Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby cinco » February 4th, 2009, 7:14 pm

wow
i would love to get a planted setup like that
started one in a 5 ft but had to sell it when i left

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 6th, 2009, 10:10 am

i did a set up similar to this 4 feet... but jeeez these tanks can actually take long to look like that, some plants take longer than some to grow & some of those are abit hard to get down here....i think Java moss is reall good to have in a planted tank...it grows fast & looks very nice!

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » February 6th, 2009, 10:39 am

so where to get plants like that in trinidad? I think i does only see amazons down here :(
I want to start a planted setup.
What a bout local plants that can be used?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » February 6th, 2009, 10:42 am

Rebelb14 wrote:so where to get plants like that in trinidad? I think i does only see amazons down here :(
I want to start a planted setup.
What a bout local plants that can be used?

I think Funky Pets has some nice variety of plants.
Also by chai.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 6th, 2009, 10:51 am

those are normal plants like the amazons, sowrds, foxtails....crisps & java ferns & java moss, but those plants on the website that posted...def are unusual & some palnts that are difficult to source.... local plants could be used....its all about how you go about designing it 7 settin it up... but planted tanks are very nice, quite easy to maintain, may be difficult to set up depending on how you want it & the type of fish you keeping...but Planted tanks are great eco systems to develpo!

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » February 6th, 2009, 4:22 pm

so nobody eh have plants to give away? also fish, I looking to start up my collections :D
I wanna go by chais in the morning b4 i go to work for some plants. I hope they survive the day in work. who knows might take some fish one time.

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 24th, 2009, 8:36 am

like we forget about the fishies?....
where allyuh?
Rebelb14, yuh do up d tank yet? where d pics?

No Boost

Postby No Boost » February 24th, 2009, 9:31 am

Very interesting thread ppl..... i have always been a lover of fishes, but the thing is.... "I find my tank does nasty realll fast". I clean my tank approx. once every week.. is this normal or am I going about it wrong??? it's a 2' freshwater tank.

chit8238

CLEANING SCHEDULE

Postby chit8238 » February 24th, 2009, 12:00 pm

I CHANGE WATER ONLY AFTER A COUPLE MONTHS. ASIDE FROM AERATION, IF FILTRATION IS ADEQUATE, THE ECO SYSTEM IS REASONABLY SELF-PERPETUATING. AN AQUARIUM IS A SMALL REPLICA OF THE NATURAL ENVIRONMENT WITH SOME LIMITATIONS DUE TO SIZE. BACTERIA NEED TO BE CULTIVATED TO BREAK DOWN WASTE AS IN NATURE. A MEDIUM LIKE FILTER FOAM IS IDEAL WITH WATER FLOWING THROUGH IT AT A MODERATE RATE TO EFFECT "DETOXIFICATION" OF HARMFUL WASTE PRODUCTS. THE AMMONIA FROM THE WASTE IS BROKEN DOWN INTO NITRITES (STILL HARMFUL) THEN ALMOST HARMLESS NITRATES BY NITROBACTER AND NITROSOMONAS BACTERIA. KEEP THE BACTERIA GROWING - DO NOT CLEAN ANTISCEPTICALLY (I HOPE THAT IS A WORD BUT YOU KNOW WHAT I MEAN) AND YOU NEED NOT CHANGE WATER AS OFTEN AS EVERY WEEK. YOU NEED TO PAY ATTENTION TO NOT OVERCROWDING THOUGH AS THIS CAN LEAD TO HIGH LEVELS OF AMMONIA AND NITRITES, LOW LEVELS OF OXYGEN, SICKNESS AND A DIRTY TANK. I HOPE THIS INFORMATION IS HELPFUL AND I WAS NOT TOO LONG-WINDED!

Peanut Punch

Postby Peanut Punch » February 24th, 2009, 12:37 pm

Soundwave wrote:doh forget men like scratchy and pothong...

lol :lol: :lol: :lol:

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 25th, 2009, 10:15 am

chit8238, changing water every week is very vital.... FYI

depending on the type of fitlration & the type of fish or the amount... & the type of eco-sys determines the dirtyness....
iclean my filter & change like 25% of my water every week & everything's great with me...been doing this for yrs!

A PARTIAL WATER CHANGE IS VERY IMPORTANT IN A FISH TANK!
No Boost, hope myy info helps as well.
Regards

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 25th, 2009, 10:19 am

when i mean water change .... i eh mean to empty d whole tank & puit d fishes in ah bucket & fill it back up with clean water eh....
I mean at least every week or so, siphon at least 25% to 30% of water & add/top up/fill back up with clean stale tap water or cholrine free water.

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » February 25th, 2009, 11:27 pm

I AGREE. PARTIAL WATER CHANGES OF 25% IS A GOOD PRACTICE. YOU REMOVE THE NITRATES AMONG OTHER THINGS WITHOUT SHOCKING THE SYSTEM WITH SUDDEN DRAMATIC CHEMICAL CHANGES THAT FISHES DO NOT TAKE WELL TO.

