*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 9:35 am

So am hunting for a Home Theater System, wanted to know what are the better ones on the market. If you tuners have any personal home theaters and have any advice in buying one.

Post your info on home theater systems an tuners may also post pics of their entertainment system setup and configuration.

Last edited by sharkman121 on November 25th, 2009, 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 9:55 am

^ some home theatre pros consider HTIAB (home theater in a box) and all-in-one packages as low end.

it all depends on your budget
middle range home theater is actually more along the lines of buying separate components with an A/V receiver costing between US$800 to US$1200 and speakers around the same price or a little higher. What ever DVD/Blu-ray player you want is your choice.

you can fill a barrel from numerous shipping companies in Miami for ~US$150 and the duty will almost always be 20% plus VAT. Shop online for Black Friday etc to get the best prices

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 10:05 am

Thanks, that price range seems a little extreme though.
My budget is pretty small though, generally between $150 and $300US.
Saw some pretty decent middle end ones on amazon.com for about that price range...like the one in the picture..

Not looking for hair raising mind blowing sound, jus sumthin pretty decent to use on my samsung 56" :D

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 24th, 2009, 10:41 am

sharkman- well if youre looking at that then its probably you stay with a LOW end system and buy a theatre in a biox system as Duane mentioned, go to radio shack, courts or some on of those electronic shops int eh mall and buy a cheapy!

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 10:49 am

^ a hair raising mind blowing video and sound would be from a Pioneer Elite Kuro 60" Plasma for US$6000, a set of Paradigm Signature W5 speakers for US$16,394, a JL Audio Fathom f212 sub for US$2800.00 and perhaps a Pioneer Elite SC-09TX A/V receiver for about US$5800.
LOL

seriously though as with anything you get what you pay for
if you want to buy a HTIAB
check bestbuy.com
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Home-Theate ... 6600050005

and read up on HTIAB systems on cnet etc
http://reviews.cnet.com/home-theater-sy ... ting7+desc

Samsung got their highest rating

Samsung makes excellent players and TV's - but they make terrible speakers
Onkyo, Yamaha and Denon make great receivers but they also make crappy speakers.
Pioneer makes excellent TV's players and receivers and have ok speakers. However their speakers at that price range are going to be crap too.

read read read!

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 10:50 am

hmm... i see.

Thanks for the info though.

Well i guess am not ready for that level of entertainment where i buy a receiver for $1200US and then still have to go buy speakers etc.

Still liking the one in the picture tho but im seeing ill have to rethink my steps on how i go about it. :D

invaluable info nonetheless though.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 11:03 am

all depends on your budget,check this thread out

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=254348

my ht system,gotta update pics,went with a mini-itx htpc,
http://www.blu-ray.com/community/galler ... derid=2139

as evo-STI-k,check radioshack.On HT systems,their prices arent half bad
Last edited by ru$$ell on December 27th, 2009, 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 11:12 am

^ very cool Russel!

sharkman121 wrote:hmm... i see.

Thanks for the info though.

Well i guess am not ready for that level of entertainment where i buy a receiver for $1200US and then still have to go buy speakers etc.

Still liking the one in the picture tho but im seeing ill have to rethink my steps on how i go about it. :D

invaluable info nonetheless though.

if all you want to spend is US$150-US$300 then HTIAB is your ONLY option
unless you want to just buy a virtual surround sound bar

you CAN get great sound and video at a reasonable price though

a Yamaha RX-V361 5.1 receiver - US$109
http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V361BL- ... 55&sr=1-13

Polk Audio 5.1 speakers - US$210
http://www.amazon.com/Polk-Audio-Channe ... 066&sr=1-1

Phillips DVD player - upconverts to 1080p - US$49.99
http://www.amazon.com/Philips-DVP3980-H ... 290&sr=1-8

or

Sony Blu-ray player - HDMI - also upconverts - US$134
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-BDP-S360-108 ... 439&sr=1-3

at this level dont spend money on expensive HDMI cables and speaker wire

BTW - what TV are you running this on?

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 11:34 am

A 56" samsung DLP, already have HDMI cables used to run to the ps3.

