3ne2nr fishermen

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 14th, 2017, 1:06 pm

Mecalli, u know bout any sites selling like replacement handles for reels? Looking to get ah couple talica 25 handles...

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » February 14th, 2017, 2:44 pm

Originals or aftermarket tbars? You could get aftermarket handles on amazon.
https://www.amazon.com/Jigging-World-Ha ... lica+t+bar

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » February 14th, 2017, 6:32 pm

ryan99tt wrote:We fish the mahi on floating debri and some fads....

Cool, thanks

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 14th, 2017, 11:59 pm

Yea i checked amazon but i looking for something a little better thab those

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 15th, 2017, 7:46 am

meccalli wrote:Weedlines and fads all have one thing in common. They hold bait. Weedlines themselves aren't really a causation however, it's really the convergence of different bodies of water on the basis of nutrient content and temperature.

Hopefully will get to fish for carnival so doing some tuning up, fathom has gone through some grouper and pretty big rays so i've had it preset rather high. It's been a winch and so I wanted to check the integrity of the pinion bearing. Holding out just fine but I decided to pull the race shields and pack it with grease while I was at it since you have to take down the shift mechanism to remove the main gears that blocks the bearing recess in the sideplate.
ImageD71_6546 by meccalli, on Flickr

ImagePacked pinion bearing. by meccalli, on Flickr

Do you change the order of your drag washers to increase drag?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 15th, 2017, 8:21 am

Yea i checked amazon but i looking for something a little better thab those

Postby meccalli » February 15th, 2017, 2:10 pm

Hyperion wrote:Do you change the order of your drag washers to increase drag?

You can do that with a star drag, lever drags have one large drag washer. Cal Sheets who modifies penn internationals does a drag upgrade on those by changing the belleville washer config in the spool. Usually looks like (()) instead of ()()

Penn star drags like your fathom have the versa drag arrangement with the eared washers where you can change the order to adjust how gradual the star ramps up pressure.

ryan99tt wrote:Yea i checked amazon but i looking for something a little better thab those

That's from jigging master's store, other than that, you'll have to look at a custom kolekar grip or something from the guys on alantani's forum. Most of them have Ebay stores.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Handle-3-5-with ... zRQtp3kqqQ

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 15th, 2017, 2:56 pm

Anyone been on the east coast recently? hows the water and wind conditions? Only catching bachine these days in the gulf..

4.jpg
weekend
3.jpg
this week

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 15th, 2017, 5:06 pm

thanks mecc. I have the fathom spooled with some 60 lb daiwa samurai braid. Gonna give it a try tomorrow

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 15th, 2017, 6:54 pm

U hav ah topshot on that reel hyperion?

Postby meccalli » February 16th, 2017, 8:03 am

Yeah, you'll have a good time with that reel. Will easily do 35lbs of drag, probably one of the only 2 star drags on the market that can boast of that feat and a bonus 4.3:1 ratio. And yeah you should use at least a 20ft topshot. I like a knocker rig or a lead head jig so It's easy to cut and retie several times without worrying about leaders.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 17th, 2017, 5:35 pm

I use it for banking, so a short topshot of about 15 ft of 80 lb mono then i use 60 lb fluoro below the swivel.

The 4.3 ratio is powerful, but it's a lot more cranking than my spinning gear. Can't complain though, the reel is light and compact.

We caught some salmon a few hundred feet outside of Grand Fond Bay by Copperhole in Monos. The current was strong, I was holding twice as much as the other fellas on the boat who were using casters and regular mono. We held some reds too, not much though. Had to move about plenty, Gasparee, First Bocas, etc.

Ryan, I saw silva hook in the first boca heading back in at about 11 am yesterday morning, Thursday.

Postby meccalli » February 17th, 2017, 6:20 pm

Yeah, that's the real benefit of braid in strong current. You can actually fish on your spot and not 50 feet off it lol.

ryan99tt

3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » February 17th, 2017, 10:12 pm

Yea dat was us...now came from d rigs...where yall was?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 18th, 2017, 12:00 pm

We were in Calypso Marine 23 heading from Gasparee to the 1st, more on Monos side.

The signs looking good for fishing in the next few months DDI, plenty of bait in the water, we held a couple nice size bechin in between.

The north still rough?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 18th, 2017, 6:39 pm

North ent bad but offshore fishing ah little slow...the wahoo on ah hold rite now but mahi and tuna around d fads and rig...

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » February 22nd, 2017, 10:00 am

What price wud u pay for a mercury 125 used

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » February 22nd, 2017, 10:01 am

What price wud u pay for a mercury 125 used

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » February 23rd, 2017, 10:18 am

I don't have that much experience, but I see plenty Mercury give trouble. Let a mechanic give it a good look over before you spend your $$$.

Engines like Mercury, Evinrude and Johnson need plenty maintenance.

If you looking for a 2 stroke workhorse best you stick to Yamaha.

If you looking for a 4 stroke workhorse you could look at Honda, they expensive but they work.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 23rd, 2017, 12:00 pm

Hey fellas, just had a besss piece of curry fish. Was told that it was called Gail Backer in Guyana. It's a type of catfish I believe. Anyone knows of a local name for it? Any local names for Banga Mary as well?

Postby meccalli » February 23rd, 2017, 3:14 pm

http://www.iucnredlist.org/details/195074/0
Bangamary, Macrodon ancylodon

http://www.fishbase.org/summary/952
Gillbacker, Arius parkeri

Postby pugboy » February 23rd, 2017, 6:17 pm

never heard of local fishermen catching bangamary, dunno what type of sea conditions it lives in

guyanese certainly got some strange names for fish

bangamary is one of the best tasting fish for frying, better than flying fish imho
the skin also has a neutral taste and flesh is not stiff when fried

Postby meccalli » February 23rd, 2017, 7:22 pm

We would have more of it if the trawlers weren't wiping out entire schools of juveniles everyday. The species is very common in local bycatch. it's what they call rock salmon.

Postby Chimera » February 24th, 2017, 8:01 am

Steups by 6 am in the market Gillbacker done sell out lol.

Zorak

Postby Zorak » February 24th, 2017, 10:34 am

Thanks fellas!
What you all think bout dropping a fishpot around chaguaramas in the morning and collecting it back in the evening? Think I'll get anything worthwhile?

Postby meccalli » February 24th, 2017, 12:27 pm

Plenty grunts and young snappers or somebody might steal it. Whatever you do, make sure there's a panel that can rust out in the event that you lose it. When traps are lost, they're called ghost pots and fish die in them, other fish go in to feed on them and they die...and the cycle goes on. Pots are the reason why most of Jamaica's reefs are now bone fields.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2017, 12:22 pm

Water was nice for the past couple days...caught some mahi and a wahoo 60lbs...some guys held some wahoo in the morning as well...

Postby rspann » February 25th, 2017, 12:27 pm

I seeing a rough seas bulletin on the papers this morning .

Postby rollingstock » February 25th, 2017, 12:54 pm

^ hope not for tomorrow, going out on the Gulf in the morning.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 25th, 2017, 12:55 pm

From today the water shud be getting back rough...friday gonna be real big...gulf was a lil choppy innd afternoon yesterday...