1pat

Postby Greypatch » April 7th, 2010, 10:01 am

got mines yesterday... :D

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 9:54 am

Android Market gets 9,000 new apps in March, world domination can't be far behind

Wanna know what exponential growth looks like? Try following Android's progress over the past few months and you'll be treated to plenty of rapidly ascending charts. This latest one from AndroLib is no different, illustrating as it does the ever-increasing influx of new games and applications for Google's mobile platform. Developers must clearly believe Android's growing market share is only going to keep expanding, as last month saw their most productive output yet, with a sweet 9,308 new additions to the Market. Naturally, the same proviso applies as with Apple's inflated App Store numbers -- quantity does not guarantee quality -- but what we're witnessing is surely the solidification of Android as a legitimate and fully fledged member of the smartphone OS upper echelon. And that can only be a good thing.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/08/andr ... nation-ca/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 8th, 2010, 10:00 am

honda hoe wrote:wat good apps should i install?

use this site to see the latest & greatest apps

http://www.appbrain.com/

Postby Greypatch » April 8th, 2010, 10:11 am

nice

Postby Greypatch » April 21st, 2010, 1:32 pm

fellas I am having problems with my GPRS.

Do you have the ANP settings to use ?

Bmobile West Mall seems to be lost.

Postby RASC » April 21st, 2010, 1:45 pm

Greypatch, What did you get?

Postby Greypatch » April 21st, 2010, 1:51 pm

Google Nexus One

GPRS not working on it.

I suspect the ANP settings are not correct...as they took over 25 mins with the phone in West Mall.

Postby honda hoe » April 21st, 2010, 2:20 pm

patch

go into settings

wireless & networks

mobile networks

access point names

then input the following info.....

Name = Bmobile

APN = Internet

Proxy = 192.168.210.104

Port = 8080

Server = 192.168.210.104

MCC = 374

MNC = 129

any other settings u see leave it as <Not set>

Postby Greypatch » April 21st, 2010, 2:54 pm

honda hoe wrote:patch

go into settings

wireless & networks

mobile networks

access point names

then input the following info.....

Name = Bmobile

APN = Internet

Proxy = 192.168.210.104

Port = 8080

Server = 192.168.210.104

MCC = 374

MNC = 129

any other settings u see leave it as <Not set>

hoe each time i try to change the MNC number from 12 to 129
it removes the bmobile setting information

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 4:25 pm

i didnt change any settings. i jus put name = bmobile and apn = internet and it worked...

Postby honda hoe » April 21st, 2010, 5:24 pm

Mitch do u have mms?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 7:13 pm

i set it up but never got msgs to go thru...

Postby Greypatch » April 21st, 2010, 7:16 pm

mitch wrote:i didnt change any settings. i jus put name = bmobile and apn = internet and it worked...

wtf...how come i seeing so much stress ?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 8:02 pm

is the 'use 2G networks only' option checked?

if it is, try unchecking it and see if it works

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2010, 8:04 pm

just a suggestion, change the apn to mms in the net settings. Sometimes that's an issue in ipwns and make sure the homepage is:
http://192.168.210.104/mmrelay.app
for mms
;)

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 8:10 pm

Dell Thunder explodes Android with 4.1-inch OLED screen, promises Hulu app

It's like Dell's making up for lost time with smartphones: while "Lightning" is the company's answer to Windows Phone extravagance, the Dell Thunder that's leaking out along side does up Android 2.1 with similar aplomb and a 4.1-inch WVGA OLED screen. There's a heavily custom Dell "Stage" UI on top, which seems much different (and classier) than what we've seen on the Streak or Aero. It apparently ties into Facebook and Twitter for social networking, and taps Swype for a touchscreen keyboard replacement, along with grabbing just a pinch of HTC's Sense good looks. Dell's document also claims this has Flash 10.1 for watching web videos, along with a mention of an "integrated web video Hulu app." We're not sure how that works, but hopefully it's everything we ever dreamed mobile Hulu could be. Under the hood we'd guess there's the same Snapdragon chip that's powering the Lightning, but we don't have specific specs. There is supposed to be an 8 megapixel camera, however, and the phone will be sold in AT&T and world-friendly HSDPA versions around Q4 of this year, with an LTE model to follow near the end of 2011. We can hardly wait.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/21/dell ... n-promise/

Postby Greypatch » April 21st, 2010, 8:24 pm

mitch wrote:is the 'use 2G networks only' option checked?

did that it does not work with it on or off..

what setting do you have mitch ? on or off

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 8:24 pm

Android 2.2 Froyo Update for Nexus One is On the Horizon

Great news for Android users! If you have been waiting for an update to Android 2.1, well your prayers have been half-answered. There’s now a huge possibility that a major OTA update is coming soon. Rumor has it that the Google branded Nexus One is going to be the first handset to get the update. But for other Android phones, 2.2 update may still be far off considering the fact that many are still stuck on version 1.6, let alone 2.x.

