Official BlackBerry Thread

Re: RIM / BlackBerry Thread

Postby S_2NR » July 27th, 2012, 12:13 am

sound boy 64 wrote:whats the best case available for a blackberry in terms of protection general. mostly to falls and drops

protection ..otterbox

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 27th, 2012, 10:36 am

S_2NR wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:whats the best case available for a blackberry in terms of protection general. mostly to falls and drops

protection ..otterbox

http://www.otterbox.com/blackberry-case ... lt,sc.html

Postby Trini Hookah » July 27th, 2012, 11:17 am

S_2NR wrote:

protection ..otterbox

x2...if you skimp on it, you'd only pay for it later on with a broken screen/new housing etc.

mista25

Blackberry Thread - RIM Going out of Business

Postby mista25 » July 27th, 2012, 11:09 pm

Tuners ,

Read the following and comment -

With last week’s dismal quarterly earnings report beginning to sink in, analysts are sounding even more pessimistic about Research In Motion than they were before.

One such analyst, speaking on CNBC Tuesday, said the Waterloo, Ontario-based maker of the BlackBerry is headed out of business as the smartphone market coalesces around Apple's iPhone and Samsung phones running Android.

At the same time, another analyst suggested a corporate takeover of RIM -- a preferred option among many market observers -- isn't happening.

Asked on CNBC Tuesday if there was room in the market for RIM in a world increasingly dominated by Apple’s iPhone and Android phones, Piper Jaffray analyst Gene Munster replied “no.”

“Research In Motion is out of business,” Munster said, listing off a number of other phone makers -- including Nokia -- that he believes won’t survive in the new Apple- and Samsung-dominated era of smartphone and tablet computers.

As RIM released a series of underwhelming earnings reports last year, rumours swirled about one way the company could solve its problems -- a takeover by another, more profitable, tech firm.

But, with the company last week recording another disappointing quarter, analysts say this avenue is beginning to close.

FourG63 97GST

Postby FourG63 97GST » July 28th, 2012, 7:22 pm

RIM is dead, get familiar with IOS or Android now....or wait till the bridge in the water to cross over

Postby Ted_v2 » July 28th, 2012, 7:34 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

protection ..otterbox

x2...if you skimp on it, you'd only pay for it later on with a broken screen/new housing etc.

:lol: i hear you, ill pickup a otterbox this week

007_1

Postby 007_1 » July 29th, 2012, 1:10 am

recently my 8520 started freezing regularly and has 2 be restarted ever so often. any suggestions on how this problem can be rectified?

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » July 29th, 2012, 1:19 am

007_1 wrote:recently my 8520 started freezing regularly and has 2 be restarted ever so often. any suggestions on how this problem can be rectified?

Buy a better blackberry

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 2:20 am

metalgear2095 wrote:
007_1 wrote:recently my 8520 started freezing regularly and has 2 be restarted ever so often. any suggestions on how this problem can be rectified?

Buy a better blackberry

X2. 8520 is mess

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » July 29th, 2012, 10:41 am

Could be a software problem. Uninstall the OS and install it again. Check your apps too. I once downloaded a theme which caused by 9300 to freeze and restart every so often. Delete any apps, themes, etc that you think might be causing a problem.

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » July 29th, 2012, 11:57 am

kevinknr wrote:

Could be a software problem. Uninstall the OS and install it again. Check your apps too. I once downloaded a theme which caused by 9300 to freeze and restart every so often. Delete any apps, themes, etc that you think might be causing a problem.

But back them up first eh, then delete them all see if that solves your problem.

If it does reinstall them one by one and see which one causes the problem.
I usually use BBSAK for third party apps.

Postby S_2NR » July 29th, 2012, 1:29 pm

my first bb was a 8520 and once i having more that 5bbm convos at once it used to stick. :|

that phone is junk

Postby Ted_v2 » July 29th, 2012, 3:19 pm

S_2NR wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Buy a better blackberry

X2. 8520 is mess

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » July 29th, 2012, 4:15 pm

Guys got a playbook that served well thus far. Last week charge went to 0% and didn't use it for a couple days so battery went flat out dead. No LED lights nothing. Its in an otterbox since purchase and thankfully still has never fell.
Did some research online and this seems to be a common issue and I have tried all the methods to revive the playbook including:
1. Hold power and +vol to hard start
2. Stack charging 2mins connected to charger, 2 mins off foe 10 cycles++

What I haven't done:
1. Connect rapid charger
2. Sent to RIM (not a year old yet)

NOTE: I suspect that the usb port may have been damaged by my younger brother. It is seemingly off center but not sure if it was like that to begin with. I am also using the original wall charger, which I verified to be working by charging my phone.

