NO CLEAR TINT LAW

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 14th, 2009, 7:00 pm

jjacelon1 wrote:the thing is, although the Constable Stupidees and dem can't legally make u remove the tint, unfortunately they know that are in their right to detain you until License officers arrive to do it themselves.
And on top of that, the tickets they give us is not for the tint itself but rather for "dis-obeying the instruction of an officer of the law"... raaated, blood-clat, fassie hole dem. Den dey wonder y d country doh trust Police.

it's true....once an officer told me to remove my tint, so i told him well he can't force me to do it.
He got agitated and then he told me is either that or he escorts me to Licencing office in POS with my car and have the licencing officers thee deal with it and it is up to me if i have half day to waste cause he not busy. :o

i ended up removing it.

Postby De Dragon » September 14th, 2009, 7:27 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote:Oh, but looky here:

"Seetahal said the Act gave the Licensing Authority power over motorists' tints and not the police."

She references the "current law" to support her above opinion. :o :o

Way to go, Seetahal!

So according to the Act, and not Seetahal, you are still subjected to removal by the Licensing Authority. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Failure from an aspiring lawyer! D. Seetahal merely stated that the law as is, does not vest the authority to force removal of a vehicles' tint, with the Police.

Postby X_Factor » December 29th, 2009, 1:52 pm

remember folks, 1000.00 fine as of 1st jan

so start ripping them off

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 29th, 2009, 2:01 pm

it's $2000.

$1000. is for lights...

image91

Postby image91 » January 1st, 2010, 3:55 pm

Can't figure out if to put back 35 or 20 :shock:

Postby Sinister_Audio » January 1st, 2010, 3:57 pm

image91 wrote:Can't figure out if to put back 35 or 20 :shock:

19 :lol:

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 1st, 2010, 5:00 pm

*contemplating if to rip off d titanium. :? :?

Postby ronsin1 » January 1st, 2010, 5:04 pm

already ripped of mine

wanted to put back 35% but the idiot did not have apparently everyone putting 35% :?

Postby streetbeastINC. » January 2nd, 2010, 11:49 am

heard they started issuing tickets ....

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 2nd, 2010, 3:05 pm

They have to balance the budget!

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 2nd, 2010, 3:29 pm

so they still giving u a chance to pull it off or is a instant charge same time ... :?

High_Speed_Imports

Postby High_Speed_Imports » January 2nd, 2010, 4:03 pm

still getting chance cousin got stripped on way to work by A1 auto supplies right after UWI heading east. at about 11.42am Sat

Postby MG Man » January 2nd, 2010, 4:18 pm

no tint
no care :mrgreen:

denzilj

Re:

Postby denzilj » June 8th, 2016, 10:19 am

AbstractPoetic wrote::rofl:

So because there is no clear tint law (no clear measuring stick for what is considered legal and what is not), you are ready to claim victory? To say you have been wronged and should sue?

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

If you read carefully, Seetahal is talking out of her bum bum. She does not reference any legislation to support her argument.

According to Seetahal, it is an "abuse of power" because:

- "Current laws also do not give Trinidad and Tobago police officers the authority to make drivers physically remove tints from their car windows or windshields"

- "There is no power in law for police to make drivers remove their tints"

Any attorney would know that they would need supporting evidence to validate those statements.

As of today, Seetahal is only making a statement. A claim. An opinion. She has not used anything in the "current law" to support her rant.

But because she is a "reputable attorney" she must be right?

Excuse me while I roll over my floor, laughing.

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Supporting legislation: Motor Vehicles and Road Traffic Act, Ch. 48:50, section 23(1)(d)
Fixed Penalty of $2000
It states: No motor vehicle the windscreen or any other window of which is fitted with glass so tinted, treated or darkened as to obscure the view of the inside of the vehicle from the outside shall be used upon any road.
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.50.pdf
http://rgd.legalaffairs.gov.tt/Laws2/Al ... /48.52.pdf

Re: NO CLEAR TINT LAW

Postby Dizzy28 » June 8th, 2016, 10:23 am

Holy 6 year bump Batman!!!!

