question about Noah's ark.............

QG

Re: question about Noah's ark.............

Postby QG » November 9th, 2009, 10:44 pm

MG Man wrote:watchin a doc on NatGeo abt the search for the man boat....conventional wisdom puts the size at either 450 feet or 515 feet long, depending on whose cubit measurement you use..............either way, how the heck did unkle Noah fit two of every living critter in a boat that size??????????????????

What can I say boss, anything is possible??? :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 9th, 2009, 10:50 pm

nos_specialist wrote:Ok. Suppose d flood happen in dat specific country. N he take 2 of each indiginous animals. Cause i dont think d whole earth wud b flooded, unless d icecaps melt, n it had no global warmin bac den

according to the bible, it was a GLOBAL flood

according to the bible, the height of the flood was 25 feet above the highest mountain (Mt. Everest?)

according to the bible, did Noah take a pair of each type of animal - or did he take seven pairs of each type of ritually clean animals, one pair of each kind of unclean animals, and seven pairs of each kind of bird?

according to the bible, did the snake in the garden of Eden have legs before God cursed him?

according to the bible, did God create animals and plants before Man - or after?

(MG, look what you went and made me do...)

QG

Postby QG » November 9th, 2009, 10:59 pm

God created animals and plants before man!

Man got food from plants. People today who started killing animals to get meat but man mainly got food from plants that bear fruits etc that is healthy for our body....not manicoo and fat rat that TRINI ppl love to eat :lol: :lol:

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » November 9th, 2009, 11:05 pm

Dude yuh have to remember...that the bible was written by man...

Who thought at that time, the world was flat and would have thought that a flood like what they experienced covered "their whole world"...when in reality, the flood was probably one region. So to say Noah took every living creature on board the SS. Noah was probably every creature in his town, village, country etc.

U get my drift... :wink:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 9th, 2009, 11:26 pm

QG wrote:God created animals and plants before man!

Man got food from plants. People today who started killing animals to get meat but man mainly got food from plants that bear fruits etc that is healthy for our body....not manicoo and fat rat that TRINI ppl love to eat :lol: :lol:

Anyone reading Genesis 2:5-20 would think otherwise! Take a read... is de bible...

d spike

Postby d spike » November 9th, 2009, 11:40 pm

ase_tt wrote:Dude yuh have to remember...that the bible was written by man...
- all scripture is, a fact forgotten by many. How will literalists respond to the statement that the writings that make up Genesis were first enscribed in Babylon during the Exile?

Who thought at that time, the world was flat and would have thought that a flood like what they experienced covered "their whole world"...when in reality, the flood was probably one region. So to say Noah took every living creature on board the SS. Noah was probably every creature in his town, village, country etc.

- fantastic deduction, Sherlock! (jes' purlin' yore leg there laddie.)

U get my drift... :wink:

MG was trying to get a response from a supporter of the creationist view. I am just trying to dissuade any literalist from remaining silent.
:turn-l:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 12:24 am

Can any of these questions be answered based on the bible?

Did Noah take a pair of each type of animal - or did he take seven pairs of each type of ritually clean animals, one pair of each kind of unclean animals, and seven pairs of each kind of bird?

Did the snake in the garden of Eden have legs before God cursed him?

Did God create animals and plants before Man - or after?

Israel G

Postby Israel G » November 10th, 2009, 8:21 am

all ah allyuh real brave boy, questioning god's work??............i believe in miracles......

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 8:32 am

Israel G wrote:all ah allyuh real brave boy, questioning god's work??............i believe in miracles......

Not querying de Boss' work, m'boy... jus' de journalists who weren't dere when de whole t'ing go down... :conman:

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 10th, 2009, 8:43 am

So why can't we question? Because Gawd said so?

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zjJa57htqcI&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby RBphoto » November 10th, 2009, 8:53 am

Israel G

Postby Israel G » November 10th, 2009, 8:57 am

questioning god shows that you don't believe or either have faith............

