Knives and the Law

TrinbagoMan

Knives and the Law

Postby TrinbagoMan » October 1st, 2009, 6:52 pm

Perhaps the legal minds in here could answer this for me.

Is it legal to have a knife in your car?

Is it legal to have a knife with a 5 inch blade on your person?

What is the law regarding such?

Edit: I do not carry a knive on my person, but i do have one in my car.
Last edited by TrinbagoMan on October 1st, 2009, 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby buzz » October 1st, 2009, 7:02 pm

pioneer wrote:No motor vehicle, the windscreen or any other window of which is fitted with glass so tinted, treated or darkened as to obscure the view of the inside of the vehicle from the outside

correct

megadoc1

Re: Knives and the Law

Postby megadoc1 » October 1st, 2009, 7:13 pm

TrinbagoMan wrote:Perhaps the legal minds in here could answer this for me.

no more than three inches

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » October 1st, 2009, 7:55 pm

chapter 11:10

restriction of offensive weapons act

An Act to prohibit the importation, manufacture, sale or other disposition of certain offensive weapons.

[11th February 1960]

1. This Act may be cited as the Restriction of Offensive Weapons Act.

2. (1) Any person who imports, manufactures, sells, hires or offers for sale or hire or lends or gives to any other person or has in his possession—

(a) any knife which has a blade which opens automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring or other device in or attached to any part of the knife, commonly known as a “flick knifeâ€

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » October 1st, 2009, 7:57 pm

CHAPTER 11:09

prevention of crime

(offensive weapons) ACT

An Act to prohibit the carrying of offensive weapons in public places without lawful authority or reasonable excuse.

[31st December 1953]

1. This Act may be cited as the Prevention of Crime (Offensive Weapons) Act.

2. In this Act—

“public placeâ€

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » October 1st, 2009, 8:00 pm

That's not a knife mate.... THIS IS A KNIFE!! :lol:

vin123

Postby vin123 » October 1st, 2009, 8:21 pm

I believe once its over 3 inches its supposed to be covered or in a case. That's why u see ppl traveling with cutlasses wrapped in newspaper ( i was tempted to say guardian paper lol)

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 2nd, 2009, 11:58 am

Yeah, in the car, once its in a sheath or whatever type of case, its fine, even a cutlass should be in some form of case or covering, apparently any bare blade blade 'shows intent'. On your person, im not sure what the boundaries are, apparently my 3" folding keychain is fine

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 2nd, 2009, 12:41 pm

just take out a compass from a geometry set, the one with the long sharpened edge , use it wisely.
if stopped- you have a maths class. :roll: police cant touch ya

vin123

Postby vin123 » October 2nd, 2009, 1:32 pm

InDeForest wrote:Yeah, in the car, once its in a sheath or whatever type of case, its fine, even a cutlass should be in some form of case or covering, apparently any bare blade blade 'shows intent'. On your person, im not sure what the boundaries are, apparently my 3" folding keychain is fine

so I can walk around with a samurai sword on my back or on my waist once it in a case? lol

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » October 2nd, 2009, 4:35 pm

vin123 wrote:
InDeForest wrote:Yeah, in the car, once its in a sheath or whatever type of case, its fine, even a cutlass should be in some form of case or covering, apparently any bare blade blade 'shows intent'. On your person, im not sure what the boundaries are, apparently my 3" folding keychain is fine

so I can walk around with a samurai sword on my back or on my waist once it in a case? lol

How do you surmise that from what ive written? I said, in your car. So yes you can keep your samurai sword in a case in your car.

Kiro_lee

Postby Kiro_lee » April 9th, 2011, 7:09 pm

bringing this up to see if there is anyone with new info regarding carrying a knife in a car.

rossi

Re:

Postby rossi » April 9th, 2011, 7:30 pm

vin123 wrote:

Actually you can. Once it's in a sheath you good to go.

CS3A_GLX

Postby CS3A_GLX » April 9th, 2011, 7:54 pm

megadoc1 wrote:

flaccid or erect?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » April 10th, 2011, 10:00 am

CS3A_GLX wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

flaccid or erect?

Postby Rooki3 » April 10th, 2011, 10:07 am

CS3A_GLX wrote:
megadoc1 wrote:

flaccid or erect?

Re: Re:

Postby rollingstock » April 10th, 2011, 10:10 am

rossi wrote:
vin123 wrote:

Nope, a sword is an offensive weapon, possession of same in public can be interpreted as intention, unless for display purpose or demonstration.

Humes

Postby Humes » April 10th, 2011, 10:19 am

I have a kitchen knife in the car, probably 6", with three sheets of printer paper and two rubber bands wrapped around the blade.

Hope that is adequate.

Re: Re:

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2011, 12:05 pm

rossi wrote:
vin123 wrote:

Nope, a sword is an offensive weapon, possession of same in public can be interpreted as intention, unless for display purpose or demonstration.

So if I have a decorative sword in it's case between the car seat/under the car seat/in the back seat..and I get stopped in a roadblock and the police see it..Can i be charged?

Postby rollingstock » April 10th, 2011, 9:42 pm

A decorative sword is something different, it is not sharpened and it is made of inferior steel.

But would still depend on the idiot police.

Postby Chimera » April 10th, 2011, 9:48 pm

i always thought it have have a nice shock effect if in cussout/altercation and some chupid indian pull out his cutlass..and i go pull out meh sword :| lol

Humes

Postby Humes » April 11th, 2011, 7:18 am

Take care they doh get so shock they ress two chop on yuh one time.

apple

Postby apple » April 11th, 2011, 3:24 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:i always thought it have have a nice shock effect if in cussout/altercation and some chupid indian pull out his cutlass..and i go pull out meh sword :| lol

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » April 11th, 2011, 6:08 pm

ABA Trading LTD: There can be only one!
Danraj: nah fadda is about 12 chap ah goh ress on yuh a$$