Postby cinco » June 8th, 2016, 11:03 am

Would love to see what they gonna do with all those new xtrails with factory 20% rear glass that is dyed and not tint

Postby maj. tom » June 8th, 2016, 11:40 am

they go buss the glass

Postby sliderz1 » June 8th, 2016, 12:27 pm

peroxide the glass :|

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2016, 12:58 pm

I think reflective tints should be legal on all surfaces except the front windshield, which should not have the same 6" strip stipulation I believe. We live in the tropics and it makes sense to have a highly reflective tint.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 8th, 2016, 1:11 pm

I rockin clear tint right now. Didnt know it was only for diplomats. Wtb: 0% tint film.

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2016, 3:06 pm

RBphoto wrote:I think reflective tints should be legal on all surfaces except the front windshield, which should not have the same 6" strip stipulation I believe. We live in the tropics and it makes sense to have a highly reflective tint.

reflective tint is not necessarily the most effective tint when dealing with UV/heat

similarly to ppl who think the darker the better, I sometimes wonder if it's stupidity or a sense of self-importance that makes a person tint a vehicle G5 or lower

Postby RBphoto » June 8th, 2016, 3:20 pm

eliteauto wrote:
RBphoto wrote:I think reflective tints should be legal on all surfaces except the front windshield, which should not have the same 6" strip stipulation I believe. We live in the tropics and it makes sense to have a highly reflective tint.

reflective tint is not necessarily the most effective tint when dealing with UV/heat

similarly to ppl who think the darker the better, I sometimes wonder if it's stupidity or a sense of self-importance that makes a person tint a vehicle G5 or lower

What is the most effective then?

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2016, 3:32 pm

ceramic tint seems to be the most effective, and that works regardless of %, that why some cars appear to have "clear" glass but cool as fcuk inside, air blue gets good reviews as well

Postby skylinechild » June 8th, 2016, 3:52 pm

RBphoto wrote:
What is the most effective then?

essentially for tint to do its job it must have certain qualities.
these qualities are high heat rejection and high UV rejection along with scratch proof.

different types of materials offer these advantages some more than others.

I'll just copy and pasta here for you bruh

Dyed Window Film

Dyed window film is made by placing a layer of dye between an adhesive layer and a protective polyester top coating. The adhesive layer sticks to the window glass, and the top coating prevents nicks and scratches. This type of film can block from five to fifty percent of the light from entering your vehicle.
Advantages

There are several reasons to consider dyed window film:

Dyed film produces the darkest effect, and it's non-reflective. Many people like this esthetic.
This type of film does not block radio waves, so it won't interfere with an in-glass antenna.
It reduces fading from sunlight.
This film blocks unwanted glare from headlights and other bright lights.
In general, this type of film is the most cost effective.

Disadvantages

Dyed film also has a few important disadvantages:

When installed incorrectly, dyed film can have an unattractive bubbled appearance.
According to Tinteks, this option does not block as much heat as other products.
This type of film can delaminate, which means the layers can separate from one another.
Over time, the UV rays of the sun can break down the dye, causing it to turn from a deep black to a purple color.

Metalized Window Film

Another option is metalized window film. This type of film consists of several layers. A base layer of adhesive bonds the film to your window. This is followed by a layer of film treated to block ultraviolet radiation, which is then bonded to a metalized layer that reflects heat and darkens the window. Finally, a top coat of protective film helps prevent scratches. Metalized film often blocks out everything but ten to forty of the light.
Advantages

There are a number of reasons metalized film might be right for you:

It is very effective at blocking heat, since it reflects the heat before it enters the car.
It also blocks glare very efficiently.
Metalized film is excellent at blocking UV rays.
This type of tinting film does not fade over time.
Metalized tinting film is extremely durable.