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 10th, 2009, 9:10 am

"Faith is the great cop-out, the great excuse to evade the need to think and evaluate evidence. Faith is belief in spite of, even perhaps because of, the lack of evidence."

^^This pretty much sums up my view. No offence to anyone intended.

Israel G

Postby Israel G » November 10th, 2009, 9:28 am

what about trust? do you trust god enough?

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 9:53 am

Israel G wrote:questioning god shows that you don't believe or either have faith............

errrrr... noooo... this is a way tooo common mistake...
Suggest you pick any decent theologian who follows whatever belief/religion you do, and study his work.

While faith means believing in that which cannot be proved, "blind faith" is an excuse for not learning and leads to fanaticism. In order for faith to grow, it must be questioned. Dealing with doubt is how personal faith develops.
Acceptance of this concept ("questioning god shows that you don't believe or either have faith") would easily explain a lot of the material posted in the "god-stuff" threads that I try to avoid.

Eloi, Eloi, lema sabacthani?

Cheers.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 10:02 am

Jonathan wrote:"Faith is the great cop-out, the great excuse to evade the need to think and evaluate evidence. Faith is belief in spite of, even perhaps because of, the lack of evidence."

^^This pretty much sums up my view. No offence to anyone intended.

Your viewpoint is more Christian than you think. If you give a child a skateboard to play with, to encourage him to try new things, take chances, explore his environment, and he uses it as a shelf in his bedroom, how would you feel? Would you be inclined to give him a gift again? (apart from a hard kick, of course...)

The gifts of intellect, logic... these were meant to be used in our existence, especially in our search for reasons for such existence... :wink:

Faith is the glue that holds the model Dodge Charger together - it isn't the model car itself.

d spike

Postby d spike » November 10th, 2009, 10:06 am

crossdrilled wrote:Image

I'm with the cat on this one

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 10th, 2009, 10:14 am

like yuh never look at ''''<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/NzlG28B-R8Y&hl=en&fs=1&"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NzlG28B-R8Y&hl=en&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 10th, 2009, 11:30 am

Israel G wrote:what about trust? do you trust god enough?

Sigh... :?
and I repeat..
Jonathan wrote:"Faith is the great cop-out, the great excuse to evade the need to think and evaluate evidence. Faith is belief in spite of, even perhaps because of, the lack of evidence."

Re: question about Noah's ark.............

Postby cinco » November 10th, 2009, 1:11 pm

MG Man wrote:watchin a doc on NatGeo abt the search for the man boat....conventional wisdom puts the size at either 450 feet or 515 feet long, depending on whose cubit measurement you use..............either way, how the heck did unkle Noah fit two of every living critter in a boat that size??????????????????

when yuh grind up dem animal yuh end up wid about a pound each
no worries

glennj

Postby glennj » November 10th, 2009, 1:22 pm

Every species of living creature did not need to go on board. Only the animals that were air breathing (‘all flesh in which there is the breath of life’ (Gen 7:15)) and land dwelling (‘all flesh died that moved on the earth’ (Gen 7: 21)

http://biblicalgeology.net/Answer/How-d ... e-Ark.html

WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!
CAN NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC EXPLAIN HOW HE FED THE MULTITUDE WITH THE LOAVES AND FISHES?OR HEALED THE SICK AND MADE DEAD TO RISE?

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 1:34 pm

glennj wrote:WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE!
CAN NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC EXPLAIN HOW HE FED THE MULTITUDE WITH THE LOAVES AND FISHES?OR HEALED THE SICK AND MADE DEAD TO RISE?

surely you jest! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

glennj

naoh's ark

Postby glennj » November 10th, 2009, 1:36 pm

why would i?

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 1:47 pm

biblicalgeology.net

^that is some seriously messed up publicly available information, not any anyway applicable in this time of modern science and understanding.

i can tolerate religion... somewhat, but such outright blasphemy of intellect and perverse manipulation of scientific knowledge cements my opinion that it has NO place in our current time and the quicker ppl relieve themselves of such backward thinking practices, the better the living..

