3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2015, 8:47 am

X_Factor wrote:whats the best way to keep fish frozen for say a mth or more to minimize flavor loss, freezer burn, meat texture etc?

Don't gut and scale it, don't let fresh water hit it. Put it in a zip bag like ryan said and get all the air out if you don't have a sealer submerge in water to force out the air. Freeze as is in the best deep freeze you have. We kept grouper and snapper like that over a year.

Postby X_Factor » April 20th, 2015, 8:51 am

My father and his friends caught about 25 boshay and 2 4-5lb paag on saturday...mafiking side....he said as the line hit the water was bite...
1429534159995.jpg

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 8:56 am

White meat fish (wahoo, kingfish, carite, etc) cud stay longer than red meat fish (tuna)...so use your fish accordingly...mecalli hav it on lockdown...make an effort wen cleaning your fish try to use the sea water to wash if u need to but I don't really wash my fish before packaging...saves the flavor...

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 8:57 am

Looking like ah river mouth, Charliville?

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2015, 9:00 am

Mafeking is mayaro I think. Although, I went down cacandee road on Easter monday and somebody caught snook early in the morning with live bait, tide was low when we reach.

Postby X_Factor » April 20th, 2015, 9:09 am

^yeah, mayaro

proton17

Postby proton17 » April 20th, 2015, 9:51 am

Meccali know d thing right there. Some spots bout 60 ft and others 150ft. The fish dis time of year does be more west in deeper water too.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 20th, 2015, 4:00 pm

The heavy artillery has arrived
19819_10152758244571121_5173623787739231802_n.jpg
11013161_10152758244586121_1842587552577981394_o.jpg

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 20th, 2015, 4:14 pm

Nice! Have one coming in for meh cuz size 50 as well.
But for a few more bucks getting a fin- nor sport fisher 25. Not sure which I'll get yet.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 20th, 2015, 4:23 pm

This is the 2 speed squall that normally sells for more than the finnor sport fisher, closer to compare to the lethal 2 speed lever drag. I like finnor lethal spinning reels but for a big reel here I'd go penn if only for the fact you can get spare parts and repair locally, ever had to order a lethal drag washer and have it sent to TNT?

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2015, 5:08 pm

That's a great reel although I think a star drag might've been the better choice on a kayak. For those who don't know those new squalls have pretty much the same internals of the internationals with the exception of the machined body which is graphite and the only pitfall of it. Given that, penn went the extra mile in adding cross bars and supports to prevent the flexing of the graphite frame making it alot stronger than bodies like the shimano tld's.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 6:20 pm

Nice reel...I looking at one for slow trolling or a wire line setup...

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2015, 6:39 pm

That's a nice reel for a wahoo setup, texas guys using that for sharks, but if you running wireline, you might have to back it with some good mono to prevent the corrosion with dissimilar metals since the spool is aluminium.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 6:43 pm

Yes, mecalli all wire line setup hav ah mono backing...I love the sound of the clicker on that reel...wud love to hear it on ah wahoo strike...kingfish season now starting up though...

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2015, 6:55 pm

Nah I meant the volume compared to old penn senators with the brass spools. But yeah, penns have nice big clickers :), gggrrrrzzzzz

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 20th, 2015, 7:14 pm

Ryan you know you can invite me on a boat, I'm paying for gas and get to hear it on a wahoo strike :D

It came with 1000m of 120lb braid so I will need to put some wire top shot on that

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 20th, 2015, 9:56 pm

Don't need to use wire but ah spread is not complete without ah wire line...u need to take off some braid an run a topshot of about 50-80yds of mono if u plan on trolling for kingfish and wahoo...preferably 40-50lbs test...

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 20th, 2015, 11:31 pm

How about 60lb test Fluro? 50 yards

Postby meccalli » April 20th, 2015, 11:43 pm

When fluoro stretches, it stays that way. It's a lot more money as well. If you want to use fluoro, use it as leader material for the last 20 ft or so.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » April 21st, 2015, 11:36 am

Took a drive up to Manzanilla today in the hopes of doing some fishing. Those hopes were squashed. There is fresh seaweed on the beach from end to end and to make it worse it is in the water. Oh well...

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 21st, 2015, 11:59 am

Oooops now looking at it yes. Its the VSW model! Rell heavy artillery there!:eek:

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » April 21st, 2015, 3:21 pm

X-factor, that catch was from the shore?

Postby X_Factor » April 21st, 2015, 6:56 pm

yeah, but its more up river than closer to sea.....

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » April 22nd, 2015, 12:31 pm

ok thanks. trying to figure out some good spots still.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 22nd, 2015, 1:10 pm

so where can I get live bait? live shrimp or herring etc, I have a live bait bucket that I drag behind the yak, they will last in that but I need to get somewhere like Sando warf etc that has them still kicking first

reelman

Postby reelman » April 22nd, 2015, 8:49 pm

whats new on in fishing tackle equipment market that i can use in trinidad

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 22nd, 2015, 9:44 pm

From mankee

PENN FATHOM 30 & UGLY STIK TIGER LITE JIGGING COMBO
$ 1695.00
REEL
BRAID - 625/50 • 500/65 • 440/80
BEARINGS - 5+1
DRAG - 25 LBS
GEAR RATIO 6.0 TO 1
ROD
LENGHT 5' 10"
ACTION EXTRA HEAVY
LINE CLASS 80-130 LB BRAID

Great combo for boat/kayak/pier fishing

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2015, 9:53 pm

I have never heard of people catching snook so easy banking
have others been able to catch snook with basic drop line with bait like snapper ?

Postby meccalli » April 22nd, 2015, 9:54 pm

That's a perfect combo for your kayak setup. Much easier than fiddling with a ld in close quarters with saltwater.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » April 22nd, 2015, 10:01 pm

meccalli wrote:That's a perfect combo for your kayak setup. Much easier than fiddling with a ld in close quarters with saltwater.

I actually like lever drag, easier than spinning to control the drag and I know what drag I set, wish there was heavy duty level wind tho.