energy saving windows... A/C buisness...

trini_ravi

energy saving windows... A/C buisness...

Postby trini_ravi » October 12th, 2009, 9:50 pm

so i'm doing some renovations on my house and i wanna change the windows to something that would reduce my A/C and energy bill....

i'm thinking about those dual pane windows, but they have to be secure, not easily broken into... any suggestions??? or can anyone refer me to a place?

Postby SR » October 12th, 2009, 10:10 pm

use commercial tint on the glass

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 12th, 2009, 10:30 pm

Yea thats an option but almost all of the windows i have seen have 'leaks' that would allow cold air to escape... and the ones that seal properly can be busted open and someone can climb in...

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 12th, 2009, 11:18 pm

thaz what i have currently

they don't seal properly, unless it's another model u talking about.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 12th, 2009, 11:34 pm

yea i'm installing some felt adhesive type on these... they are the front windows... which are staying

but the side windows are gonna be changed... just looking for options...

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » October 13th, 2009, 1:06 pm

nah the front's and sides don't need to be the same... thinking about just putting in some exterior shutters....

suggestions welcomed....

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 13th, 2009, 1:58 pm

don't waste you money on double glazed windows unless they have been vacuum sealed

no where in trinidad sells vacum sealed windows..... the bad part about that is they are very expensive when imported from the US .... on average a 3-4 bedroom home will cost around 250,000.00 ....... and if u break a pane you would have to have it imported.

uPVC windows from abel are the best sealed windows available localy
second to that would be lifetime roofing is importing damus windows from st kitts.
stay away from ABC interiors cheap chinese windows they turn yellow and they is no availability of fittings. there are a few more small players in the business ... all you need to do is find out where there vinyl comes from.

Postby noshownogo » October 13th, 2009, 2:03 pm

pioneer wrote:ever heard of weather stripping?

where yuh getting dem first world ting from? :lol:

Seriously tho, i need some to reduce the noise of dogs barking more so than rain coming in.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 13th, 2009, 2:05 pm

oh ...and to fix that steel window problem.... take a hammer and tap the back of the extended hinge on top till the outer frame closes with the inner frame (removing the gap)

but i notice u on the second floor ....... so oops :oops:

Postby noshownogo » October 13th, 2009, 2:22 pm

garden hose doh wuk :roll: simplicity is beyond me...

xauss

Postby xauss » October 13th, 2009, 2:32 pm

pioneer wrote:peel...lick...stick :|

Postby noshownogo » October 13th, 2009, 2:37 pm

where is this weather stripping being purchased?

aR&D

Postby aR&D » October 13th, 2009, 2:39 pm

trini_ravi wrote:yea i'm installing some felt adhesive type on these... they are the front windows... which are staying

but the side windows are gonna be changed... just looking for options...

where you bought these from Trini and what price?
When installed do you have to apply alot of pulling- force to lock the windows?

thanks!

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 13th, 2009, 2:48 pm

Get some good curtains yo

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » October 13th, 2009, 2:50 pm

aR&D- Peakes had some a while back, but last time i checked they were out of stock.
They carry a Very good one- its about 3/8 " wide x 1/4" but its very soft and its easy to Flatten , so you dont have to apply too much pressure , but it seals extremely well.

xauss

Postby xauss » October 13th, 2009, 2:50 pm

1plyboard

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » October 13th, 2009, 7:13 pm

thermal curtains ftw. Anywhere sells these locally though? They have a foam backing that reduces light and noise, and are also marketed as energy-saving curtains, or black-out curtains

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 13th, 2009, 9:31 pm

flatline wrote:thermal curtains ftw. Anywhere sells these locally though? They have a foam backing that reduces light and noise, and are also marketed as energy-saving curtains, or black-out curtains

black out lining .....

check jimmy abouds ..... serious :lol: :lol: :lol:

but black out lining cyah hang on fair and square curtian rod eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

blood

Re:

Postby blood » April 24th, 2013, 3:40 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:aR&D- Peakes had some a while back, but last time i checked they were out of stock.
They carry a Very good one- its about 3/8 " wide x 1/4" but its very soft and its easy to Flatten , so you dont have to apply too much pressure , but it seals extremely well.

blood

Re:

Postby blood » April 24th, 2013, 3:43 pm

evo-STI-k wrote:aR&D- Peakes had some a while back, but last time i checked they were out of stock.

Cross Blood

Re: energy saving windows... A/C buisness...

Postby Cross Blood » April 24th, 2013, 11:46 pm

We have these in our house

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003IT ... UTF8&psc=1

never regretted buying them
prevents light, heat and noise