Having a macaw as a pet

d spike

Postby d spike » September 3rd, 2009, 12:41 pm

"you fail @ quoting" Sorry, ChristianRD, I thought once you used quotation marks in front and behind the quote, that was acceptable... if you are refering to the QUOTE button thingy on the screen, well I can't agree with you more. Need lessons in what and how to press, as the bishop said to the actress. Until I can install a dizzy and carbs on this PC thing, I have no idea how all the wossnames work.

"Anyways.. Trinidad eh have no "pet shop bred" parrots, all dem forking birds were taken from the wild.. " Sorry to hear this. I know of wild-caught birds and smuggled ones, but I always assumed they were a minority. As far as macaws go, aren't they imported along with foreign exotics? Aren't our two local macaws of such low numbers to inhibit commercial trapping? (well, at least up until recently when some blue n golds were released)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 3rd, 2009, 5:33 pm

SUPAstarr,

I take great care of my birds, they are like my kids. Greys are very smart. Actually my grey doh sheit in he cage, he does only sheit when I tell him to "do poo poo" :lol:
They know when they're doing something wrong and they're probably smarter than a 3yo kid :lol:

d spike,

Boy pet shops don't legally import birds into Trinidad, they does get them from the wild. A blue & gold Macaw from a breeder here in the States is around $1200-1700, so yuh see why pet shops choose to get it from the wild. Even if Pantin's were selling local bred birds, I'm sure their prices would be a bit more than let's say Ali's pet shop.
Why? It's because Pantin's had to raise this bird for a few months on baby formula, plus deal with dead lost and all the other negatives than comes with being a breeder. The pet shop man getting he birds from the smuggler for next to nothing and they done grown. He just have to feed it some sheit food and try to palm it off on one ah allyuh.

The bottom line is the breeder might be a bit more expensive, but you are almost guranteed a healthy bird that will bring your family years of enjoyment. Speaking of family. I hope you fellas know that bird's carry diseases, which mean's by buying a smuggled bird yuh could be putting your family at risk of getting some sort of avian disease which can lead to death in some cases.

jsr,

Exotic yuh say?? Boy a Corbeau is considered an exotic pet by international standards :lol: If you looking for a special breed than can only be found in Trinidad, then yuh could mine a few beethamites in a big cage :lol:

Postby pugboy » September 3rd, 2009, 7:16 pm

there's a lady on chancellor hill who has a pet cobo, it is tame but free to come and go

Dragist

Postby Dragist » September 3rd, 2009, 8:03 pm

^^^ Yup Grommit is a cool Corbeau .

d spike

Postby d spike » September 3rd, 2009, 9:42 pm

Thanks RoTaRyBoYz, naive of me, I guess.
That point you made about smuggled birds and diseases is often sneered at when I raise it with owners of such birds. I can only assume that as they figure they haven't died or fallen ill, then nothing is wrong! Our strict quarantine laws have kept us more safe than most people realise. All we need is one fool and one sick bird to put us in a whole world of crap.
The african grey is referred to as the most intelligent parrot. Some owners claim their greys can discern quite a few words and their meanings!

d spike

Postby d spike » September 3rd, 2009, 9:48 pm

That Chancellor Hill lady caused quite a stir when she visited a bank, as the corbeau trailed her car and came into the bank looking for her. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Got this story from one of her neighbours.

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 9:53 pm

what does she feed it?

Postby buzz » September 3rd, 2009, 9:56 pm

stale fish?

Postby pugboy » September 3rd, 2009, 10:34 pm

chicken gizzard and that kind of thing
she said it has followed her in the air on jouvert and carnival

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 10:36 pm

wow
I would love to have one of those for a pet (the corbeau)

d spike

Postby d spike » September 3rd, 2009, 10:45 pm

Shoot the dog. Don't bury it. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 3rd, 2009, 11:06 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » September 3rd, 2009, 11:09 pm

pugboy wrote:chicken gizzard and that kind of thing
she said it has followed her in the air on jouvert and carnival

she has some amazing artpieces :)

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 4th, 2009, 12:46 am

eurogirl yuh never answer my question.. family or friend?

