Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

rmrunner

Re: Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby rmrunner » November 15th, 2018, 8:14 pm

^^^ wonder which company this is for....normally hidden companies does be hole in the wall places wanting blood for small scrums

Normally a planner requires more experience and they have planner as less experience than technician.hmmm

car

Postby car » November 15th, 2018, 9:27 pm

rmrunner wrote:^^^ wonder which company this is for....normally hidden companies does be hole in the wall places wanting blood for small scrums

Normally a planner requires more experience and they have planner as less experience than technician.hmmm

Was thinking the same ting. If u unemployed, still apply. Better than nutting.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 25th, 2018, 9:50 am

Folks,

What are some courses (locally for now), short and medium term, that you all would recommend for someone to do while on the path to becoming a Process Engineer and afterwards? Information concerning post-grad degrees that would be beneficial to such an engineer would also be appreciated but outside of two or three degrees, what certification courses or things along those lines would you all recommend as something you did 'and never looked back since'?

The individual has some years work experience in the Energy Sector, is already a Student Member with IChemE and will be attempting to become a Student Member with the APETT as well. TIA.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » November 25th, 2018, 11:57 pm

https://kenson.applytojob.com/apply/ZDY ... e-Operator

I don't have the offshore experience, so good luck to someone else

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 28th, 2018, 8:42 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:
car wrote:Anyone knows what’s the average salary for a technician working 14 days on /off on one of those offshore platforms for the International companies like bp,shell,bg?

Can anyone put their views/experience about working on the above situation? Pros and cons besides getting horn.

Know some folks working 20 on/off and I think the salary was about $12000.00TT-$13000.00TT, however that was with Repsol and now I think Parenco.

With respect to BG don't know the salary but a guy working in maintenance said that the condition are good. His contract is handled through Kenson I believe. These bigger companies I'm not certain they hire directly, maybe for supervisory or engineering of finance positions, but for general technical services and such it's usually done through a third party labour provider.

That is for people working directly for BPTT,bg, EOG, woodgroup etc. kenson basic is around 6500 no allowance. With ot the most you could make is around 15k. But in BPTT where i am contracted to presently through Kenson ot is very hard to come by because they regulate it heavily

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 28th, 2018, 8:46 pm

rmrunner wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:
car wrote:Anyone knows what’s the average salary for a technician working 14 days on /off on one of those offshore platforms for the International companies like bp,shell,bg?

Can anyone put their views/experience about working on the above situation? Pros and cons besides getting horn.

Know some folks working 20 on/off and I think the salary was about $12000.00TT-$13000.00TT, however that was with Repsol and now I think Parenco.

With respect to BG don't know the salary but a guy working in maintenance said that the condition are good. His contract is handled through Kenson I believe. These bigger companies I'm not certain they hire directly, maybe for supervisory or engineering of finance positions, but for general technical services and such it's usually done through a third party labour provider.

Sub contractors like kenson does pay that value you described. The current AD out is for direct hire from Shell. It always have an inside technician to coordinate and supervise the sub contractor. Also the rate for direct hire men is 20k upward for same time outside

Rmrunner I for a fact can tell you that you are wrong about Kenson paying 12/13k as a basic. That only comes with ot (if your getting)

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2018, 8:47 pm

Kenson is dog wuck most said.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 28th, 2018, 9:49 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Kenson is dog wuck most said.

10000% agree

Postby nervewrecker » November 28th, 2018, 9:53 pm

Heard back in the day they recruited students with promises of jobs with them after. Said the top of the class does gt. Heard was always who know who and not the top of the class.
Same reason why I applied elsewhere

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » November 29th, 2018, 6:45 pm

The figure for Kenson was an offer I got for specialist e&i tech in 2016 for 12gran 14days. It was then stated to me that it can go on to 21days and if I wanted to leave the platform before time it would be deducted from my salary. I turned it down because I could have made that same figure on land for a month.

Jade_Inc.

