The guitar string (thread)

urbandilema

Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby urbandilema » August 9th, 2015, 2:18 am

maj. tom wrote:Here's a little clip I recorded on my phone from a concert I went to last month. The sound was just incredible.

https://vid.me/UXJR

:o :)

Sound good

spiritcross

Postby spiritcross » September 9th, 2015, 6:37 am

anyone still looking for a bass guitar.got an untouched 4 string for sale

Postby MG Man » September 9th, 2015, 10:48 am

run some details nah

Postby Cjruckus » October 21st, 2015, 2:57 pm

Hey boys and girls I have a huge lot of gear for sale. Will post stuff in the coming days.

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 24th, 2015, 9:25 pm

Thread still alive boyyyy, haven't been on in yearsss

Postby MG Man » October 25th, 2015, 9:37 am

ruckus have some stellar stuff to sell tho

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 20th, 2015, 3:13 pm

Anyone know if Live-n-Loud still around? Went looking for them at Maraval but nothing. Need to get sum strings and sum other accessories.

Postby MG Man » November 20th, 2015, 3:14 pm

the internet is your friend :)

Postby zoom rader » November 20th, 2015, 4:01 pm

Fellars what's a best buy mid entry on an electric guitar and amp for a teen that can play ok but is no expert.

Postby meccalli » November 20th, 2015, 5:04 pm

I love my squire bullet strat, bought it as my first electric and I still prefer the single coil tones for blues and feel of the neck over my ibanez. I use amplitube but my friends use entry level orange, line 6 and marshall mg series amps.

JMC

Postby JMC » April 16th, 2017, 5:53 am

Bumping this thread.

Noob here looking to purchase an entry level electric guitar package.

Need some recommendations on brand and model. I've been looking at some on amazon but considering the weight, it may make more sense to purchase down here. Max budget is $2k

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 16th, 2017, 4:40 pm

JMC wrote:Bumping this thread.

Noob here looking to purchase an entry level electric guitar package.

Need some recommendations on brand and model. I've been looking at some on amazon but considering the weight, it may make more sense to purchase down here. Max budget is $2k

For 2k u can get everything including some extra packs of strings and picks.

Just know what style of music the person is interested in. From blues to classical.. a regular fender strat shape would do. If they more into metal or heavy rock they might prefer something with edgier design and look.

Just about any entry level guitar package is fine. Id say just pick one that looks cool and comes with an amp in the package. Those small amps are loud enough dont worry. Peavey, fender are good brands. Package should come with guitar, a strap, some picks and an amp. Grab a couple spare packs of strings and they should be good for practice for the year before they need anything again.

JMC

Postby JMC » April 16th, 2017, 4:52 pm

Any local shops you recommend?
Was doing some research on YouTube and some say don't bother with certain models like fender squier affinity..

Postby maj. tom » April 16th, 2017, 5:07 pm

A beginner? Do you have an acoustic guitar? Don't need an amp for that. An acoustic should be your first instrument anyway.
You can find a used steel string acoustic locally. Work your way up from there as your skill develops.
I have a used Palmer acoustic to give you for $1000.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » April 16th, 2017, 5:38 pm

JMC wrote:Any local shops you recommend?
Was doing some research on YouTube and some say don't bother with certain models like fender squier affinity..

Pricesmart has some packages. Also simon's music supplies in port of spain.

For a novice it doesnt matter. They wont be able to distinguish the small intricacies of different brans, wood combinations, pickup types etc.

Any guitar is good enough for a beginner. Just dont get one made out of ply wood if you want it to last long. Standard woods are mahogany and maple. Once you have a solid wood guitar, you can customize it right up with better hardware till it matches quality of $1000usd guitars. What you pay more money for uses those same cheap foundations during construction but just have better hardware, greater detail to sanding and perfection of the finish etc.

Dont hurt your head. Just get a guitar that does what you want and work with it. Only from that point will you learn what you like and dont like about a guitar for making your next purchase. Or as i pointed out. You could just customize the one you have up to a professional standard. For every person the things they like and dont like differs. Someone might tell you, dont buy those pickups they sound awful and when you hear them you fall in love.

JMC

Postby JMC » April 16th, 2017, 5:57 pm

Thanks for the time and advice

Postby meccalli » April 16th, 2017, 7:18 pm

Yeah, most guys buy a squier bullet strat for kicks and realise how nice the neck and sound is. Now there's entire forums dedicated to them and customising them with electronics. I bought mine at simon's. If your hands sweat as much as mine, take care of the bridge saddles otherwise they rust down (the adjustment allen screws to asjust the string height from the saddle).