The evidence of Android 2.2 comes from Google Analytics report of Android and Me site, which has found hits coming in from the said version of the operating system. While these numbers can be faked, there is a high chance that this is the real deal and an update will be soon on your way!

Android 2.2 is currently said to be on the testing benches and is likely to be announced on May 19th on the opening day of Google I/O conference.

The features about the update are all rumored and nothing is confirmed. Here’s a list of updates which we might see.

* Touch screen optimization
* Low image quality of thumbnails on the Motorola Droid will be fixed
* Flash 10.1 support
* Some minor UI tweaks
* New Applications
* Free additional RAM
* OpenGL ES 2.0 enhancements
* Enable FM radio
* Multicolored Trackball

http://www.redmondpie.com/android-2.2-f ... e-9140688/

Postby r3iXmann » April 21st, 2010, 8:24 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:just a suggestion, change the apn to mms in the net settings. Sometimes that's an issue in ipwns and make sure the homepage is:
for mms
;)

doesn't work

exhaustedly tried :lol:

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2010, 8:26 pm

2sad

anyway at least ulyuh SIM allowing GPRS, Bmobile broke mine :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 8:28 pm

Greypatch wrote:
mitch wrote:is the 'use 2G networks only' option checked?

did that it does not work with it on or off..

what setting do you have mitch ? on or off

dont have a data sim myself but i tried it with a friend's sim and as far as i remember, all i did was create a new APN, put name = bmobile and APN = internet then unchecked the 'use 2G networks only' option and it worked.

even went on to use the phone as a modem to get internet on a PC.

i'll try it again tom. and get back to u...

Postby Greypatch » April 21st, 2010, 8:36 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:just a suggestion, change the apn to mms in the net settings. Sometimes that's an issue in ipwns and make sure the homepage is:
for mms
;)

ok padner..you lost me there...

sorry i did not understand the advice...not that tech savy..

sadly this is my 1st smart phone

Postby r3iXmann » April 21st, 2010, 8:49 pm

1pat

i catching meh ass to install wm 6.5 on a htc touch here :|

this sheit complicated and it have no beginner's guide anywhere :x

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 9:25 pm

Dell Flash to offer Android Froyo in a 'dramatic' package

If Dell's vision of a mainstream Android device for 2011 ends up materializing, we're not sure we even need a high end anymore. Okay, that's not true -- we'll obviously be power freaks to the bitter end -- but the so-called "Flash" that we've just caught wind of (no relation to the Adobe product of the same name, as far as we can tell) looks to be a lovely piece of kit. Dell plans to fashion this thing out of a slice of "curved glass," topping out at 11mm thick with a 3.5-inch WVGA LCD, 850 / 1900 / 2100MHz HSPA topping out at 14.4Mbps down and 5.6Mbps "or better" on the upstream, a 5 megapixel autofocus cam with image stabilization and smile / blink detection, 512MB of RAM and ROM with microSD expansion up to 64GB (Dell's clearly assuming there'll be 64GB microSD cards by next year), WiFi, TV-out, 3.5mm headphone jack, Bluetooth 3.0, and a Qualcomm MSM7230 core humming along at 800MHz.

As you might recall, the MSM7230 is part of Qualcomm's next generation lineup of midrange smartphone cores, a series that looks to bring Snapdragon-class performance to the masses with HD video out capability and -- hopefully, anyway -- the performance you'll need to make Flash 10.1 fly. Dell plans to load this bad boy with Android Froyo, presumably with the same kind of custom skin that it'll start pushing with the Streak series this year; we're seeing references to a so-called "Stage UI," and we think that's what it is. This one's mentioned for a first quarter '11 release on AT&T and globally, though it's not clear whether it'll be AT&T-branded or simply be offered as an unlocked device compatible with AT&T's 3G bands -- but either way, you can count us in. Don't change a thing, Dell.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/21/dell ... c-package/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 9:33 pm

Dell Smoke slaps Android in the wild form factor you secretly wanted

Okay, so imagine a Pixi, but awesome :lol:. We think that what you'd get would closely resemble the phone that Dell's whipping up with a codename of "Smoke," running Android Froyo atop a 2.8-inch QVGA display (looks more like WVGA to us, but whatevs). