Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

jhonnieblue

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby jhonnieblue » December 26th, 2017, 11:02 am

The contracts don't outline that. Trust me with significant hike it can be expected that the companies may want to move the plants to regions that offer lower and more consistent gas supply. Turn key contractors for moving a plant allows repayment in as little as two to three years. It's been done before to plants in South America so the govt and ngc has to be very careful about calling multinationals bluffs.
And as most of these companies are multinationals they expect the same level of production and reliability as their overseas plants which unfortunately we can't suppy anymore because of the gas curtailment situation.

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » December 26th, 2017, 7:35 pm

Trump is making the US extremely attractive for the same multinationals (who btw couldnt find gas in the US at the time and decided to build their plants where gas was cheap and plentiful. And who also wanted to escape the US taxman in very creative ways. Trinidad being the destination in this case). With the US basking in plentiful shale gas now at good prices, you can only imagine how unattractive our small island appears to be, what with all the gas shortages and price increases as well as the FATCA legislation.

Even if we get enough gas, the price clearly won't be the same since deep water exploration is costly. When you hear BP mentioning the cost of those big offshore rigs that they "invest" in the country, just remember that they expect to get back that money and more from the oil and gas they extract. (Whatever price Rowley and Young negotiated with BP, it might not be worth it if we lose our downstream plants). Of course, let's not forget our wonderful Venezuela deal where we would be taking VENEZUELA'S GAS to sell to T&T users. If our own gas is expensive, can you imagine what Maduro will want for his gas? This is besides the fact that Trump is a wild card that we cannot predict. Perhaps he overlooked us because we abstained from voting on his Jerusalem decision last week but what will he say/do when we start allying ourself with Maduro?

The stakes are high with very little room to move. We as a small island may really need to seriously re-consider going back to the land because it is clear that we are no longer in the big leagues when it comes to oil and gas.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » December 27th, 2017, 8:28 am

This concept of Venezuela gas as an offset potential is very misconstrued. The initial discussions only led to an agreed 80mmscfd which can't even run an ammonia or methanol plant on the estate. It literally has no impact to the production increase potential the island was hoping for.

Postby sMASH » December 27th, 2017, 8:46 am

Didnt know it was so little.

Guyana?
How much would Guyana send?

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » December 27th, 2017, 5:54 pm

actually 80mmscfd could probably run an average plant and a third. Not really that much but can you imagine the cost?? I suppose I should have stated that dealing with vene is a VERY long shot given their current status. If we are unsuccessful, Trump might still screw us over for trying to make a deal with them. You never know with that guy.

Guyana's isnt sending us any gas as far as I know.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 27th, 2017, 6:02 pm

Bad weather on the seas. Can't cross the ampelmann.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 27th, 2017, 8:21 pm

trinidrift wrote:Bad weather on the seas. Can't cross the ampelmann.
Ez 12, make money

Postby De Dragon » December 27th, 2017, 9:31 pm

jhonnieblue wrote:This concept of Venezuela gas as an offset potential is very misconstrued. The initial discussions only led to an agreed 80mmscfd which can't even run an ammonia or methanol plant on the estate. It literally has no impact to the production increase potential the island was hoping for.

That could run any combination of M2 or M3 or M4 and M1.

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » December 28th, 2017, 8:48 am

Morning guys i heard Nuiron won the bid for the purchase of the Mittal plant???
Can any of you all confirm this?

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » December 28th, 2017, 8:51 am

superstainless1250 wrote:Morning guys i heard Nuiron won the bid for the purchase of the Mittal plant???
Yep....since earlier this year....

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » December 28th, 2017, 8:53 am

sinister_14 wrote:
superstainless1250 wrote:Morning guys i heard Nuiron won the bid for the purchase of the Mittal plant???
Yep....since earlier this year....
No it couldn't be since earlier this year the liquidation was still in process it happened some days ago but need confirmation

sinister_14

Postby sinister_14 » December 28th, 2017, 8:55 am

Nu iron workers were doin regular check on the plant since earlier this year so it was known they were buying.....