Postby timelapse » April 18th, 2017, 12:30 pm

My first guitar was electric.There are a lot of techniques that can be learned on an electric that you cannot do on an acoustic.
That being said.
SASU -Midcenter mall chaguanas
Musicians clubhouse , upstairs Phoenix bar , ramsaran street chaguanas
R&S investments, St. James Street Sando.

Besides buying an amp, there are devices that will allow you to connect your guitar to a computer and run effects from there.
Some effects multi processors come with this feature.Also you can stick headphones into a processor

JMC

Postby JMC » April 18th, 2017, 1:31 pm

^ Thanks. Will browse the mentioned shops as well as radioshack and pricesmart. Researching online and I'm liking the squier package. Also weighing the option of ordering a package from Amazon but not sure of the clearance fees if i ship by boat.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 18th, 2017, 2:01 pm

For a first elec guitar get something you like. Something you feel you will want to learn with...where the string action isnt too high.

Try playing the guitar unplugged at first and get a feel for it.

Feel iz important. Normally beginners wont know good from average....so the best instinct you have iz feel. Especially the neck profile. If youre beginning you want a comfortable neck profile.

Alot of it will come down to setup which can vary from the factory. But you can always take it in to a good music shop and let them retweak the action and intonation.

As mentioned already you cant go wrong with the fender/squier line.

Even if its made in China. Better if itz made in Mexico.

But either way youre good to go

Beginners Ibanez are also very good bang for the buck. And they have low profile necks if youre an aspiring shredder.

Postby timelapse » April 18th, 2017, 3:18 pm

^Ibanez...Yummy....
There is also a Peavey package as well with a Raptor Guitar with a practice amp.Works great for the Metulz.
Personally, I do not like the Rollins brand carried by Radio Shack, but thats just me.Squier is nice as well.
I forgot to ask the most important questions.

What type of music do you want to play with it?
What type of music do you listen to?
Which guitarist's style/tone do you like?

Do you own a cowboy hat?

Postby maj. tom » April 18th, 2017, 3:29 pm

so inspired right now!!

Postby timelapse » April 18th, 2017, 3:35 pm

^And yuh have an acoustic?lol

Postby maj. tom » April 18th, 2017, 6:16 pm

I trying, I now learn my first scale!

https://mixstep.co/2b43fgkqf7jh

JMC

Postby JMC » April 18th, 2017, 6:38 pm

timelapse wrote:What type of music do you want to play with it?
What type of music do you listen to?
Which guitarist's style/tone do you like?

Do you own a cowboy hat?

I listen to rock and some level of metal.
Favourite guitarist is Adrian Smith

JMC

Postby JMC » April 18th, 2017, 6:40 pm

If anyone come across any guitar packages in any music shop, let me in the on details if possible. Just to guage local prices and available brand. Thanks.

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2017, 6:49 pm

JMC wrote:Favourite guitarist is Adrian Smith

Then you'll be happy with an ssh strat.

Postby meccalli » April 18th, 2017, 6:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:I trying, I now learn my first scale!

lol, yeah don't wimp out on the ascending lick. The hardest part of sweet child for me is nailing the repeating blues lick he plays 5 times super fast before closing off the major solo.

bluesclues

Re: Re: The guitar string (thread)

Postby bluesclues » April 19th, 2017, 2:06 am

maj. tom wrote:I trying, I now learn my first scale!

hmm fender strat? love the muddy lows and rich highs. it sound good. enjoyed listening :cool:

dont worry the fingerwork on the solos will come with practice. and how much attention to detail and how close to perfection you want to achieve for urself.

#musclememory

Galvatron

Postby Galvatron » April 19th, 2017, 7:41 am

If you're totally new to guitar, with zero experience....then half of the advice here doesn't apply.

Without first learning proper technique and hand position...you will not know what type of neck you prefer, or what is comfortable for you.

I suggest you stay away from beginner packs if you are really serious about learning guitar.

Ibanez guitars are perfect for beginners. Investing in proper equipment which sounds good....will give lots of incentive to continue playing. Cheap beginner equipment sound like crap, and can turn any potential player off.

With a limited budget of $2k, l would recommend an acoustic guitar. Buy a quality acoustic with it, get lessons and practice.