Are laptops and PCs VAT free when importing?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 19th, 2009, 10:22 am

haterforever wrote:i ordered a video card last week and was charged freight only, no vat although the skybox labelled it as electonics instead of computer parts. waiting for the rest of parts to come down to see if they will put duties on them

Which box you using?

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 19th, 2009, 10:25 am

jsl :roll:

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 19th, 2009, 10:28 am

Speedpack.... hmmm... well they actually located in Piarco... perhaps they have a better relationship with customs

Let me know about the other parts

I fedup of Aeropst man... I bring some parts there for a fella and now get $750 VAT in my backside

Time to change :|

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 19th, 2009, 10:30 am

i'll give ah update by tuesday when i collect

Postby bushwakka » July 19th, 2009, 10:31 am

no DUTY on computer parts but there is VAT

didnt know there is VAT excluded on pcs and laptops

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 19th, 2009, 10:33 am

UNC supposedly take VAT off computers back in the day

But is like they tort that they just had to say "no VAT on computers" and magically it would disappear

They never added them to the Zero-rated list...

ragzinc

Postby ragzinc » July 19th, 2009, 11:48 am

There is no VAT and DUTY on "WHOLE" COMPUTER SYSTEMS - ie. included but not limited to Barebone PCs, Desktops with/without monitors, Laptops, TouchScreen PCs, Tablets

Postby M_2NR » July 19th, 2009, 11:59 am

sigh...

ulyuh go ahead and declare sheit as computer ting with ulyuh skybox. :lol:

and once yuh declare yuh sheit properly.. expect no tax/duty. I use JSL also. Just this time sheit got declared as electronics and that was rape.. :(

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 19th, 2009, 12:43 pm

ragzinc wrote:There is no VAT and DUTY on "WHOLE" COMPUTER SYSTEMS - ie. included but not limited to Barebone PCs, Desktops with/without monitors, Laptops, TouchScreen PCs, Tablets

There is NOTHING in any legislation that supports "No VAT and duty" on fully built computer

No customs duty, but they are breaking the laws if they don't charge VAT

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 19th, 2009, 1:32 pm

If they are being charged VAT when the parts are imported they are well within their rights to charge you VAT when you buy the items retail

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » July 20th, 2009, 1:10 am

Kentucky, U got that chic's permission to be using her pic?

Postby Gem_in_i » July 20th, 2009, 6:23 am

Shipping from Dell is abt $70US with delivery to your door.
No vat or duty.
I was told I might get charged by Consumer Affairs abt $100TT for I not sure wht but when it was delivered I didnt pay anything.

Kentucky

Postby Kentucky » July 20th, 2009, 6:57 am

Sumana.00 wrote:Kentucky, U got that chic's permission to be using her pic?

Why would I have some random local girl's pic as my avatar?

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 20th, 2009, 11:23 am

haterforever wrote:i'll give ah update by tuesday when i collect

yeah the rest of parts i brought down ( powersupply, cooler, motherboard, ram, processor) weighed 14 lbs and when i spoke to jsl they said that it came up to like three hundred and something TT dollars, so i doubt they take tax. when i get the receipt I'll confirm) .

But that still better than the estimation i made as to what it would have been

ingalook

Postby ingalook » July 20th, 2009, 1:18 pm

Wait... you have to go pick it up?

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 20th, 2009, 1:44 pm

ingalook wrote:Wait... you have to go pick it up?

i live close by so i pick it up one time. they have delivery for free i think but i never tried it

Postby equipped2ripp » August 20th, 2009, 6:46 pm

I just got a receipt from eZone.... they charged me 20% duty for laptop accessories :|

JWT

Postby JWT » August 20th, 2009, 8:29 pm

so wait no body suppling foreign used computers with low mileage

Humes

Postby Humes » August 21st, 2009, 4:23 am

ingalook wrote:It is very unfair to charge for parts but NOT assembled computers when they are both NOT on the "zero-rated" list as this favors certain companies and royally screws the dwindling PC building populous

It's kinda unfair, but I understand the rationale behind it.

The duty was removed to facilitate families getting computers to get online and get familiar with them as part of a modernisation process. Same thing goes for the interest-free civil servant loans on PCs. It's meant for people to get a basic experience and understanding of the technology and to get equipped and competitive.

It's not really meant for me to be bringing in high-end Nvidia graphics cards to play World of Warcraft and Call of Duty 4 online (which I did...). Or for men to ship in HDDs for their home theater PCs and car audio systems (which they do...).

Since I bought my system almost 2 years ago, I've seen them coming down a bit harder on parts. I got away, according to Caribbean Express, because I bought an entire PC in parts one time. If I'd just bought certain parts, I mighta get hit.