Postby Jade_Inc. » November 29th, 2018, 9:19 pm

rmrunner wrote:The figure for Kenson was an offer I got for specialist e&i tech in 2016 for 12gran 14days. It was then stated to me that it can go on to 21days and if I wanted to leave the platform before time it would be deducted from my salary. I turned it down because I could have made that same figure on land for a month.
So from 14 days at 12000 it reach to 21 days for the same salary and if u were to leave before time money would be deducted?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 29th, 2018, 11:20 pm

Jade_Inc. wrote:
rmrunner wrote:The figure for Kenson was an offer I got for specialist e&i tech in 2016 for 12gran 14days. It was then stated to me that it can go on to 21days and if I wanted to leave the platform before time it would be deducted from my salary. I turned it down because I could have made that same figure on land for a month.
So from 14 days at 12000 it reach to 21 days for the same salary and if u were to leave before time money would be deducted?

Stop there and feel Kenson is any joke.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 30th, 2018, 12:25 am

Joshie23 wrote:
Jade_Inc. wrote:

Stop there and feel Kenson is any joke.

Kenson don’t make joke when it comes to their money. If there is a way for them to get out of spending they will. They cheap out on everything especially salary. they pay you a flat salary with no allowances and get away with it, use the cheapest medical plans they can find and have no pension plan.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » November 30th, 2018, 12:43 am

Yeah last time I checked maintenance position with Kenson was about $10,000.00 for 20 days.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » November 30th, 2018, 2:53 am

Hadda be a nappy to land a stint there

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 30th, 2018, 8:42 am

INHUMAN wrote:Hadda be a nappy to land a stint there

That is bs.

car

Energy Sector Thread - Operators, Engineers, Technicians Et Al

Postby car » November 30th, 2018, 1:27 pm

9k tank farm work in heritage. 4 day on 4 days off. 12 hour shift.
Contract by Kenson. 3 month contract.

Postby sMASH » November 30th, 2018, 3:33 pm

9k.. if u have little to no industry experience, well it better than nutten. Kinda depends on how many tanks they have.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » November 30th, 2018, 11:58 pm

9k that’s better than what they paying people offshore for 14 days.

urbandilema

Postby urbandilema » December 1st, 2018, 1:19 am

trinidrift wrote:9k that’s better than what they paying people offshore for 14 days.
How to sign for it ..I know 2 fellas from my class looking for jobs and 9k is very good to start

car

Postby car » December 1st, 2018, 2:27 am

urbandilema wrote:
trinidrift wrote:9k that’s better than what they paying people offshore for 14 days.
How to sign for it ..I know 2 fellas from my class looking for jobs and 9k is very good to start

Must have experience in a similar job. So it seem it’s not a starter job.
Kenson/careers

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 1st, 2018, 10:38 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Folks,

What are some courses (locally for now), short and medium term, that you all would recommend for someone to do while on the path to becoming a Process Engineer and afterwards? Information concerning post-grad degrees that would be beneficial to such an engineer would also be appreciated but outside of two or three degrees, what certification courses or things along those lines would you all recommend as something you did 'and never looked back since'?

The individual has some years work experience in the Energy Sector, is already a Student Member with IChemE and will be attempting to become a Student Member with the APETT as well. TIA.

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » December 13th, 2018, 6:06 pm

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 14th, 2018, 1:21 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Nothing folks?

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » December 14th, 2018, 9:16 pm

Went through some local job websites, the pickings slim.. way worse than it was before

Postby De Dragon » December 14th, 2018, 10:01 pm

Joshie23 wrote:

Nothing folks?

Do PPO so you don't be a kant like many PE's...........

car

Postby car » December 15th, 2018, 8:13 am

Joshie23 wrote:

Nothing folks?

Project management is something they always looking for as an asset.

trinidrift

Postby trinidrift » December 15th, 2018, 9:58 am

car wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:

Nothing folks?

Project management is something they always looking for as an asset.

Pay attention to instrumentation t will save yuh assonance day

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » December 15th, 2018, 5:58 pm

Instrumentation (which I assume would be encapsulated in PPO) and Project Management. Thanks for the info this far folks.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » December 15th, 2018, 7:53 pm

It have any programmes that specific to instrumentation locally?

I did some instrumentation when I did cpo but assume employers want to see an actual instrumentation course when hiring as a instrumentation tech/eng