Postby tr1ad » December 28th, 2017, 9:13 am

nobady canna crass eet...

eh looking like a day shift either today

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 28th, 2017, 9:51 am

Jade_Inc. wrote:
Ez 12, make money
Not really man getting sick like flies.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 28th, 2017, 9:53 am

tr1ad wrote:

Now me hearing they wanna send chopper for us

Postby tr1ad » December 28th, 2017, 9:56 am

trinidrift wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

that and floatel

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 28th, 2017, 9:57 am

Ok

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » December 28th, 2017, 8:03 pm

tr1ad wrote:
trinidrift wrote:
tr1ad wrote:

that and floatel
Serious? We were suppose to come out on Saturday

Postby joker » December 28th, 2017, 8:33 pm

Unconfirmed Word on the street is Nu Iron IS supposed to complete the Aquisition within 3 months of the date the bids closed ..however with political interference by PNM lawyers hired by Mittal who sought VOLUNTARY LIQUIDATION
A loophole is sought by JSW ( Mittal's Subsidiary) to retain the facility to have Mittal inside undercover to avoid paying awards by the Local Courts and Privy Council.

Postby sMASH » December 29th, 2017, 8:25 am

1:01:10 when u big u large...

Specialist Baboons

Postby Specialist Baboons » December 30th, 2017, 8:25 am

joker wrote:Unconfirmed Word on the street is Nu Iron IS supposed to complete the Aquisition within 3 months of the date the bids closed ..however with political interference by PNM lawyers hired by Mittal who sought VOLUNTARY LIQUIDATION
A loophole is sought by JSW ( Mittal's Subsidiary) to retain the facility to have Mittal inside undercover to avoid paying awards by the Local Courts and Privy Council.

Wayssssss you could be the next AG.....
Real scoop yuh got there!

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » December 31st, 2017, 9:07 am

"In Trinidad, NH3 production peaked at 5.5 million tpy in 2010. It has since dipped to under 4.3 million tpy. Fertilizer technology in the island nation is outdated; average gas consumption is high (approximately 38 million Btu/tNH3); gas reserves are falling; and LNG production is more profitable. Fertilizer may be squeezed out as reserves deplete. The potential for closures, already being seen in methanol plants, is high."

Source: https://www.worldfertilizer.com/special ... ht-future/

Postby De Dragon » January 1st, 2018, 10:11 am

sinister_14 wrote:Nu iron workers were doin regular check on the plant since earlier this year so it was known they were buying.....

:roll: :roll:
Nu Iron, like all prospective bidders, sent a team to evaluate the site prior to making a decision on if to bid or not.

Postby nervewrecker » January 3rd, 2018, 7:33 pm

K74T wrote:For the HSE folks:

It have that much work for HSE personnel this rounds?

superstainless1250

Postby superstainless1250 » January 3rd, 2018, 8:17 pm

sinister_14 wrote:Nu iron workers were doin regular check on the plant since earlier this year so it was known they were buying.....

Nu Iron, like all prospective bidders, sent a team to evaluate the site prior to making a decision on if to bid or not.
All interested investers would have been given the said option not NUIRON ALONE

Postby De Dragon » January 3rd, 2018, 10:12 pm

superstainless1250 wrote:

Are you suggesting that there was one bidder? Or that you have enough knowledge to know when all the site visits took place? Or that a potential investor would buying a plant without knowing the state that it is in?

Postby joker » January 3rd, 2018, 11:35 pm

superstainless1250 wrote:

Are you suggesting that there was one bidder? Or that you have enough knowledge to know when all the site visits took place? Or that a potential investor would buying a plant without knowing the state that it is in?
The investor did site visits and follow ups .
They wrote the govt in 2016 and the govt responded late ...2017!

Postby joker » January 3rd, 2018, 11:36 pm

To negotiate utilities i.e .
A meeting that never was realised .

DreamWeaver

Postby DreamWeaver » January 6th, 2018, 8:18 am

Soooo anyone know when can we expect the mittal plants to be bought over officially? any info? Or is it just an idea that's still being float around?

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2018, 1:14 pm

DreamWeaver wrote:Soooo anyone know when can we expect the mittal plants to be bought over officially? any info? Or is it just an idea that's still being float around?

Mid-year for the latest, however there is an alleged twist in the tail. :twisted: :twisted: