Hard luck there hosyy,
You post that dougla boy
It must be youuu
it must be youuuu

HSA

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby HSA » July 5th, 2017, 8:42 am

went out yesterday in the grand...sea was like glass until about 3pm...hold alot of salmon, cro cro, reds, cutlass, and a few ancho...

Postby dougla_boy » July 5th, 2017, 11:01 am

nice! pics of fish?

Postby dougla_boy » July 5th, 2017, 11:04 pm

Thoughts on this reel? Looking for something small and simple as a beginner bait caster reel.... for just banking and holding small fish, bout 5 - 10 lbs max

Piscifun Mate 7.1:1 Baitcasting Reels 11+1 BB Low Profile Baitcast Reel Baitcaster 11Lbs Power Disk Drag Right Hand Fishing Reels Baitcasting https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M29W6WM/re ... uzbVRS0ENQ

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 8th, 2017, 9:15 am

New page, 6 posts and not 1 fish picture or video? Fella's we can do better...

Recent Double Header, Tight lines guys!

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 8th, 2017, 10:12 am

Went fishing yeaterday for some kings...got 5 between 11-15lbs...no monsters but we got out late as well...

Postby meccalli » July 8th, 2017, 12:50 pm

dougla_boy wrote:Thoughts on this reel? Looking for something small and simple as a beginner bait caster reel.... for just banking and holding small fish, bout 5 - 10 lbs max

Piscifun Mate 7.1:1 Baitcasting Reels 11+1 BB Low Profile Baitcast Reel Baitcaster 11Lbs Power Disk Drag Right Hand Fishing Reels Baitcasting https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M29W6WM/re ... uzbVRS0ENQ

Been hearing good things about piscifun in all their products from reels to braid. It'll be fine for even bigger fish as long as you have the line capacity. For banking it should be fine as long as you don't have to use heavy sinkers considering baitcasters like that have very high gear ratios and low torque. There are really nice baitcasters designed for that sort of abuse like the okuma komodo ss, but they're much more expensive.

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2017, 1:17 pm

Ahhhh... Ok cool! Go let yall know how that goes! Gonna order it today or tomorrow and head out a week after

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2017, 1:39 pm

If u wanna use something of the sprt for banking, u cud get a talica 16...makes the work alot easier...thats what i use for normal banking and if im going deep i use my talica 25...

Postby meccalli » July 9th, 2017, 1:48 pm

Talica is not a baitcaster though, and costs alot more than 20US lol. Recently I got myself a new conventional for that matter, Penn US senator and I installed a custom bridge made by a gunsmith from alantani's forum with all stainless components, 416 ss one piece stem and ratchet with hardened 17-4 stainless dogs.
The original uses brass, the stainless post allows you to really crank down the star without deforming the threads.
ImageD71_6975-Edit by meccalli, on Flickr

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2017, 1:50 pm

Talicas can be used for baitcasting even though it is a pitch reel...i think its not as durable as alot of reels but is a very versatile reel...

Postby meccalli » July 9th, 2017, 1:57 pm

It's a conventional which yes you can pitch baits but by definition has no levelwind, cast controls nor centrifugal or magnetic brakes in the case of what's called a baitcaster.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2017, 2:07 pm

I know what are baitcasting reels, i have a couple but i said u can use it as a baitcaster...talicas are what are mostly used to pitch baits to pelagic species...what we use in tournament for marlin, sailfish, etc.

Postby meccalli » July 9th, 2017, 2:19 pm

Yeah definitely, but even a naked ballyhoo without a jet head or a hoochie skirt still has decent weight to be pitched, and the talica being a lever drag has a heavy spool with all the components inside of it. Baitcasters have extremely light spools which can get moving with less than 1/8 oz on the end of the rod. If you try that with a talica, it doesn't go anywhere lol as it isn't designed for casting.
But yeah, long term investment, a conventional is abetter buy than a baitcaster if you plan on banking with heavy tackle.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 9th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Thats the truth...

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2017, 10:14 pm

Thanks for the opinions on the reels.... And appreciate the opinions....as much as I want a better reel, I just would like to know how to use one with out doing some damage to my pocket.... after however, I would definitely upgrade... And would seek y'all advice... Will post pics of the fish I catch with the new reel....

Postby meccalli » July 10th, 2017, 7:48 am

dougla_boy wrote:Thanks for the opinions on the reels.... And appreciate the opinions....as much as I want a better reel, I just would like to know how to use one with out doing some damage to my pocket.... after however, I would definitely upgrade... And would seek y'all advice... Will post pics of the fish I catch with the new reel....

When you get it, spool up with 20lb braid and use about 10-15ft of 25lb mono joined with a uni-uni. If you're going in the gulf, use a 1/2 to 1oz sinker and a #1 to 2/0 bronze mustad or a small jighead- cast out from the stern and let it sink and settle, when the current lifts it hold it there for a while and then freespool some more to drop it back to work the area and the water column slowly. You usually avoid the rays and eels and pick up much better fish without hugging that open mud bottom in the gulf.
If you feel confident with the baitcaster, don't be afraid to pull the trigger on one built for the task, low profile baitcasters are really the future of finesse fishing due to the physics of a large main gear that surpasses the spool diameter which allows a high gear ratio to have a high degree of rotational torque and they candle more fish you probably could lol.
The world record broomtail grouper was caught on okuma's komodo and gong lei exclusively fishes them for papuan black bass, estuary cod and yellowcheek.

