San Fernando 1956-1986 =]

marcus8860

Re: San Fernando 1956-1986 =]

Postby marcus8860 » January 27th, 2011, 12:46 pm

i remember fighting on the promenade after school :mrgreen: .... and is fast lickup cause yuh dont want any teachers to see yuh !!! :lol:

kironde

Postby kironde » January 27th, 2011, 9:04 pm

I love this topic of looking at where we were and comparing it to what we have now. I no longer reside in the south and i am not proud to say that i dont visit very much, the last time i saw San Fernando was 2 years ago but i am always proud to be from south especially when i hear people in town asking where so and so place is like Los Iros, Rancho Quemado and others. The joke that town people dont know anything pass the lighthouse is no joke at all, although i think they actually know as far as Grand Bazaar now, anything else is BUSH. I feel sorry for them as they will never experience swimming in the wharf (yes i did).

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » April 18th, 2011, 10:15 am

swimming on the wharf wasnt bad in earlier years as my pops would say, but now its dangerous because of all the trawlers and dumping going on.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » January 3rd, 2012, 1:55 pm

I think this thread deserves a bump

marcus8860

Postby marcus8860 » January 3rd, 2012, 2:04 pm

bump it up =] .... and a happy happy new year to all =]

TrinidadEditing

Postby TrinidadEditing » May 27th, 2017, 9:14 am

Does anyone happen to have pics of the old Gulf City Mall, before the renovations? Before 2005 I think

Postby K74T » May 27th, 2017, 10:03 am

Would be nice to see those, to bring back some memories.

Oldest online are 2007.

TrinidadEditing

Postby TrinidadEditing » May 27th, 2017, 10:12 am

K74T wrote:Would be nice to see those, to bring back some memories.

Oldest online are 2007.

Oh wow thanks for those! I've been searching online but can't seem to find much. Nice memories

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 28th, 2017, 12:14 am

Wow

Used to look forward going Gulf approaching Christmas time when I was small...that's how I remember it looking...haven't been to it since it got renovated :cry:

TrinidadEditing

Postby TrinidadEditing » May 28th, 2017, 4:33 pm

Ronaldo95163 wrote:Wow

Used to look forward going Gulf approaching Christmas time when I was small...that's how I remember it looking...haven't been to it since it got renovated :cry:

They completely changed the style of the mall. Guess it was necessary to keep up with the other malls in Trinidad

Average

Postby Average » May 28th, 2017, 7:50 pm

TrinidadEditing wrote:

They completely changed the style of the mall. Guess it was necessary to keep up with the other malls in Trinidad

I know I might get some criticism for this but I think how they modernised it all for the sake of bringing in more shoppers literally killed it.
Yeah yeah, I know I sounding nostalgic but the truth is I used to be in there since a child eventually becoming a mall rat lol I actually worked there for a little while.
It had a family vibe for me and now it's just "come and spend". I don't know, something about them red tiles and green bars :mrgreen:
Smoking section in the food court, Gallery, Celebs and Hi-RPM...good ole days

TrinidadEditing

Postby TrinidadEditing » May 28th, 2017, 7:56 pm

Average wrote:
TrinidadEditing wrote:

I know I might get some criticism for this but I think how they modernised it all for the sake of bringing in more shoppers literally killed it.
Yeah yeah, I know I sounding nostalgic but the truth is I used to be in there since a child eventually becoming a mall rat lol I actually worked there for a little while.
It had a family vibe for me and now it's just "come and spend". I don't know, something about them red tiles and green bars :mrgreen:

I agree 100%. The new look just feels impersonal. I spent most of my teenage years liming in the mall and get nostalgic vibes there too. Gulf was the place to be back then

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » May 29th, 2017, 12:17 pm

TrinidadEditing wrote:
Average wrote:
TrinidadEditing wrote:

I agree 100%. The new look just feels impersonal. I spent most of my teenage years liming in the mall and get nostalgic vibes there too. Gulf was the place to be back then

Wayyyy boy allyuh bring back some memories there!

TrinidadEditing

Postby TrinidadEditing » May 29th, 2017, 1:22 pm

Saw pennywise left the mall today, wonder what they gonna bring to fill that big empty space.

TrinidadEditing

Postby TrinidadEditing » May 29th, 2017, 1:22 pm

Saw pennywise left the mall today, wonder what they gonna bring to fill that big empty space.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 29th, 2017, 2:28 pm

TrinidadEditing wrote:Saw pennywise left the mall today, wonder what they gonna bring to fill that big empty space.

Many small stores?

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » June 22nd, 2017, 12:50 am

Anyone with pictures of Cross Crossing before they changed it. With the Old switching hut with the leavers and stuff. They should have left something to remind us of that. and the Round About.

Postby The_Honourable » June 22nd, 2017, 1:12 am

nutty4u2c wrote:Anyone with pictures of Cross Crossing before they changed it. With the Old switching hut with the leavers and stuff. They should have left something to remind us of that. and the Round About.

Oldest pic i have is this from cross crossing
[004179].jpg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » July 23rd, 2017, 9:30 pm

More old pics needed in this thread