No Boost

Postby No Boost » February 26th, 2009, 7:55 am

That is exactly what I do...... put them in a bucket and scrub! I have no idea why this happens so frequently. h2o itself is clean but the glass accumulates moss very fast. I really like fishes and would have liked to expand, but for now it seems highly labour inclusive. (very discouraging) lol. Anyway, thank u guys for your very fast/ informative responses. I will try doing partial water changes to see if it helps me any bit.

Cid

Postby Cid » February 26th, 2009, 9:02 am

i have one 4 ft planted and one 4ft saltwater....

this is the planted tank after being left alone for one month, initially i had a really kool aquascape n different variety of plants but once the tank was overgrown only the stronger plants lived and the aquascape vanished .....the thing grows like krazy, i had a DIY co2 system but took it off after the tank got overgrown in one week.....now it takes a month but im always too lazy to take off the hood to give it a clipping....I have 6 fl tubes , and 4 of those are overclocked... :):) ( one 4 output ballast on 2 bulbs)......the only drawback is that it shortens the life of the bulbs..:):) but i get more watts .., i had to build the hood myself....it took me 2 weeks , since the tank and hood is 4ft and the bulbs are also 4 ft....it was tough , but i got to fit, i always do....;)

this is a more recent pic after i clipped the plants , i got about 2 bucket full of clippings and plants that i threw in my pond for the kois.....some of the plants were more than 7ft tall...

ill post my saltwater setup later

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » February 26th, 2009, 9:05 am

I dont think you should have gone with Giant Grass for a tank that size. The "standard or normal" sized grass plant would have been a better choice

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 26th, 2009, 9:32 am

Cid, very interesting... me & you could lime! but dont dare with java moss, sh!t grows too fast & covers up everything...awaits to see saltwater!

No Boost, make sure your tank not exposed to sunlight cause that highly contributes to algae/moss.... but goodluck, its actully not that much of labour work....as long as you maintain it!!!

Postby UML » February 26th, 2009, 9:33 am

Where cud I buy a cyphotilapia frontosa/frontosa cichlid????

I want to buy one

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 26th, 2009, 9:53 am

UML,African frontosa cichlids are very nice fish, they are not aggressive at all to me, very nice colours but dam it does take long to grow, mines only grow half inch in some months...., but check Exotic fish farm in charlieville by holidays foods there: 665-4987 kinda expensive for a cichlid tho about 50$ for one about 2inches. Regards.

Postby UML » February 26th, 2009, 3:30 pm

djblademan wrote:UML,African frontosa cichlids are very nice fish, they are not aggressive at all to me, very nice colours but dam it does take long to grow, mines only grow half inch in some months...., but check Exotic fish farm in charlieville by holidays foods there: 665-4987 kinda expensive for a cichlid tho about 50$ for one about 2inches. Regards.

yeah got it already....thx it was $55 8-)

dey reaaaal firetruck expensive boy :shock:

Cid

Postby Cid » February 26th, 2009, 4:58 pm

here is some quick pics of my saltwater setup, i had to reduce the quality to upload faster....

front view

side view, and my freshwater ro water barrel on the side.....i have an auto top up system..(a little float attached to some tubing )

pulsing xenia

hermit

some candycane....and a coral beauty to the side

yellow tang grazing next to some mushrooms

another xenia frag

a really tiny brain coral

xenia colony

another shot of the yellow tang

some gorgonia and remnants of a recent algae outbreak

this shot u can see the green star polyp growing on the glass

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 26th, 2009, 7:28 pm

Cid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Ah love it!!! real firetruck sweet jred!!! Lovely!

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 26th, 2009, 7:41 pm

UML, how big it is? yuh could determine if is male or female?

Postby UML » February 26th, 2009, 7:51 pm

djblademan wrote:UML, how big it is? yuh could determine if is male or female?

bout d same size u said

nah i cant....i asked the guy and he cudnt tell either....when fishes that small it very unlikely u wud know.

No Boost

Postby No Boost » February 26th, 2009, 11:14 pm

great salt water aquarium horse...... reminds me very much of the reefs in buccoo. just minimised!! :lol:

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 27th, 2009, 8:49 am

scene, put up pics of yuh set up nah...?

No Boost

Postby No Boost » February 27th, 2009, 8:54 am

no scene..... as soon as I get a digital camera, or my scanner working!

djblademan

Postby djblademan » February 27th, 2009, 9:24 am

Scene...

joashmgn

Postby joashmgn » February 27th, 2009, 12:53 pm

Rebelb14

Postby Rebelb14 » February 27th, 2009, 2:13 pm

those cichlids look huge! what size tank and what u usin to filter it?