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 11th, 2017, 9:04 am

How d banking scene right now fellas?

Postby pugboy » July 11th, 2017, 4:13 pm

Last vid there look just like blue river
Anybody here do this type of fishing there ?

Postby meccalli » July 11th, 2017, 4:52 pm

Now and then for snook and small tarpon in the cunupia river, not with topwaters though. You loose a lot of anything with trebles in mangrove roots lol. I like a weedless plastic or small jig. There's a lot of guys who fish for juvenile cubera in blue river though, with bait.

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » July 11th, 2017, 7:18 pm

proton17 wrote:How d banking scene right now fellas?

Proton what's up. I made a tide on Saturday, we held some grouper and reds.

Apparently the net men killing kingfish up North these days. We flagged down a Sea Lots net boat for bait, they offloaded some giant herring as well as 2 kingfish on us. They held 600 lbs.

Went for bait in Town market, kingfish right now is $12 a lb., the only reason i didn't buy was because it was net fish, they get soft fast.

proton17

Postby proton17 » July 11th, 2017, 9:39 pm

U hold man, dats gd Hyperion. Yea wanna go sometime soon to a la vive for carite and kings, apparently dey giving up themselves on the north....lol

Postby dougla_boy » July 11th, 2017, 10:22 pm

Hyperion wrote:
proton17 wrote:How d banking scene right now fellas?

Proton what's up. I made a tide on Saturday, we held some grouper and reds.

Apparently the net men killing kingfish up North these days. We flagged down a Sea Lots net boat for bait, they offloaded some giant herring as well as 2 kingfish on us. They held 600 lbs.

Went for bait in Town market, kingfish right now is $12 a lb., the only reason i didn't buy was because it was net fish, they get soft fast.

Town market had King fish for 12 a lb? From wah I hear that's down Mayaro side.... I went market and kings is 19.99 a lb....

Postby dougla_boy » July 13th, 2017, 9:23 am

MONO CAPACITY YD/LB
375/12 320/15 215/20
BRAID CAPACITY YD/LB
580/20 435/30 305/50
BEARING COUNT
MAX DRAG LB
15lb | 6.8kg
GEAR RATIO
5.1:1
RETRIEVE RATE
29" | 74cm
WEIGHT
REEL SIZE
REEL HANDLE POSITION
Right
BRAKING SYSTEM
Mechanical
DRAG TYPE
Star Drag
DRAG MATERIAL
HT-100COLORBlack/Silver
ANTI-REVERSE FEATURE
Multi-Stop

Lightweight graphite frame and sideplates
Auto-engaging gears
Marine-grade bronze alloy main gear
Machine cut brass pinion gear
HT-100™ carbon fiber drag washers
2 shielded stainless steel ball bearings
Line Capacity Rings

The PENN Rival was engineered to be an extremely versatile all-around reel at an affordable price. Features a lightweight graphite frame and sideplates with aluminum frame rings for improved rigidity to prevent frame-flex. HT-100 drag washers provide smooth drag under heavy loads. Line Capacity Rings eliminate the question of how much line you have left when fighting a fish.

thoughts on this?

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 13th, 2017, 10:04 am

dougla_boy wrote:Image

MONO CAPACITY YD/LB
375/12 320/15 215/20
BRAID CAPACITY YD/LB
580/20 435/30 305/50
BEARING COUNT
MAX DRAG LB
15lb | 6.8kg
GEAR RATIO
5.1:1
RETRIEVE RATE
29" | 74cm
WEIGHT
REEL SIZE
REEL HANDLE POSITION
Right
BRAKING SYSTEM
Mechanical
DRAG TYPE
Star Drag
DRAG MATERIAL
HT-100COLORBlack/Silver
ANTI-REVERSE FEATURE
Multi-Stop

Lightweight graphite frame and sideplates
Auto-engaging gears
Marine-grade bronze alloy main gear
Machine cut brass pinion gear
HT-100™ carbon fiber drag washers
2 shielded stainless steel ball bearings
Line Capacity Rings

The PENN Rival was engineered to be an extremely versatile all-around reel at an affordable price. Features a lightweight graphite frame and sideplates with aluminum frame rings for improved rigidity to prevent frame-flex. HT-100 drag washers provide smooth drag under heavy loads. Line Capacity Rings eliminate the question of how much line you have left when fighting a fish.

thoughts on this?

What kina fish u hoping to hold with that reel DB?

Postby dougla_boy » July 13th, 2017, 10:48 am

2 pong cro cro and some 3 pong salmon.....meem no big fisherman....LOLOL....i does mostly do banking....for them kinda size fish.....biggest i hold thus far was ah ancho bout 4lb or so......

Miktay

Postby Miktay » July 13th, 2017, 11:59 am

dougla_boy wrote:2 pong cro cro and some 3 pong salmon.....meem no big fisherman....LOLOL....i does mostly do banking....for them kinda size fish.....biggest i hold thus far was ah ancho bout 4lb or so......

Sounding good for that. And if u decide to target bigger faster fish thiz will help to prevent damage...

Features a lightweight graphite frame and sideplates with aluminum frame rings for improved rigidity to prevent frame-flex.

Postby meccalli » July 13th, 2017, 12:22 pm

The penn jigmaster is around that same price and it's a much stronger and robust reel with a lower gear ratio than the rival/warfare. Drunken uses one in his kayak videos. It's very low maintenance and hard to break, it's a starter reel for shark fishing so don't let the looks fool you.