3ne2nr fishermen

JPOisBoss

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby JPOisBoss » September 27th, 2018, 3:42 pm

new to fishing here, where's the best spot to use these lures?

Postby meccalli » September 27th, 2018, 4:54 pm

JPOisBoss wrote:new to fishing here, where's the best spot to use these lures?

The first one is what you'd call a metal, it's compact and has some weight and is a good surf and shore lure for targeting things like cavalli and other jacks mainly, tarpon and snook will hit it as well but they are more likely to hit the second lure, a spoon bait. The tradeoff being the spoons don't cast as well and would be better suited to inshore and things like backwater lagoons, mangroves swamps inland etc. The metal is meant to be worked hard and fast( sweeps and jerks with the rod while retreiving), the spoon is meant to be retrieved slowly at a constant pace without much action from the angler. Both are search baits that can be fan casted to prospect areas for different species.

snsauto

Postby snsauto » September 28th, 2018, 12:03 am

Hey, recently moved back home. Where are some good surf fishing spots? bait or lures? also where is a good place to buy stuff? in need of a good cast net, any ideas on the price locally?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 9th, 2018, 6:01 pm

Apparently caught off Trinidad’s east coast

Postby *KRONIK* » November 9th, 2018, 6:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Apparently caught off Trinidad’s east coast

Wtttthhhhhhh

Postby meccalli » November 9th, 2018, 7:20 pm

Bullshark, and yeah they set plenty shark palang in south and east coast waters.

Postby pugboy » November 9th, 2018, 7:41 pm

How they does cook that ?
Hope they bleed it

Postby meccalli » November 9th, 2018, 8:51 pm

Trinis will eat each other if it was legal.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 9th, 2018, 9:40 pm

pugboy wrote:How they does cook that ?
Hope they bleed it
That looking like it done start to spoil

Postby meccalli » November 10th, 2018, 7:21 pm

Some news on Penn. How this move will affect the company and their products, only time will tell.
https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/ ... re-Fishing

proton17

Postby proton17 » January 2nd, 2019, 1:47 pm

Fish biting in manzan....anywhere after d breakaway once it hv chipchip....
It hv small mullet in d surf too so cavalli will be around too.

Postby SMc » January 2nd, 2019, 3:28 pm

dat blue fish looking tasty

Postby meccalli » January 2nd, 2019, 4:54 pm

S. floppus, tasty indeed.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 6th, 2019, 9:54 pm

What kind crab is this?
It eh cook yet, thats the natural colour

20190106_174721.jpeg

20190106_174510.jpeg

And since when lobsters does be green?
20190106_174526.jpeg

matix

Postby matix » January 6th, 2019, 10:38 pm

Looking like ornaments.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 7th, 2019, 7:04 am

Where @mecalli?

Postby SMc » January 7th, 2019, 7:29 am

For the lobster- Caribbean spiny lobsters are usually greenish (as far as I have seen at least), i think most people assume lobsters are always orange but only usually when cooked.

For the crab-some kinda coral crab (batwing?)

..yes you can eat both

Postby meccalli » January 7th, 2019, 8:15 am

Don't need me, smc is spot on lol. Batwing crab, look at the pattern on the back, and yeah spiny lobsters come in a lot of natural hues that blend with the bottom.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 7th, 2019, 9:18 am

SMc wrote:For the lobster- Caribbean spiny lobsters are usually greenish (as far as I have seen at least), i think most people assume lobsters are always orange but only usually when cooked.

..yes you can eat both
Ohhhh ok

Thanks

I never seen the crab before
Its a marine crab? Or does it come out the water occassionally?

How is the crab best prepared?
I only get 1

I never got green lobsters
Always got the brown and cream ones

Postby *KRONIK* » January 7th, 2019, 9:18 am

meccalli wrote:Don't need me, smc is spot on lol. Batwing crab, look at the pattern on the back, and yeah spiny lobsters come in a lot of natural hues that blend with the bottom.
Well i know you is the genus/species man...so i had to call you out

Postby meccalli » January 7th, 2019, 9:40 am

https://sta.uwi.edu/fst/lifesciences/si ... 20Crab.pdf
Yeah it's a marine species. You can prepare it just as you would any other. If you want to get fancy, you can look up dungeness preparations.

Postby SMc » January 7th, 2019, 10:07 am

Was going to say the same- them saltwater crabs dont take well to curry etc. I would boil whole then pick the meat/dress and use it in salad, soup (goes well with cream of pumpkin) or in a pasta dish, but thats just me.

reference the lobster- on second thought it shouldn't be green so its probably not safe to consume, if you want give it to me and I can dispose of it safely
Last edited by SMc on January 7th, 2019, 12:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 7th, 2019, 12:00 pm

Will do that with the crab

And leave mih lobster in mih fridge
I have some butter and old bay for that

SMc wrote:Was going to say the same- them saltwater crabs dont take well to curry etc. I would boil whole then pick the meat/dress and use it in salad or pasta dish, but thats just me.

reference the lobster- on second thought it shouldn't be green so its probably not safe to consume, if you want give it to me and I can dispose of it safely

1800GSRLANCER

Postby 1800GSRLANCER » January 7th, 2019, 8:36 pm

Fishing on the shore using a bottom rig and caster, been out past couple nights on the manzanilla/mayaro side even up salybia/rampanalagas but only catching bait fish using squid and salmon.. looking for some good action any ideas of spots to hit?

Postby meccalli » January 7th, 2019, 9:31 pm

Use shrimp and sandfleas in manzan, refer to the post from proton earlier on this page. Tawat, pompano, whiting and probably a cavalli if you catch some mullet with a cast net.

Postby Gladiator » January 7th, 2019, 10:36 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
SMc wrote:For the lobster- Caribbean spiny lobsters are usually greenish (as far as I have seen at least), i think most people assume lobsters are always orange but only usually when cooked.

..yes you can eat both
Ohhhh ok

Thanks

I only get 1

One crab ...nah.... I know things hard but one crab bro!

Throw it in a callaloo.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 8th, 2019, 7:39 am

Gladiator wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

..yes you can eat both
Ohhhh ok

Thanks

I only get 1

One crab ...nah.... I know things hard but one crab bro!

Throw it in a callaloo.
I eh buy it hoss

I did a lil favour for a guy he bless me 1 crab, 1 lobster, and some fish

Postby nervewrecker » January 10th, 2019, 8:19 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Apparently caught off Trinidad’s east coast

Saw a big ass hammerhead down that side. Longer than a van tray

leelad

Postby leelad » January 12th, 2019, 6:26 am

What you all using inshore, lures or bait.
What seems to be more effective?

proton17

Postby proton17 » January 15th, 2019, 7:13 am

Depends...for cavalli, snook and tarpon u can try lures if they are around in the spot u wanna fish but other than that like for manzan or other becah for surf fishing...bait..shrimp herring.