*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Morpheus » February 10th, 2015, 9:32 pm

Not sure if mentioned before but where sells good powered subwoofers?

Postby X_Factor » February 10th, 2015, 9:36 pm

even off amazon, the inuke 1000's range from 145-200usd for the dsp or none dsp version
at 10lbs...even if its 13lbs shipped
try a ratch and send as a gift and hope they estimate it less than the price
and you could land that for less than 1600

plate amp days are gone....

Postby Redman » February 13th, 2015, 12:39 pm

Great thread,
After 7 years of faithful service my plasma died...so I just bought a
Samsung UN55H6203 55-Inch 1080p 120Hz Smart LED TV

Its on its way down.
In the mean time Im trying to figure the way forward..

In terms of the hooking up to the DVD and Audio:

The TV has only 2 HDMI inputs-so I think I will need a switch-any recommendations?

I have a
A Denon receiver avr 1801
Polk surround sound-1 powered sub PSW 350,5 surround sound speakers(2L, 2R, 1 C)
and a Sony 5 disc changer
And Columbus cable.

I would like to find out-

In terms of the HDMI cables-amazon has their line-and it seems pretty cheap compared to others- outside of price is there a significant quality difference???
I dont mind paying for an excellent set of cables IF there is a material difference.

Speaker wire-same as above-whats the difference in quality and price??
Is the diff in quality worth the added cost?

In terms of placement of speakers I dont have a dedicated room-the room is a long rectangle that holds the dining room and living/TV room that can fit in the space that jr toy collection hasnt yet filled :?

So the TX room is Square ish with one side open.

Any advice would be appreciated

Postby X_Factor » February 13th, 2015, 1:11 pm

wat i was toldis the hdmi carries a digital signal so its either they work or not

so the amazon cables are fine
atm i am using 30$ cables from super tech

analog is different and you will want a better cable---rca's and speaker cable since the really cheap types are no good

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 13th, 2015, 1:22 pm

^ correct - just get cables that are compatible with HDMI 1.4 and have audio return etc - most cables will offer that.
Redman wrote:Great thread,
After 7 years of faithful service my plasma died...so I just bought a
Samsung UN55H6203 55-Inch 1080p 120Hz Smart LED TV

Its on its way down.
In the mean time Im trying to figure the way forward..

In terms of the hooking up to the DVD and Audio:

The TV has only 2 HDMI inputs-so I think I will need a switch-any recommendations?
I think you should get a new receiver with HDMI inputs / outputs. This will be the "switch" you are looking for. A new receiver will also decode and play all the HD digital audio formats correctly rather than trying to pass it through the TV. The TV should really just be a monitor, not used for audio.

the best way to connect your home theater is to plug your TV into the HDMI OUT of the receiver and then plug all your devices, bluray players, CD players, xbox, appleTV, cable box, roku, Wii, Playstation etc into the HDMI IN on the receiver.

Postby Redman » February 13th, 2015, 4:51 pm

Well look how I would have bought HDMi cable and have no ports.
and now having looked at it it really eh have :(
steups.
Well buying another receiver aint an option right now -So I will have to stick with what I have.

thanks for the info...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 13th, 2015, 6:17 pm

Redman wrote:Well look how I would have bought HDMi cable and have no ports.
steups.
Well buying another receiver aint an option right now -So I will have to stick with what I have.

thanks for the info...
IMO a receiver is the centre of any good HT setup.

Do you currently have a Playstation or Xbox or other media player?

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 13th, 2015, 6:48 pm

Morpheus wrote: where sells good powered subwoofers locally?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 13th, 2015, 7:05 pm

^triniwattage use to,dunno if they still do. Their website has info that they carry Definitive Technology line though.

Postby Redman » February 13th, 2015, 8:00 pm

steups.

thanks for the info...

No ps or x box...
And I hear you re the receiver but that would be way down on the list of the current priorities.
I have to live with what we have...see comment about existing in jr s unused space :P
Joys of parent hood..

Maybe Xmas
Andtobesides..the 1801 is bang ing.
So then given the constraints what's the best cables to use?.
Last edited by Redman on February 13th, 2015, 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Morpheus » February 13th, 2015, 8:04 pm

ru$$ell wrote:^triniwattage use to,dunno if they still do. Their website has info that they carry Definitive Technology line though.

Never heard the brand. Have to google it.

Thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 13th, 2015, 8:05 pm

Redman wrote:
steups.

thanks for the info...

No ps or x box...
And I hear you re the receiver but that would be way down on the list of the current priorities.
I have to live with what we have...see comment about existing in jr s unused space :P
Joys of parent hood..

Maybe Xmas

So then given the constraints what's the best cables to use?.
yup I hear you re kids!!! I have two 1yr olds and a 7yr old - toys everywhere.

I'm trying to figure out what to suggest to you. What were you planning to connect the TV to? Just flow cable TV? You mentioned a DVD player. Is it actually DVD or is it bluray?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 13th, 2015, 8:06 pm

^ one of the best lines out there when it comes to HT speakers

Postby Morpheus » February 13th, 2015, 8:35 pm

ru$$ell wrote:^ one of the best lines out there when it comes to HT speakers

I'm guessing this was in response to my post.

Thanks man
Last edited by Morpheus on February 13th, 2015, 8:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 13th, 2015, 8:37 pm

russel i think i saw somewhere that u brought a sunfire, how is that working for you.

