3ne2nr fishermen

mrlantra

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby mrlantra » April 27th, 2015, 7:21 pm

ryan99tt wrote:I cud fall in if ulyuh want...wat ulyuh fishing for though?

I'll put you down as a maybe, not sure what we're targeting just yet but we want to get in before the tarpon start blowing up.

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » April 28th, 2015, 9:22 am

Wreck is about 15-20 miles out...we hit hibiscus and all by d buoys wit dat boat but depends on conditions and if there are some friends around...

mrlantra, I will go but just depends on what u going for...wat name u made d charter under?

HSA

Postby HSA » April 28th, 2015, 10:30 pm

Caught this monster in the gulf...i approximate about 70lbs....i'm 6'2 and this was more than half my size.........
1430274647795.jpg

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » April 28th, 2015, 10:47 pm

Nice catch thing to eat

HSA

Postby HSA » April 28th, 2015, 10:55 pm

sinnaz25 wrote:Nice catch thing to eat

curry down dry 8-) .....i only eat the fins but i'v heard of ppl eating the whole dam thing!!!!!

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » April 28th, 2015, 11:05 pm

Yea is Trini u talking bout I whole ah time by d rock outside ptsc garage it was bigger that my b14 bonnet

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 29th, 2015, 10:16 am

Still use Penn Senators 5.0 and also a Penn Conflict II CFT 8000. Heading to Mankey's soon for a 80-120 lb two roller rod and some other stuff
Last edited by cornfused on April 29th, 2015, 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » April 29th, 2015, 10:33 am

Serious gears I will go by him next week

30hz

Postby 30hz » April 30th, 2015, 12:29 am

I'm heading out tomorrow, ddi, Bocas. What biting where?

Postby dougla_boy » April 30th, 2015, 7:44 am

any of yall ever did night fishing? any tips or anything like that? besides the sun, how much difference is it to regular in the day on the boat fishing?

asking cuz i am a noob eh

sinnaz25

Postby sinnaz25 » April 30th, 2015, 7:47 am

U can't c one thing out their in d night so a good headlight will b a must have

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 30th, 2015, 8:05 am

Most of the time boats hav generator and lights...I wud suggest ah gd jacket for the cold wind...

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 30th, 2015, 8:06 am

Nebody interested in ah charter sunday w nello? Just 2 men. $500 ah man. 6 to 6

Postby dougla_boy » April 30th, 2015, 8:17 am

thanks.. what about the fish? real chupid question eh....but any different kinda fish u will catch?

drop ho

Postby drop ho » April 30th, 2015, 8:34 am

Kings & tuna we keep fish...

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » April 30th, 2015, 12:49 pm

dougla_boy wrote:any of yall ever did night fishing? any tips or anything like that? besides the sun, how much difference is it to regular in the day on the boat fishing?

Jacket - the early hours of the morning are really cold

Raincoat- just in case, it not nice to get wet at 2:00 am, and by the way, a raincoat does not keep you warm, so don't use it for protection against the cold. Some of them bimini tops not waterproof so water drips straight through.

A good flashlight and lantern, unless is a motherboat with a generator you going on

Extra sandwiches or food, enough water, and a thermos of something hot

A good dry bag to store your gear

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » May 1st, 2015, 11:10 am

Hyperion wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:any of yall ever did night fishing? any tips or anything like that? besides the sun, how much difference is it to regular in the day on the boat fishing?

Jacket - the early hours of the morning are really cold

Raincoat- just in case, it not nice to get wet at 2:00 am, and by the way, a raincoat does not keep you warm, so don't use it for protection against the cold. Some of them bimini tops not waterproof so water drips straight through.

A good flashlight and lantern, unless is a motherboat with a generator you going on

Extra sandwiches or food, enough water, and a thermos of something hot

A good dry bag to store your gear

Forget sandwiches, they get all mushy, power bars and for hot drinks no coffee! tea and hot chocolate. We've gone night fishing from the kayaks already and it does get cold so long sleeves are a must. head lamps and water proof flash lights.

