want to be able to play along songs with some resemblance of it actually sounds...and then progress onwards.

Postby meccalli » April 19th, 2017, 2:45 pm

In a year time, you'll be able to play aces high and the trooper, those were the first full songs I learnt. Also, if you get anything other than a strat or a strat copy without single coils on the neck, the tone is hard to replicate with humbuckers since most of his solos are played in that position.

Postby timelapse » April 20th, 2017, 10:04 am

Phantom of the opera not that difficult either .I learned that in my first few months of playing

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » April 24th, 2017, 12:48 am

JMC wrote:
timelapse wrote:What type of music do you want to play with it?
What type of music do you listen to?
Which guitarist's style/tone do you like?

Do you own a cowboy hat?

I listen to rock and some level of metal.
Favourite guitarist is Adrian Smith

Hoss, what did you end up buying?
Looking to get in on this too.
Was always Dave Murray fan years now.
Jusy never took the incentive to start.

Guys, I read everything but can some quote some brand and prices down here.

d.d.s.

Postby d.d.s. » April 24th, 2017, 12:49 am

d.d.s. wrote:
JMC wrote:
timelapse wrote:What type of music do you want to play with it?
What type of music do you listen to?
Which guitarist's style/tone do you like?

Do you own a cowboy hat?

I listen to rock and some level of metal.
Favourite guitarist is Adrian Smith

Hoss, what did you end up buying?
Looking to get in on this too.
Was always Dave Murray fan years now.
Jusy never took the incentive to start.

Guys, I read everything but can anyone quote some brand and prices down here.

QuietGiant

Postby QuietGiant » May 24th, 2017, 11:29 pm

Hey guys, any of u have used guitars for sale? No strat-looking ones tho, I'm looking for anything else.

4CupMan

Postby 4CupMan » July 3rd, 2017, 11:31 am

Looking for someone to set up an acoustic guitar.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 25th, 2017, 7:49 pm

Bumping this thread. What cables do you all use? Looking for something that has clear tone and can take some roughing up. Normal audiopipe cables suck after awhile

Postby maj. tom » October 26th, 2017, 5:41 am

yeah the amount of cables that a guitarist uses, I found it best to just make your own. Because all cables eventually fail with oxidation and rough handling anyway. Learn to solder properly with YouTube videos, buy the mic cables and jacks at an electronics store, do it yourself. Been saving a lot of money since.

If not, well Hosa cables with Neutrik plugs/jacks on Amazon were my choice.

Postby Les Bain » October 26th, 2017, 7:28 am

Is there anywhere reliable locally to get 7 string packs?
I have an unorthodox stringing method so my 6 and 7 get restringed at the same time. Amazon is the safest bet but with the online shopping tax and cries of things looking to get harder soon, I might just have to forget convenience and buy local.

Last time I went looking for strings all I got was some extra light chinese made ones with a demon on the label playing some BC Rich contraption. Thing sitting on my amp over a month now.

Postby MG Man » October 26th, 2017, 9:53 am

Had a lil party session home by me and fulfilled a lifelong dream to jam with my local heroes

IMG_3668.jpg

IMG_3679.jpg

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 26th, 2017, 6:23 pm

If we sharing gear pics then....

20171026_182044.jpg
20171026_182033.jpg
20171026_182026.jpg
20171026_182001.jpg

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » October 27th, 2017, 3:39 pm

Les Bain wrote:Is there anywhere reliable locally to get 7 string packs?
I have an unorthodox stringing method so my 6 and 7 get restringed at the same time. Amazon is the safest bet but with the online shopping tax and cries of things looking to get harder soon, I might just have to forget convenience and buy local./quote]

SASU electronics , the had a 20% sale not to long ago , picked up 2 packs . Think they usually sell around $80 or so which really aint bad , ernie ball strings .

Animal Pak wrote:Bumping this thread. What cables do you all use? Looking for something that has clear tone and can take some roughing up. Normal audiopipe cables suck after awhile

Radio shack had a closing down sale a few years ago , managed to get this
https://www.amazon.com/Monster-Jazz-21- ... jazz+cable for a very reasonable price , its so thick and well constructed , being using it almost daily for years(like literally 5 years) , both home and live and its still going strong , ive had to replace other cables but not that.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » October 27th, 2017, 5:59 pm

Do they still have anything like guitar wars? Like what they used to have in anchorage pop rock?

ichiniisama99

Postby ichiniisama99 » October 29th, 2017, 4:56 pm

I have a squier steel string acoustic to sell if anyone’s interested. I also have strinberg (black) which I use more because the action is a bit lower, just lazy to adjust the squier :/

scenic108

Postby scenic108 » October 29th, 2017, 7:26 pm

I have a steel string cutaway acoustic electric guitar with padded gig bag $800
And a dean vendetta electric for $1200 both in excellent condition
A violin as well

Postby shogun » March 14th, 2018, 9:54 pm

Why is Gibson Facing Bankruptcy??

Postby shogun » March 14th, 2018, 10:23 pm

MG Man wrote:Had a lil party session home by me and fulfilled a lifelong dream to jam with my local heroes

IMG_3668.jpg

IMG_3679.jpg

Dude....

8-) 8-) 8-)

Postby MG Man » March 15th, 2018, 7:06 pm

life is all downhill now :)

iarmd1

Postby iarmd1 » May 4th, 2018, 4:31 pm

Where can I get a ukulele to purchase and at what price ? It for a gift for someone

Anybody into Electric Guitars ?

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 10:22 pm

Looking for a new electric guitar.
Point me in the right direction.
:mrgreen:
Something sexy. :mrgreen:

And distortion / overdrive pedals ..
Last edited by RedVEVO on July 30th, 2018, 11:16 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Anybody Likes Electric Guitars ?

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 10:25 pm

The RedVEVO Guitar Collection :D :D ..

Postby shogun » July 30th, 2018, 10:47 pm

Depends on your skill level and the genre of music you'll be playing. Not sure "sexy" covers everything.

There's a guitar thread somewhere around. Loads of good info there.

Daran

Postby Daran » July 30th, 2018, 10:53 pm

What style? Can't really go wrong with a good Ibanez/ESP/Fender/Gibson.

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 10:59 pm

These are the "classic" known ones .. Fender, Gibson etc.

Looking for more options ..

Specific models ..

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 11:04 pm

Gibson Les Paul ..

RedVEVO wrote:The RedVEVO Guitar Collection ..

Re: Anybody into Electric Guitars ?

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 11:17 pm

Also looking for NEW distortion / overdrive pedals ..

They can be available ANYWHERE in the World ..

Sam Ash , Guitar Center etc.

Postby Les Bain » July 30th, 2018, 11:37 pm

Better cut your teeth on a Strat clone instead of pumping money into a Strandberg/Skervesen/Charvel then realizing your intent, aptitude and skill level for guitar is on par with Lil Wayne.

Happened to a drummer buddy. Tired of taking the piss because folk and alt rock me couldn't learn metal core bass and guitar as fast as he would have liked, he bought a guitar and quietly admitted some months later that guitar was harder than he thought.

As an aside, all i want eventually is a Gretsch White Falcon.

Postby shogun » July 30th, 2018, 11:44 pm

Les Bain wrote:Better cut your teeth on a Strat clone instead of pumping money into a Strandberg/Skervesen/Charvel then realizing your intent, aptitude and skill level for guitar is on par with Lil Wayne.