Disadvantages

There are three main disadvantages to metalized film, all of which are important to consider:

This type of film can interfere with radio technology. In addition to in-glass antennae, the film can block your cell phone signal, stop your tire pressure monitoring system from working properly, and cause other problems.
Metalized film has a very shiny appearance, due to the metal content. For many consumers, this isn't the esthetic they have in mind.
This type of film costs more than dyed options, since the metal makes it more expensive to produce.

Ceramic Film

A relatively recent option, ceramic window film consists of an adhesive layer bonded to a thin ceramic layer and protected by a top coat. The ceramic reflects heat and darkens the window, blocking out all but thirty to fifty percent of the light.
Advantages

You may want to consider ceramic film for a number of reasons:

This type of film is very effective at blocking heat.
It blocks UV rays and light glare.
It does not fade as dyed films might.
It allows radio signals to pass through it, making it ideal for in-glass antennae.
Ceramic window film isn't as reflective as metalized options.

Disadvantages

The main disadvantage of ceramic window film is that it can be very costly. It is the most expensive option when it comes to window tinting.

now you know the types and differences.....you can tell what 90% of tint shops carry ..just by looking at the film 6-8 mths after.....

Postby stev » June 8th, 2016, 7:06 pm

do we have anything in trinidad to determine the tint transparency? or do we just rely on the officers with sunglasses to tell us if its dark or not?

Postby skylinechild » June 8th, 2016, 9:49 pm

stev wrote:do we have anything in trinidad to determine the tint transparency? or do we just rely on the officers with sunglasses to tell us if its dark or not?

this is the problem right here.. !!!!

there is such a device but our laws are soo old and antiquated......why not visit your local MP office and make him aware....after all he is representing you in parliament and has a right to address the concerns of the ppl in his constituency :!:

Postby SR » June 9th, 2016, 8:20 am

Ask dem officers who personal vehilces have dark tint.....many of them parked on the shoulder by the barracks in aranguez

Postby RBphoto » June 9th, 2016, 1:02 pm

All right then.. what shops have the ceramic and what is the cost to tint a tiida

Kronik

Postby Kronik » June 9th, 2016, 1:54 pm

I think tint nation has it. They on the forum, located in chasevillage

Postby skylinechild » June 9th, 2016, 3:49 pm

RBphoto wrote:All right then.. what shops have the ceramic and what is the cost to tint a tiida

thats the question.....ceramic expensive and not many ppl carry it...hell we now just moving up to metallic tint and you want ceramic.... :lol:

check motor city or other larger tinting places..dont expect the smaller corner shops / graphic place to have ceramic...

i'd actually recommend you check tint nation and get the carbon XP film to do the tiida may run you abt $600 or so but it's better then the normal crap film. :|

Kronik wrote:I think tint nation has it. They on the forum, located in chasevillage

he has suntek films - suntek has this carbon type film..not ceramic.

taken from suntek webpage this is the types of tint they have and its construction

suntek website wrote: CXP™ - Non-Metal, Nano-Hybrid, Carbon Construction
Carbon™ - Non-Metal, Non-Fading, Carbon Construction
InfinityOP™ - Sputtered, All-Metal Construction
High Performance - Dyed-Metal, Hybrid Construction
Standard - Dyed Construction

this is what tint nation has
TINT NATION wrote:
These films are:

:arrow: Standard 35%, 20% and 5% ( single ply)

:arrow: High Performance 20% & 35% (Double Ply)

:arrow: Titanium 35% (Double Ply)

:arrow: Carbon XP 18% & 35% (Double Ply)

tint nation has done some of the neatest work ive seen and excellent customer service.
a customer brought back his vehicle to re tint cause the tint started to "bubble out" and he redid it no questions asked at no cost to the customer.

only reason why i dndt check him to retint my car is cause he uses suntek films and i dont like suntek films. if he starts stocking other brands and types...he can get my money anytime.