Any help is appreciated, if someone has a rapid charger I can try that would be great also. Thanks

007_1

Postby 007_1 » July 31st, 2012, 6:11 am

sound boy 64 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:

Buy a better blackberry

X2. 8520 is mess

next year is android

Postby tr1ad » July 31st, 2012, 8:48 am

Romany wrote:Guys got a playbook that served well thus far. Last week charge went to 0% and didn't use it for a couple days so battery went flat out dead. No LED lights nothing. Its in an otterbox since purchase and thankfully still has never fell.
Did some research online and this seems to be a common issue and I have tried all the methods to revive the playbook including:
1. Hold power and +vol to hard start
2. Stack charging 2mins connected to charger, 2 mins off foe 10 cycles++

What I haven't done:
1. Connect rapid charger
2. Sent to RIM (not a year old yet)

NOTE: I suspect that the usb port may have been damaged by my younger brother. It is seemingly off center but not sure if it was like that to begin with. I am also using the original wall charger, which I verified to be working by charging my phone.

Any help is appreciated, if someone has a rapid charger I can try that would be great also. Thanks

leave it plugged in overnight with the original charger it came with, a bb phone charger would not work, neither would plugging in via usb

Postby j.o.e » July 31st, 2012, 8:55 am

Hmmm...so the PB charger works differently? I always find that my PB charges really slowly...think I may have been using the phone charger most times.

Postby tr1ad » July 31st, 2012, 9:34 am

http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry ... ok-719136/

this is what i've read in the past from that link

but i've always used the mrs playbook charger for my phone, never vice versa

Postby j.o.e » July 31st, 2012, 9:39 am

Makes sense. Will consistently use the PB charger and report findings

casper

Postby casper » July 31st, 2012, 9:44 am

if u use ur phone charger then it wont charge anywhere as fast as if you use the PB charger....i dont know whats the volt difference between BB's phones and tablet chargers but i know that apple iphone chargers are 5v and their ipads are 10v so it means if it takes an ipad 7 hours to charge from 0 - 100% with the ipad charger it will take 14 hours if u use an iphone charger to charge the ipad...

so the same thing should apply for the blackberry tablet and phone chargers i believe as well...not jusrt cuz it looks the same means it will charge the same....check the voltage on the both and my advice is u try to leave it plugged in with the PB charger for a half day and see if you get back ur charge

tardissubie

Postby tardissubie » August 1st, 2012, 4:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:
Romany wrote:I am also using the original wall charger, which I verified to be working by charging my phone.

leave it plugged in overnight with the original charger it came with, a bb phone charger would not work, neither would plugging in via usb

I left it plugged in for two days using the original pb charger...I have done some good research spent a day trying methods like stack charging, connecting to pc, different outlets...sigh -__-

Where in Trini can someone:
1. Let me use a rapid charger
2. Test the functionality of the usb port

Thanks for the responses guys, contacting and sending to RIM is my last resort for now.
again thanks 8-)

stikid09

Postby stikid09 » August 2nd, 2012, 12:10 am

I have a 9650, the original charger would charge the phone for a few seconds after plugged in then the little black icon would come up on the battery icon. (Indicating charging source error).

What causes this problem with a charger?

Because other chargers/USB works fine.

napster16

Postby napster16 » August 4th, 2012, 11:58 am

battlefield 3

Postby battlefield 3 » August 4th, 2012, 12:20 pm

^^how u get that hoss

Postby Chimera » August 4th, 2012, 12:33 pm

many phones come with 255 tries instead of ten

thats the screen to enter the unlock code

napster16

Postby napster16 » August 4th, 2012, 12:58 pm

ABA like u see that before ?

trivan

Postby trivan » August 4th, 2012, 2:11 pm

new 9860 for sale cheap 2250

Postby Stephon. » August 4th, 2012, 2:35 pm

napster16 wrote:ABA like u see that before ?

I dunno, he might have :lol:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » August 4th, 2012, 5:49 pm

CL9_EURO wrote:
Dion76 wrote:
CL9_EURO wrote:
avenall wrote:so i have this blackberry 9780 and the screen recently broke. i bought a new screen from amazon and replaced it and the screen is appearing white. the phone got a dent ontop by the play/mute botton that was big from a fall about 2 weeks before the screen broke. anyone know what is the problem and how to solve it.?

you purchased the wrong version of the screen.
blackberries have different screen versions for the same phone.

There is a way to get the phone to use any version of the lcd but you will loose all info on the phone.

how is it possible to get the phone to use any version lcd? what has to be done.

There is some special software from RIM that can configure the phone to use any version of the LCD.

yeah this is legit, i got the software for 8520,9300,9700,9780,9100, 9930,9800 & 9860, i tested it out on a 9780 so far and it works, the 9780 was using a 004 screen so i put in a 001 lcd and it came on white, ran the software, loaded back the os and the screen started showing, excellent software.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » August 23rd, 2012, 10:03 pm

Have a BB 9900 and it got the dumb overnight brick bug. I've tried EVERY single way I can think of to reload the OS but it just keeps getting stuck at 'Reconnecting to JVM'. Tried pulling the battery out reinserting etc etc nothing. Has anyone gotten the bug and managed to fix it ? Please help, don't want a $3,000 paper weight :(