It just goes to show how amazing animals are... An animal that was made to be a scavenger, feeding off dead, rotten flesh still has somewhat of a soft side. All it needed was a little love and attention and it will return the favor. Men this makes me what to get a corbeau now :lol:

I don't understand how some people could be cruel to animals nah.. Boy I remember seeing big men pelting stone at them dog when they stuck together (mating) :shock:
I hope none ah allyuh guilty of doing sheit like this :lol:

Grommet is a "must see" on my next trip

Just a few months ago a Guyanese fella got caught in JFK airport tring to smuggle 20 finches into NY. They does have big bird shy competition in Queens, so it look like he wanted to get a lil extra ammo :lol:

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » September 4th, 2009, 10:19 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:eurogirl yuh never answer my question.. family or friend?

It just goes to show how amazing animals are... An animal that was made to be a scavenger, feeding off dead, rotten flesh still has somewhat of a soft side. All it needed was a little love and attention and it will return the favor. Men this makes me what to get a corbeau now :lol:

I don't understand how some people could be cruel to animals nah.. Boy I remember seeing big men pelting stone at them dog when they stuck together (mating) :shock:
I hope none ah allyuh guilty of doing sheit like this :lol:

Grommet is a "must see" on my next trip

Just a few months ago a Guyanese fella got caught in JFK airport tring to smuggle 20 finches into NY. They does have big bird shy competition in Queens, so it look like he wanted to get a lil extra ammo :lol:

niether , I had to go to a meeting by de man house and i had to walk under the parrot cages ..

jsr

Postby jsr » September 5th, 2009, 5:21 pm

an oppostion minister once said to the government

you must never mind cobeaux as pets one day they will "jook" out your eye

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » September 5th, 2009, 5:35 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:We planning on coming to Trinidad soon to start a parrot raid... I take parrot cruelty very serious, Yuh think is joke!

If u really serious bout that, they have a house up in champs fleur with two macaws a golden and a red i believe. Both being held in a cage barely big enough to fit a dog

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » September 5th, 2009, 8:56 pm

^ PM me with an address & i'll pass on the info.. Pics will be a plus when handing over the info to the warden. Thanks

lexx

Postby lexx » January 4th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Hey, i'm a bird lover and always wanted to get a white cockatoo... Are there any breaders here in trini???

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 4th, 2010, 12:48 pm

lexx wrote:Hey, i'm a bird lover and always wanted to get a white cockatoo... Are there any breaders here in trini???

Did you read anything in this Thread , leave the birds where they belong in the Wild .

lexx

Postby lexx » January 4th, 2010, 1:33 pm

^^^ I never said anything about taking a cockatoo from the Wild... I know that people bread them in captivity for the purpose of sale... I don't think they would be able to survive in the wild... all i want to do it give one a nice home...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 4th, 2010, 1:48 pm

lexx wrote:Hey, i'm a bird lover and always wanted to get a white cockatoo... Are there any breaders here in trini???

No...But if yuh looking for a cnutortwo, yuh could get almost amywhere these days.

Postby SUPAstarr » January 4th, 2010, 1:50 pm

ahhhh boi dragist...PWNED by a noob...very rare

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 4th, 2010, 1:50 pm

Read the whole thread , most "Breeders" are using Illegally caught wild birds and some take the older birds and kill the young it's these practices that we are trying to prevent .

ci crew

Re: Having a macaw as a pet

Postby ci crew » January 4th, 2010, 11:52 pm

jsr wrote:Is there a legal way to have a macaw as a pet?

permits etc?

whats the process?

if u interested, 9 available, $5000.00 each

Postby Rooki3 » January 5th, 2010, 12:46 am

ci crew wrote:

permits etc?

whats the process?

Dragist

Postby Dragist » January 5th, 2010, 10:33 am

ci crew wrote:

permits etc?

whats the process?

Where did these Birds come from ?

jsr

Postby jsr » January 5th, 2010, 11:23 am

i dont,t want to get myself in trouble with the law you know

siddiqqa11

Postby siddiqqa11 » January 28th, 2010, 12:48 pm

Postby SUPAstarr » January 28th, 2010, 1:01 pm

an then ppl wonder why there is an illegal trade 5gs??