The guitar string (thread)

Re: Anybody into Electric Guitars ?

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 11:51 pm

Les Bain wrote:Better cut your teeth on a Strat clone instead of pumping money into a Strandberg/Skervesen/Charvel then realizing your intent, aptitude and skill level for guitar is on par with Lil Wayne.

Happened to a drummer buddy. Tired of taking the piss because folk and alt rock me couldn't learn metal core bass and guitar as fast as he would have liked, he bought a guitar and quietly admitted some months later that guitar was harder than he thought.

As an aside, all i want eventually is a Gretsch White Falcon.

Have a Strat .. American made :wink:

Get the action low .. easier to play

Postby RedVEVO » July 30th, 2018, 11:59 pm

Looking for white powder snuff , roach smoking electric guitar junkies ..

Need to get recommendations on distortion and overdrive pedals ..

Postby meccalli » July 31st, 2018, 5:55 am

I still play my first squier stratocaster, never even bothered to buy an amp. Got amplitube and revalver, download asio4all and go through your audio setup, my pc is connected to my receiver, so that works out great for me.
gr8 b8 m8.

Postby maj. tom » July 31st, 2018, 7:00 am

Boss Blues Driver/Distortion DS-1 with a Compressor on the chain.
And get an amp with reverb and other minor effect like a Line 6 Spider.

that same guy Miguel Montalban is awesome with his street busking on his PRS. I saw his Sweet Child performance on the street and wanted to learn it. https://instaud.io/2uS3

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Yo-kZS56pI

Postby RedVEVO » July 31st, 2018, 7:15 am

maj. tom wrote:Boss Blues Driver/Distortion DS-1 with a Compressor on the chain.
And get an amp with reverb and other minor effect like a Line 6 Spider.

that same guy Miguel Montalban is awesome with his street busking on his PRS. I saw his Sweet Child performance on the street and wanted to learn it. https://instaud.io/2uS3

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Yo-kZS56pI

If you know PRS guitars , well :)

Postby RedVEVO » July 31st, 2018, 7:17 am

In this thread we discussing electric guitars, distortion pedals , overdrive pedals and accessories ..

Or and Loopers ..

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 31st, 2018, 8:12 am

Gibson going bankrupt

so look out for stock selling off cheaper than usual

Postby RedVEVO » July 31st, 2018, 9:00 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:Gibson going bankrupt

so look out for stock selling off cheaper than usual

Plenty competition .. hence NEW electrical guitars search ..

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 31st, 2018, 10:08 am

Avoid Gibson at thiz point. Theyre highly overpriced and the quality iz spotty.

You can get a good pre/post lawsuit Gibson copy from Japan or Indonesia.

PRS SE (i.e made in Korea) arent bad. Squires made in Indonesia are a good buy.

But for a beginner get a Mexican strat. Cant go wrong.

Postby RedVEVO » July 31st, 2018, 11:55 am

Miktay wrote:Avoid Gibson at thiz point. Theyre highly overpriced and the quality iz spotty.

Squires are a piece of junk ..

PRS .. Ok ? There are great .

Where are the guitar junkies ?

KM_2NR

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby KM_2NR » July 31st, 2018, 3:55 pm

I bought a used squire bullet strat for cheap , its pretty good for the price , thru a decent amp those things sound decent , giving it to my niece , its a pretty ideal beginner guitar . good for leaning to play and building finger strength , after playing the squire my other guitars play like butter .

Postby meccalli » July 31st, 2018, 5:13 pm

I set my bullet up pretty low and I kept it there when i attempted to learn some yngwie, it's still my favourite guitar to this day, I sanded the neck and it's perfect for me. I bought a pgm and it's alot thicker/wider and uncomfortable for me. I had the chance to get to know the gear of alot of our local guys in a project we did a couple years back, in particular the beckles bros who both are heavily into carvin gear, I also got to chat with dax. I can definitively say it's not the hardware that makes the difference, they'd grab anything in the shop and a couple times ran through a simulator app on ipad to record tracks and sound just as good in the mix. Processing and pickups makes a world of difference, if you can find something that plays effortlessly according to your playstyle and hand size, get a good amp or processing software and a nice set of pickups (again subjective) you'll be set as an amateur in for the long haul.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 1st, 2018, 11:12 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Miktay wrote:Avoid Gibson at thiz point. Theyre highly overpriced and the quality iz spotty.

Depends on the Squier....depends on the player.

The newer squiers are much better than anything in the price rage a decade ago.

Forgot to mention Ibanez in particular the RG series.

There are also classic imports that are worth it if you can find them.

Tokai for instance. But there can be drawbacks.

Am trying to mod out a couple pre-lawsuit imports. Its a pain. Stock gibson/fender parts dont fit.

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » August 1st, 2018, 1:37 pm

ESP. That is all

Postby meccalli » August 1st, 2018, 1:53 pm

If I ever had to get an esp, it'd probably the warbird. I haven't been playing that often for a while though.

Postby RedVEVO » August 1st, 2018, 3:41 pm

Miktay wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Depends on the Squier....depends on the player.

The newer squiers are much better than anything in the price rage a decade ago.

Forgot to mention Ibanez in particular the RG series.

There are also classic imports that are worth it if you can find them.

Tokai for instance. But there can be drawbacks.

Am trying to mod out a couple pre-lawsuit imports. Its a pain. Stock gibson/fender parts dont fit.

Ok. Truth now :lol:

RedVEVO logic.