Postby RBphoto » November 10th, 2009, 1:53 pm

Razkal wrote:

Dem simidimi miracles? Who cares? Super talking flying demon slaying monkey nearly ate the sun, moved a mountian, slayed demons, fight an entire army, set fire to a city with his tail, all to let the enemy know how bad azz his king was, not that he could not do everything himself.

Feed the multitude with five loaves and fishes? Water into wine?

Please...I went ah wedding the other day and I swear the caterer and barman did the same thing.

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 2:01 pm

crossdrilled wrote:
Razkal wrote:

Dem simidimi miracles? Who cares? Super talking flying demon slaying monkey nearly ate the sun, moved a mountian, slayed demons, fight an entire army, set fire to a city with his tail, all to let the enemy know how bad azz his king was, not that he could not do everything himself.

Feed the multitude with five loaves and fishes? Water into wine?

Please...I went ah wedding the other day and I swear the caterer and barman did the same thing.

biblicalgeology.net wrote:Where did all the water go?

by Tas Walker

If the whole world was once covered with water during Noah’s Flood, where has it all gone?

Even if the glaciers and ice caps melted the oceans would only rise some 70 meters, yet Mt Everest rises 8848 meters above sea level.

But we don’t need any more water to cover the earth. There is already enough.

This hypsographic chart illustrates that if the ocean basins were pushed up 5 km and the mountains shaved off, water from the oceans would cover all the earth. Such tectonic movements seem huge to us, but compared with the radius of the earth, (6378 km), the movement is tiny, only 0.1%.

Water doesn’t cover the globe at present because the earth’s surface is uneven. The ocean basins sit low and the continents sit high. Some mountains are especially high and some ocean trenches are very deep.

However, if the earth’s surface was even there is enough water in the oceans to cover the globe to a depth of 2.7 km.

This suggests that, during the Flood, the ocean floor moved vertically relative to the continents.

In the first half, the pre-Flood ocean basins rose and the pre-Flood continents eroded down until water covered everything.

Then, in the second half of the Flood, other parts of the earth’s crust sank. The water flowed off our continents into new ocean basins. Movement of the earth’s crust at this time also pushed up new mountain ranges, including the one that is home to Mt Everest.

So where did all the water go? It is in the ocean.

:shock: wtf? :|

Postby RBphoto » November 10th, 2009, 2:10 pm

So where did all the water go? It is in the ocean.

This ending makes it sond like it is all natural and makes perfect sense, could happen any given Sunday :lol:

glennj

Re: question about Noah's ark

Postby glennj » November 10th, 2009, 2:13 pm

thanks.point well taken and i hope that we also know that there are alot of stuff that scientists cant even begin to fathom.

if as razkal quoted is that where the water went?where did it come from?

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 2:17 pm

^the one place mankind DIDN'T look :lol:

what bothers me much, is it's passed of as such obvious information/conclusions derived from a plethora of acceptable evidence...such arrogance.

I waiting for a swami to come in with evidence that Everest was originally in Utah and monkey man (under subcontract from Moonan) moved it to its current location. :|

Re: question about Noah's ark

Postby Razkal » November 10th, 2009, 2:28 pm

glennj wrote:thanks.point well taken and i hope that we also know that there are alot of stuff that scientists cant even begin to fathom.

if as razkal quoted is that where the water went?where did it come from?

i always enjoy this point being raised, you fail to see that admitting the unknown is part and parcel of science and the scientific process.
science does not claim to have the explanation for any humanly fathomable question lodged away somewhere in laboratory notes or a research paper, religion, however, has never once failed to claim it has the answer to any question a believer/theist can possibly postulate...usually the "answer" given to the deluded is wrapped in beautiful "we weren't meant to know" gift paper with a lovely "have faith" ribbon tying the entire uninformed package together.

i make no apologies for my beliefs in not believing bs.