Chopper Chat Thread

NorStar2K

Re: Chopper Chat Thread

Postby NorStar2K » June 26th, 2017, 8:00 pm

National Helicopter Services Ltd. receives an Airbus H135 (EC135) and a Leonardo Helicopters AW139 (AgustaWestland).

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » June 29th, 2017, 8:15 pm

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/fou ... 00-million

Four crime-fighting helicopters to be grounded; Cabinet decides against $200 million maintenance fee
Date:
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 17:00

Four AgustaWestland AW139 helicopters currently operated by the Air Guard and used in anti-crime operations will be grounded as the Cabinet has taken a decision not to continue a $200 million maintenance contract over the next year.

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley said the government just could not afford that payment at this time, given the current economic climate.

"Today we took a decision at the level of the Cabinet that we are not in a position to pay $200 million to maintain our four Augusta helicopters for one year. We just can't afford that and if we can't afford it the helicopters will stay on the ground," Dr Rowley said.

He said the Cabinet had to consider whether spending $200 million to maintain the helicopters was the best allocation of money in the fight against crime.

Asked how the authorities will fill the void left by the lack of air-advantage, Dr Rowley said there are other helicopters in the country that can be used.

"We are not without helicopters. The National Helicopter Service is there and we must as why is the National Helicopter Service not playing a role? But we cannot continue paying 200 million for a foreign company to maintain the helicopters for 12 months. Clearly, at a time when we don’t have the money, we have to look at other alternatives," he said.

In response to a reporter's question, he said the possibility of selling the helicopters is not off table but is not under consideration at this time.

AgustaWestland, a Finmeccanica company, announced in 2010 that the government of Trinidad and Tobago had signed a contract to purchase four AW139 medium twin turbine helicopters.

At the time, it was announced that the Trinidad and Tobago's Air Guard (TTAG) would have established a dedicated unit to use these helicopters for search and rescue, surface surveillance, law enforcement, drug interdiction and disaster relief operations.

The contract, comprising the aircraft and support package, was valued at US$348 million.

Postby Dizzy28 » June 30th, 2017, 9:39 am

So NHSL having purchased the AW 139 wold be maintaining it how?
Can't TTAG and NHSL pool and share costs and resources here?

And what becomes of the AW 139 simulator UTT has at Camden (still in boxes) that was a part of the initial purchase package for the TTAG birds?

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 30th, 2017, 9:44 am

well we do need stadiums after all right.

fokkin dumb piece of sheitt PM

hunter2021

Postby hunter2021 » July 3rd, 2017, 8:58 pm

EX N718P
9Y-PHI S76

EX N725P
EX N787P

9Y-PHA ? 9Y-PHB ?
Hi, can you help me complete these records?

photo @jetstreamtt

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » September 4th, 2017, 8:54 pm

Some beautiful photographs here. Thank you for sharing them. Anyone know what happened to the Bell 429s and Bell 412 ordered by the NOC?

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » September 9th, 2017, 8:48 am

Postby Chimera » September 9th, 2017, 9:53 am

i find this is a good thread for a potential terrorist to get information

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » September 23rd, 2017, 1:38 pm

What is the NHSL fleet at present? Last I checked 3 S-76C++ and 4-5 S-76D. Any Bo-105 and older S-76 left? Curious if they get more AW139 and EC-135s

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » September 24th, 2017, 8:39 am

sbmvv wrote:What is the NHSL fleet at present? Last I checked 3 S-76C++ and 4-5 S-76D. Any Bo-105 and older S-76 left? Curious if they get more AW139 and EC-135s

Curious :lol: :lol:

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » September 25th, 2017, 5:18 pm

Could the four AW139 be used to support the aid efforts after the recent hurricanes?

Also the interception of narcotics, etc as defenses may be down ...............

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » September 26th, 2017, 2:05 pm

dude2014 wrote:Could the four AW139 be used to support the aid efforts after the recent hurricanes?