30hz

Postby 30hz » May 1st, 2015, 11:12 am

We caught about 5 small sharks just off macaripe yesterday. Then we anchored under one of those ships in the gulf and and started pulling catfish in a rage. 12-40 pounders, one every 5 minutes.

Plenty broken lines, my 40lb leaders were snapping like twigs. Lots of stingrays were caught and released.

Many got away, but everyone had a blast.

Really tested my gears, need some heavier equipment

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » May 1st, 2015, 12:00 pm

30hz wrote:We caught about 5 small sharks just off macaripe yesterday. Then we anchored under one of those ships in the gulf and and started pulling catfish in a rage. 12-40 pounders, one every 5 minutes.

Plenty broken lines, my 40lb leaders were snapping like twigs. Lots of stingrays were caught and released.

Many got away, but everyone had a blast.

Really tested my gears, need some heavier equipment

wire leader? mono or fluro?

30hz

Postby 30hz » May 1st, 2015, 12:34 pm

Started with yo-zuri pink 30lb fluorocarbon, was snapping off hand casters
Moved on to sleeved stainless steel 40lb test with snaps n swivels. Snaps were opening up.
Old fashioned 60lb mono line, finally pulled in a few.

Best hook in the world = mustard ultrapoint demon inline circle hooks 5/0
Takes everything from 1-40lbs, it doesn't miss, doesn't straighten, doesn't burst through (redfish- samaan)

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » May 1st, 2015, 12:43 pm

I like owners hooks, mostly cause they gave me a bunch for free.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 1st, 2015, 12:46 pm

I use mustad and owners hook for different applications but for me, I rather the owners more Bcuz of the weight and thickness for the strength...obviously the cost is more than the mustad demons but fishing aint ah cheap sport...

30hz

Postby 30hz » May 1st, 2015, 12:54 pm

Mustad has 2 types in the circle demon point series

extra fine & extra strong

I use extra fine for anything under 50lbs, I keep the extra strong in my kit but 7/0-9/0. Ain't get to use them yet.

I get all my stuff from Amazon

Postby meccalli » May 1st, 2015, 12:54 pm

The best circles I use are mustad duratins(39960/5), that's for big stuff though, the demons are brittle and rust way too fast for me. The owner nautilus style hooks are my favourite for everything else. Much more give, extremely sharp, small barbs that won't tear holes and really durable finish.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » May 1st, 2015, 1:01 pm

30hz wrote:Mustad has 2 types in the circle demon point series

extra fine & extra strong

I use extra fine for anything under 50lbs, I keep the extra strong in my kit but 7/0-9/0. Ain't get to use them yet.

I get all my stuff from Amazon

You should shop around, I find amazon not the best for fishing stuff, tho I do get a kayakers discount at certain shops abroad, also I find Mankees, Reel and tackle and the tackle shop have gear thats actually cheaper to buy here in some cases, rods, line, lures and hooks especially. Reels and dedicated stuff are only cheaper abroad during shows ( hence my penn squall, Mankees would be cheaper if it wasn't a demo day sale when my friends got it for me ).

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » May 1st, 2015, 6:21 pm

Postby meccalli » May 1st, 2015, 8:14 pm

Yeah, they're classified as vulnerable. China targets mantas and there's a lot of bycatch fatalities. Hooked up one near movietown in January that I had to breakoff in order save my braid. There's a couple of medium sized ones that roam that inshore area from hyatt to westmoorings.

30hz

Postby 30hz » May 1st, 2015, 9:24 pm

I swear I saw one that size just outside macaripe while going sau d' au. Not the brown sting ray, the spotted manta ray. Devil rays are huge was seeing him on both sides of the pirogue. At least a 12 foot wing span

Postby X_Factor » May 1st, 2015, 9:51 pm

we caught a couple already, but just cut the line closest to the hook and let them go, wont even bother injuring them for a hook

my cuz n them went out around scotland bay today, the got a decent catch made up of red fish, salmon, nice size grunts and a couple 4-5lb sharks

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » May 3rd, 2015, 11:39 am

Yea fellaz, my friend wit d longliner hav fish to sell...yellowfin tuna $15/lb...wahoo an marlin $14/lb...mahi is $16/lb...fish are 50+lbs....taking orders...