Postby davidworld2k6 » May 4th, 2012, 7:44 am

i think i will go down anchorage or salt factory or something
anyone ever used this website to fish i have been using it an it works for me
www.fishingreminder.com

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby Razkal » May 4th, 2012, 8:16 am

might try something in the 2nd saturday..giving the north a rest til i start seeing nice sized live bait...

might also try the bell buoy just outside chac for some snapper

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 4th, 2012, 1:54 pm

lewwe know how it goes...finally got ah new camera for my birthday and i shud be taking underwater videos with it so i will get all d shots wen i fishing...

Postby Razkal » May 6th, 2012, 12:19 pm

^never made it yesterday ryan :|

got sidetracked by weekend stuff and didn't bother..was gonna attempt this morning, but didn't get up early enough :lol:

next weekend for sure, and the 19th & 20th there WILL be fishing!

lotsa carite biting around Chaguaramas area, centipede island especially...tonnes of live bait available too...it literally cyah done lol. fed up deal with carite though, i want nice sized grouper or snapper :)

Postby Razkal » May 6th, 2012, 12:27 pm

oh wrt camera gear, i got an olympus tg-610 tough-something...cost around $130us with extra battery and 8gig mem card..very nicde camera for our kinda activity, shock proof from a 15ft drop, waterproof to 16ft without a case...14mp and nice selection of auto modes and one button recording for quick captures....only gripe i have is that the camera is slow in scrolling through the menus/functions/mode select...needs to be on or you'll miss the tarpon jump, the rod bend and all the cool action shots you want! lol

wouldn't mind upgrading this summer to something with similar features but newer and maybe faster operating...what you looking at ryan?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 6th, 2012, 3:07 pm

my camera i used for most of my pics and vids was a sony cybershot t900 but i upgrading to a more outdoor/underwater camera so i will get better shots...lol

what one of my friend caught on his 13th birthday...weighed in at 97lbs...ah logg...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 8th, 2012, 1:32 pm

bump????

proton17

Postby proton17 » May 10th, 2012, 9:53 am

I went out sunday to do some banking, fish start to bite like crazy the 2 hrs before the full tide but we had to leave to come back inside. Real big cro cro and salmon to 2 pounds, some small sharks and like we hit a catfish bank :D Real catfish too, but they went down good with some hops bread.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 10th, 2012, 10:25 am

ryan99tt wrote:my camera i used for most of my pics and vids was a sony cybershot t900 but i upgrading to a more outdoor/underwater camera so i will get better shots...lol

what one of my friend caught on his 13th birthday...weighed in at 97lbs...ah logg...

:shock: :shock:

Dat is an awesome catch..... WOW!!!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 10th, 2012, 3:17 pm

^^^missed the record by ah few lbs...my fishing season starting just now...one more exam to go....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 12th, 2012, 7:30 pm

well what is the plan for the weekend? exams finish and i already order new gears...from camera to lures and reels...lol

wraith

Postby wraith » May 14th, 2012, 10:08 am

ryan99tt wrote:my camera i used for most of my pics and vids was a sony cybershot t900 but i upgrading to a more outdoor/underwater camera so i will get better shots...lol

What type of gear and lure was used to catch it?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 14th, 2012, 10:16 pm

usual...shimano gears and normal ballyhoo rigs...i hear carite holding in d gulf, anyone cud confirm? want to know where to make my next trip...

Postby Razkal » May 14th, 2012, 10:47 pm

Razkal wrote:^never made it yesterday ryan :|

got sidetracked by weekend stuff and didn't bother..was gonna attempt this morning, but didn't get up early enough :lol:

next weekend for sure, and the 19th & 20th there WILL be fishing!

lotsa carite biting around Chaguaramas area, centipede island especially...tonnes of live bait available too...it literally cyah done lol. fed up deal with carite though, i want nice sized grouper or snapper :)

got plenty carite play around Crondstat, Carrera and Nelson too...the schools keep moving (but stay close to the five islands area), so unless you have a fish finder to track them easier. what i did was fish the spots i know they hang at until i get a bite and keep them around with fresh raw chicken liver in the bait well.
the chicken liver kept the live bait fed, energized and living vigorously all day in addition to keeping the carite just down current from the stern

reeLpACE

Postby reeLpACE » May 15th, 2012, 6:55 am

^ anybody else notice the shinny sandals in the wahoo pic? lmao hadda get me a pair of those bad boys

btw can confirm carite biting in the gulf around 5 and also in the savannah........

