3ne2nr fishermen

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby meccalli » December 14th, 2017, 9:14 am

I have an associates in bio and a bsc in enviro/nat res mgmt. So that's why I tend to have an idea about species and whatnot. I only graduated this past november lol. Start reading scientific journals, after a while you start speaking the language lol. It's also the best way to learn about fishing- diet, habitat, bathymetry, feeding behaviour, they're all documented, just takes a little digging.

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » December 15th, 2017, 6:02 pm

meccalli wrote:I have an associates in bio and a bsc in enviro/nat res mgmt. So that's why I tend to have an idea about species and whatnot. I only graduated this past november lol. Start reading scientific journals, after a while you start speaking the language lol. It's also the best way to learn about fishing- diet, habitat, bathymetry, feeding behaviour, they're all documented, just takes a little digging.

Always solid contributions bro ..... the more you understand your prey the more successful you'll be out there on the water
I've recently started documenting my catches (time, tides, moon phase, weather, season,wind direction, quantity and type of bait around, water clarity, etc etc) once a few of these conditions intersect a pattern develops and your chances of success increase dramatically
It's will never be an exact science but that uncertainty is what keeps us all going back for more.....tight lines guys!

proton17

Postby proton17 » December 16th, 2017, 8:37 pm

dougla_boy wrote:i swear you real bright

this is my thought every time i read something yuh type on d forum.... hommuch degree yuh have? 12 awa?

The man is a boss!! He is the "brains" in my fishing crew...

I does ask and check him before I even consider using google!

Postby pugboy » December 16th, 2017, 9:22 pm

have any guys discovered fish with ingested plastic in their guts locally ?

Postby meccalli » December 16th, 2017, 10:09 pm

I might have brains but proton has all the luck lol.
pugboy wrote:have any guys discovered fish with ingested plastic in their guts locally ?

This is something I always check, stomach contents, never came across it or rather identify it in the form in which fish consume it. However, while it may not be apparent on that basis of finding it, it seems studies have shown ingestion and actual assimilation is extremely commonplace in the form of microplastics. A study in brazil showed that of all species, kingfish and sharpnose sharks both display very high ingestion frequencies, both high demand species in Trinidad, and we all know how clean our waters are.

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/ar ... via%3Dihub
"Yes, we are eating plastic-ingesting fish. A baseline assessment of plastic pellet ingestion by two species of important edible fish caught along the eastern coast of Brazil is described. The rate of plastic ingestion by king mackerel (Scomberomorus cavalla) was quite high (62.5%), followed by the Brazilian sharpnose shark (Rhizoprionodon lalandii, 33%). From 2 to 6 plastic resin pellets were encountered in the stomachs of each fish, with sizes of from 1 to 5 mm, and with colors ranging from clear to white and yellowish. Ecological and health-related implications are discussed and the potential for transferring these materials through the food-chain are addressed. Further research will be needed of other species harvested for human consumption."

As for the effects on human health, we aren't entirely sure- more study needs be done in light of these new findings on plastic ingestion in fish.
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4314237/

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 16th, 2017, 10:34 pm

I usually check the pelagic species stomach content to see what they’re feeding on...found plastic bags, caps in mahi so far othe that the normal cutlass fish, turtlesand even smaller mahi...

Postby meccalli » December 16th, 2017, 10:39 pm

Yeah, mahi are notorious when it comes to leatherbacks and anything else that floats as you pointed out lol.

Postby dougla_boy » December 18th, 2017, 7:35 am

that mahi mahi voracious! wdmc!

anyways, meccalli always makes legit solid contributions.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » December 19th, 2017, 12:27 am

Hey guys, got a used penn fathom 40 single speed...loaded with 500yds of 65lb maxcuatro braid...dont really use it that often so i wanna let someone else make use...looking at $1300...

simplicity16

Postby simplicity16 » December 28th, 2017, 2:00 pm

Anyone went out in d gulf recently? How d weather?

proton17

Postby proton17 » December 28th, 2017, 7:44 pm

Weather was ok bout 5km behind gasparee till 230, rain, wind and choppy. This was Tuesday...

proton17

Postby proton17 » December 28th, 2017, 7:44 pm

Hold some cro cro and just one nice chairfoot..

Postby meccalli » January 8th, 2018, 5:16 pm

This is proton's cubera he pulled the other day down monos. :fadein:
ImageD71_7816 by meccalli, on Flickr
ImageD71_7828-Edit by meccalli, on Flickr

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 8th, 2018, 6:31 pm

Overnight trip?

Postby meccalli » January 8th, 2018, 7:23 pm

Yup, the bite was pretty early though.

jl6106

Postby jl6106 » January 8th, 2018, 7:26 pm

Forgive my ignorance, but what fish is a chairfoot?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 8th, 2018, 7:36 pm

meccalli wrote:This is proton's cubera he pulled the other day down monos. :fadein:
ImageD71_7816 by meccalli, on Flickr
ImageD71_7828-Edit by meccalli, on Flickr

nice one Proton!!

what was the weight?

bonito for bait?
Last edited by Hyperion on January 8th, 2018, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 8th, 2018, 7:36 pm

jl6106 wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but what fish is a chairfoot?

a big salmon

Postby meccalli » January 9th, 2018, 9:38 am

Hyperion wrote:bonito for bait?

Yeah he used a nice chunk of bonito, weighed 16 lbs.

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 12th, 2018, 2:46 pm

Guys could anyone help me with getting some lobster heads?

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » January 13th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Anybody has experience with Chantel hulls? any pros or cons or advantages over other builds like Bowen, Brown, etc?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 14th, 2018, 9:51 pm

Lobster heads guys, anyone?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 14th, 2018, 10:02 pm

Yea i cud check ah padna an see wat he cud do

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 16th, 2018, 8:21 pm

Yea man Ryan appreciate it. Let me know

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 16th, 2018, 8:38 pm

JayB27 wrote:Yea man Ryan appreciate it. Let me know

How much u looking for?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 16th, 2018, 8:57 pm

ryan99tt wrote:
JayB27 wrote:Yea man Ryan appreciate it. Let me know

How much u looking for?

About 10 for now.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » January 16th, 2018, 8:58 pm

Ok kool...tryin to organise it for u...u willing to collect it up chag side?

JayB27

Postby JayB27 » January 17th, 2018, 6:55 am

ryan99tt wrote:Ok kool...tryin to organise it for u...u willing to collect it up chag side?

Yea man thanks. That’s no problem jus gimme a heads up.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 28th, 2018, 12:17 pm

7424fe54-0667-4255-917f-743f583c5dd5.jpg

Postby SMc » January 28th, 2018, 12:29 pm

I hope they put it back before it deads- imagine how long it would take for a preditor like that to grow to that size