Also the interception of narcotics, etc as defenses may be down ...............

The TTAG AW139 fleet has been grounded (per helihub) since July 3rd. This fleet would have been ideal to support aid efforts. Good range, payload, winches, trained crews etc.

With respect to narcotics, there is definitely now a gap (plus two TTCG patrol vessels are now in Dominica). NOC choppers maybe can fill the gap? Haven't seen them flying as much.

Shaking my head in disbelief that we allowed this to happen to the TTAG AW139 fleet.

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » September 27th, 2017, 6:42 am

sbmvv wrote:Some beautiful photographs here. Thank you for sharing them. Anyone know what happened to the Bell 429s and Bell 412 ordered by the NOC?

Order cancelled.

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » September 27th, 2017, 12:37 pm

NorStar2K wrote:
sbmvv wrote:Some beautiful photographs here. Thank you for sharing them. Anyone know what happened to the Bell 429s and Bell 412 ordered by the NOC?

Order cancelled.

Cancelled? Oh boy. Litigation to follow? Right decision IMHO.

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » October 15th, 2017, 9:54 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20171014 ... litigation

government is facing almost $600m in litigation over contracts for five new helicopters and a state-of-the-art aircraft hangar.

The helicopters and hangar were specially commissioned for Trinidad and Tobago and are parked up in the United States and Australia, respectively, awaiting payments to effect their delivery.

The former People's Partnership government had signed two contracts totalling $585 million, one for the building of five helicopters and the other for the construction and fabrication of a new hangar to be installed in Cumuto.

Postby pugboy » October 15th, 2017, 11:40 am

this might be a worser taxpayer liability than lifesport $34m

sbmvv

Postby sbmvv » October 15th, 2017, 11:40 am

As predicted. There were some issues with this that were not picked up in the story, including the fact that Garvin Heerah was not an accounting officer for the purpose of contract signing. Has this aspect been rectified? If not, this will get messy. Sad though. We need choppers. Introducing an entirely new family though...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2017, 12:55 pm

this is the image published by the Express
AR-171019829.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » October 15th, 2017, 12:58 pm

Had NOC gotten those they would have had more helis than TTAG??

info-maniac

Postby info-maniac » October 15th, 2017, 1:00 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:this is the image published by the Express

Waiting to track it!
Hahaha
[img]//uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171015/9f8929351a3b97c7762331818d7e9286.jpg[/img]

Adb-s anyone?

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » November 22nd, 2017, 2:16 pm

Anyone got pics of NHSLs latest additions? I know one looked like an AW-139, and the other may be a Eurocopter

TriP

Postby TriP » November 22nd, 2017, 5:59 pm

Two new Helicopters have been added to the fleet at National Helicopters Service Limited :

The Leonardo HW139 is a twin engine aircraft that can accommodate 2 Pilots and 12 Passengers.

The EC135 is smaller aircraft that can accommodate 1 Pilot and 6 Passengers.
23847152_1242223369212722_4510704500327839660_o.jpg
23845718_1242223275879398_276818461671453888_o.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 22nd, 2017, 7:05 pm

on the port
ab7f6755-b94e-4bf1-acfd-9c51ea4754e9.jpg

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » November 22nd, 2017, 7:13 pm

My Christmas present now reach ....Worl Boss cyah out do me. BODOOOW !!!!

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » December 1st, 2017, 10:48 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:on the port

private company

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » February 13th, 2018, 8:25 am

Postby tr1ad » February 13th, 2018, 1:32 pm

Last flight of the 412 with Bristow

mrtrini45

Postby mrtrini45 » February 22nd, 2018, 3:37 pm

9Y-DDG N721BG
Last edited by mrtrini45 on January 19th, 2019, 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

greatbear

Postby greatbear » February 23rd, 2018, 11:57 am

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » February 23rd, 2018, 11:59 am

Latest addition to the S-76D fleet?