Postby wagonrunner » May 15th, 2012, 4:25 pm

not my catch. but some of what was up toco over the weekend.
Salmon and shark.

ImageImage

supermanhhh

Postby supermanhhh » May 15th, 2012, 6:13 pm

Some god fishing spots in south:
LOS IROS
ERIN
SOUTH CHATAM ROAD
NORTH CHATAM ROAD
CHATAM (BEHIND THE YOUTH CAMP)

Just to name a few!

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » May 16th, 2012, 2:30 am

Where in los Iros is good ? lighthouse structure?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 16th, 2012, 10:38 pm

nah, yuh have to take d left road befor the lighthouse head down there and go to the next rock pile futher up the beach...i hear ppl say dey does hold some big groupers there but i was never that lucky or tried much either...it hav ah place on the right too but is further up the beach...yuh have to take the right until yuh reach sum gardens an park up d hill and walk down to d beach...dey gd too...i only tried there once....

wraith

Postby wraith » May 17th, 2012, 9:35 am

Does anyone have any idea how to get the location of some of the deep drilling oil rigs that are between Trinidad and Grenada.

Many persons have great luck fishing around oil rigs and am willing to travel to fish off one but need to know the closest one to Grenada.

Where can i find this type of info. and are we allowed to fish around them?

Postby 16 cycles » May 17th, 2012, 9:47 am

fishing under an oil rig / platform could be dangerous for you and the ppl operating them

any release of hydrocarbons + ignition source nearby = fried fish + humans

Postby Razkal » May 17th, 2012, 10:36 am

^usually rigs are in deep water, you basically would never be able to fish directly under the platform, as your bait will end up way past the targeted location...currents are a beyotch.

find the current direction, start far up current, slowly drifting into the platform..mark where you started and keep looping back to there...never actually reaching within 20-30' from the platform...
the big ones, chill around the platform (different species at different depths) waiting for easy meals to drift by in the stronger currents...

wraith, i googled any info on grenadian offshore platform locations and got nothing useful :|

Postby Razkal » May 17th, 2012, 10:39 am

www.rigzone.com

closest i got to finding a rig nearby...that site does nothing for the fisherman though :lol:

wraith

Postby wraith » May 17th, 2012, 10:53 am

16 cycles am not going to be directly under it, but I would like to get close enough to be able to get to the big guys that are below it.

Razkal that is exactly what I would like to do but we don't have any in our waters but I do know you see them from the plane so I don't mind traveling 1/2 day to get to it.

There are many video's out there where guys fish below the rigs without a problem.

eg.
[vimeo]http://vimeo.com/41898109[/vimeo]

Patman

Postby Patman » May 17th, 2012, 11:00 am

my stepmom's brother caught this
72907_443557742326826_100000178114106_2004016_1256975194_n.jpg

Postby meccalli » May 17th, 2012, 11:12 pm

That's a big tarp.

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » May 18th, 2012, 1:18 am

16 cycles wrote:fishing under an oil rig / platform could be dangerous for you and the ppl operating them

Just to add on "16 cycles" comment

If you are within the 500m for a Rig or Platofrom some operators in Trinidad will request that you leave the location because of Safety and Security concerns. One of the "Operator's vessel" will be with you until you depart.

Smeed

Postby Smeed » May 18th, 2012, 1:30 am

francis1979 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:fishing under an oil rig / platform could be dangerous for you and the ppl operating them

Just to add on "16 cycles" comment

If you are within the 500m for a Rig or Platofrom some operators in Trinidad will request that you leave the location because of Safety and Security concerns. One of the "Operator's vessel" will be with you until you depart.

seen this many times- supply boats chasing off pirogues.... on the flipside, also saw guys with pirogues tied off to platforms fishing... some guys on the rig managed to trade some food and drinks for a coupla large barracuda and snappers.