Postby Redman » February 13th, 2015, 8:43 pm

Just dvd...seems I've been blessed...bought the set up and it's lasted over 10 years.
Of course that 10 years has now left me behind
And since the TV was just a regular plasma circa 2007 I figured that blu Ray would be a waste when the only fackin thing we watchis despicable me 2.....and the bazillion Thomas,chuggington and God forsaken Barney dvd s ....

In my head I'm planning to set up the TV with the the receiver and speakers..as is ....improving as best as possible the connections ....

Content..I will test drive Netflix since it comes with the TV..and the next step is the roku.(based on your write up on the other thread) once I get a feel for our usage re its content.
Im a news/history/ documentary junky...so I'm cautious in loading up with content that we don't use...

Said jr is here haranging me for the iPad.
So that's it for now

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 13th, 2015, 9:41 pm

Redman wrote:Just dvd...seems I've been blessed...bought the set up and it's lasted over 10 years.
Of course that 10 years has now left me behind
And since the TV was just a regular plasma circa 2007 I figured that blu Ray would be a waste when the only fackin thing we watchis despicable me 2.....and the bazillion Thomas,chuggington and God forsaken Barney dvd s ....

In my head I'm planning to set up the TV with the the receiver and speakers..as is ....improving as best as possible the connections ....

Content..I will test drive Netflix since it comes with the TV..and the next step is the roku.(based on your write up on the other thread) once I get a feel for our usage re its content.
Im a news/history/ documentary junky...so I'm cautious in loading up with content that we don't use...

Said jr is here haranging me for the iPad.
So that's it for now
if all you have right now is DVD then you do not need HDMI cables.
HDMI is for HD content and DVD is SD content, so go ahead and get some good RCA composite cables, and an optical audio cable to return audio from the TV to the receiver and you should be good for now.

netflix is the greatest thing for Kids. Plus you can set up a profile for Jr. and set it to toddlers or young kids to limit the content. TONS of kids content there!

The Roku works well for the Kids too with PBS Kids, Netflix, Discovery Kids etc. PBS kids is free!
that's also a ton of content for kids.

Roku is where i get all my news, science space, documentaries, history channel etc - definitely worth it for that. But Roku is HDMI only. You can connect the Roku to the TV with an HDMI cable and use an RCA or optical cable from the TV to the receiver to get sound off the Roku.

Composite video cable
http://www.amazon.com/Monster-M650-CV-8 ... 001H543SC/
get one for the DVD OUT to the receiver
one from the TV OUT to the receiver
and one from the flow cable box to the receiver

optical cable
http://www.amazon.com/Mediabridge-Tosli ... 004LT2C5W/
You only need one of these

Postby X_Factor » February 13th, 2015, 9:52 pm

^get some decent mid line RCA's
that would be about the best you can do since the receiver can only handle composite inputs

get about 3-4 sets of this
http://www.amazon.com/Monster-MC-700CV- ... AP7ADW325E

and its about the best picture and sound you will have untill you upgrade the receiver
remember those are 1 meter cables so make sure they are long enough

i suppose to have some decent 6ft cables somewhere upstairs if u around UWI area hit me a pm
you could use that from the receiver to the tv

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 13th, 2015, 9:58 pm

^ the cables X_Factor posted there are a model higher but cheaper than what I posted - so go for the RCA he posted

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 14th, 2015, 5:37 am

lancer3 wrote:russel i think i saw somewhere that u brought a sunfire, how is that working for you.

Wanted to a long time ago, but the seller on Audiogon flaked on me

Postby Redman » February 14th, 2015, 9:21 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ the cables X_Factor posted there are a model higher but cheaper than what I posted - so go for the RCA he posted

Thank you both for the time and info..

.I've ordered the optical cable, and 3 sets of the mc 700 composite. 2M.

After spending some time on crutch field site I'm thouroughly depressed.
Goal is now to upgrade to another Denon receiver by end of year

Thanks again,

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 14th, 2015, 11:09 pm

get the Roku 3 now if you can. Get the new receiver later on and then you will be good to go!
Yamaha is also very good and at a good price point.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 15th, 2015, 11:56 am

jus got these
1424015637741.jpg

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 15th, 2015, 12:10 pm

^noice,cost landed?

Postby Morpheus » February 15th, 2015, 12:48 pm

Those look nice.....

Postby Morpheus » February 15th, 2015, 12:50 pm

I bought this in December....

Yamaha RX475

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 15th, 2015, 2:23 pm

lancer3 wrote:jus got these
Klipsch Reference bookshelves - nice!

post a review when you have a listen
what's driving them?

Postby X_Factor » February 15th, 2015, 2:32 pm

^ 2 things
1) apart from a seperate processor --outlaw, emotiva
whats the latest receiver with pre-outs for the 5.1/7.1/2 mix?
not really seeing any atm..

2) is 5k a good price for a pair of used RF 82's ( one owner, had it in a 2.1 more audiophile set up)

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 15th, 2015, 3:23 pm

@russel got them landed for $2880. Got away from getting raped by skybox,dey valued it for $46usd

@duane, want to get a gud listen b4 i complete d set.need to get some stands make for them.will review then.

Using this for them
1424028201211.jpg

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 15th, 2015, 3:45 pm

Rf82 for 5k thats a gud deal, u should jump on it once its in gud condition or pass me on to d link.lol.

Duane dont kno y i cant post a pic tru d app. Keeps sayin i got to login