Once you own a squire .

People know you already :D

And it's not good report card.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » August 4th, 2018, 7:15 am

Brand of guitar doesn't matter. It's all in the fingers. Doesn't hurt to buy quality stuff though....it sounds, feels and plays better than cheaper gear. It also gives you incentive to practice. If you are a beginner guitarist, Ibanez is a good start. They are easy to play and have a fast fretboard. Your style of music as well will determine your needs. As someone above mentioned....you cannot go wrong with ESP!

As for distortion pedals, don't waste your money. Invest in a good preamp pedal. If you're playing into a small combo amp with an 8" or 10" speaker....no distortion pedal is gonna sound great. As far as overdrive pedals are concerned, they're handy if you are using a tube amplifier. Plenty options out there, if you're a serious musician, Ibanez tubescreamer or Maxon overdrive (not cheap though). There are lots of boutique pedals out there....if you're willng to spend the cash.

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2018, 11:02 am

Galvatron wrote:Brand of guitar doesn't matter. It's all in the fingers. Doesn't hurt to buy quality stuff though....it sounds, feels and plays better than cheaper gear. It also gives you incentive to practice. If you are a beginner guitarist, Ibanez is a good start. They are easy to play and have a fast fretboard. Your style of music as well will determine your needs. As someone above mentioned....you cannot go wrong with ESP!

As for distortion pedals, don't waste your money. Invest in a good preamp pedal. If you're playing into a small combo amp with an 8" or 10" speaker....no distortion pedal is gonna sound great. As far as overdrive pedals are concerned, they're handy if you are using a tube amplifier. Plenty options out there, if you're a serious musician, Ibanez tubescreamer or Maxon overdrive (not cheap though). There are lots of boutique pedals out there....if you're willng to spend the cash.

Are you a guitarist ?

Kinda wanna talk to guitar junkies ..

Cheap guitars are not good pally wally ..

Always need a distortion pedal - new jazz & rock genres

Postby maj. tom » August 4th, 2018, 12:02 pm

well why u even want anyone's opinion then? go ahead and buy the most expensive guitar and equipment and play your heart out. Joe Walsh and Jeff Beck could play a piece of plywood with strings and you would still know how good they are.

You seem to have no purpose in life but to play with a set of man online to get your innie-vagina aroused.

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » August 4th, 2018, 1:11 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Galvatron wrote:Brand of guitar doesn't matter. It's all in the fingers. Doesn't hurt to buy quality stuff though....it sounds, feels and plays better than cheaper gear. It also gives you incentive to practice. If you are a beginner guitarist, Ibanez is a good start. They are easy to play and have a fast fretboard. Your style of music as well will determine your needs. As someone above mentioned....you cannot go wrong with ESP!

Are you a guitarist ?

Yes I am...seems that you're all set then!

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2018, 1:26 pm

Galvatron wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Are you a guitarist ?

:D :D Kool ..

Looking to hook up a few pedals for different sound effects ....

Suggestions ?

BOSS products .. researching them now :wink:

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » August 4th, 2018, 10:31 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Galvatron wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Are you a guitarist ?

:D :D Kool ..

Looking to hook up a few pedals for different sound effects ....

Suggestions ?

BOSS products .. researching them now :wink:

I own a BOSS ME 50 , pretty simple to use , 50 multi effects , can get great cleans and distorted tones out of it , even djent stuff . don't recommend getting a bunch of pedals , rather try to get a multi effects unit , see what sorta effects you like and take it from there.

Postby RedVEVO » August 4th, 2018, 10:42 pm

Yes agree .. Like BOSS stuff .. agree with the above to a certain extent .

The distortion on the amps and waH waH pedal is outdated .

A few years ago got a Marshall (Tube) Amp ..

Do not like the new amps .. well not yet .

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » August 4th, 2018, 11:04 pm

Yeah i agree , amps are kinda dead , my next set-up will be a powered speaker and a decent multi effects unit , right now my Roland Cube and Me 50 gets the job done , even the sound engineer agrees my tone is pretty decent .

Postby RedVEVO » August 6th, 2018, 11:24 pm

He is in and out of the chromatic scale ..

Anybody can explain ?

The RedVEVO Guitar Collection :D :D ..

Postby timelapse » August 7th, 2018, 9:59 am

RV talk no mih.I now read your posts here.What kind of gear are you looking for, what would you like to play, what guitarists do you like, want to sound like what is your experience level of playing?

Give me a reference and I'll see if I can give you some good advice.I around guitar stuff for about 15 years or so.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 7th, 2018, 10:46 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Anybody can explain ?

Chromatic scale=all notes
C Chromatic= C,C#,D,D#,E,F,F#,G,G#,A,A#,B,C

Postby meccalli » August 7th, 2018, 2:16 pm

It's travesty, sultans of swing on humbuckers? You need a whole lot of quack to nail it like knopfler does.

Postby RedVEVO » August 7th, 2018, 5:07 pm

Miktay wrote:

Anybody can explain ?

So ? Decending ..

B, Bb, A, Ab, G, Gb, F, E, Eb, D, Db, C

Guitars junkies show me some riffs :roll:

Miktay

Postby Miktay » August 7th, 2018, 5:23 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Miktay wrote:

Anybody can explain ?

So ? Decending ..

B, Bb, A, Ab, G, Gb, F, E, Eb, D, Db, C

Guitars junkies show me some riffs :roll:

yep. Same way up...same way down.

What type of music are u interested in?