Before this i had no idea what a HTIAB was or the kind of money needed for a quality system.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 11:36 am

^ thats a photo from gamespot
http://www.gamespot.com/pages/forums/sh ... 241&page=3

or you just showing us an example of the tv you have?

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2009, 11:40 am

Duane, in my opinion, there is no need to spend that much on a HT amplifier. 300US is more than enough for a very good low to middle end amp.

The infiniti primus speakers in Radioshack are pretty good, I have a set for center and surround duties and paradigm atoms for the mains. They are small, but sound amazing. I build a sub box with a plate amp and car sub for surprising performance froma system that was build slowly over time.

If you are a DIY person, this is a good option.

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2009, 11:44 am

it never ends...

good luck

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 11:50 am

crazybalhead wrote:If you are a DIY person,

key factor

no doubt - but the bells and whistles are what you pay for on the more expensive receivers - internet and home network capability, Pro Logic IIz, multi zones, number of inputs and outputs and quality of the amplifiers.

If you are using a plate amp and have little needs in terms of the above then any decent receiver will work.

look at the list I recommended for him

I always wonder what's in a pair of Martin Logan electrostatic speakers that have to cost US$20,000.

BTW Paradigm atoms are sweeeet

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 11:50 am

Actually the image above was jus an example, this is my setup..

I have no problem with shelling out more money for a quality product, just not a ridiculous amout for a difference id barely notice..

Id definitely checkout radioshack and their receivers, to look for a quality system..

Any particular brand, i already have a dvd and blu-ray player on the ps3....wanted something for the quality sound and also stylish to match the decor of my livingroom.

crazybalhead, wat does DIY mean?

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2009, 11:53 am

http://www.frys.com/product/5885353?sit ... IN_RSLT_PG

^ you can still enjoy the logans for less

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 11:54 am

sharkman121 wrote:Id definitely checkout radioshack and their receivers, to look for a quality system..

check them out - you can get a decent Onkyo 7.1 setup in Radioshack and they will honor the warranty

DIY means Do It Yourself
meaning build the speaker box yourself

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » November 24th, 2009, 12:05 pm

Bose!!!!! or polk audio!!! 0X

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 24th, 2009, 12:07 pm

good luck finding a pioneer elite anywhere, no longer make tvs :(

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 24th, 2009, 12:08 pm

bassotronics wrote:Bose!!!!! or polk audio!!! 0X

How dear you say Bose in the same sentence as Polk Audio .

Bose = Fail

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2009, 12:08 pm

Bose is sheit.

Polk Audio is OK.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 24th, 2009, 12:08 pm

Dragist wrote:

Bose = overpriced Fail

fixed

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 12:15 pm

Freelander wrote:
Dragist wrote:

Bose = overpriced Fail

fixed

Are u serious, you mean all these years i was misled to believe Bose was the King of Kings when it comes to audio quality?

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2009, 12:16 pm

Correct. I also find their electronics do not last.

The sound quality is not very good, at least not for the price. Read some reviews online.

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 12:16 pm

Then again, all i know about that is the bias commercials i see on tv.

Postby AllTrac » November 24th, 2009, 12:17 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
Freelander wrote:
Dragist wrote:

Bose = overpriced Fail

fixed

Are u serious, you mean all these years i was misled to believe Bose was the King of Kings when it comes to audio quality?

because you bought into the hype, do your own research, get actual user reviews, join groups and forums for audiophiles etc.

apple

Postby apple » November 24th, 2009, 12:18 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ thats a photo from gamespot
http://www.gamespot.com/pages/forums/sh ... 241&page=3

or you just showing us an example of the tv you have?

:? man cyar post a picture without you knowing the source? :roll:

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 12:19 pm

i do my own research, its jus this subject matter never interested me before. I also dont believe everything i hear, thats why when i want a real opinion on a subject matter i go certain places firstly, here being one of them....also reading reviews online....then again thats just for subject matter that im interested in.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 24th, 2009, 12:21 pm

i will look for an article, on another forums this guy links the actual speakers bose uses and it retails for 30-50 US

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 24th, 2009, 12:22 pm

Freelander

Postby Freelander » November 24th, 2009, 12:23 pm

dam u dragist ur fast for an ole guy :lol: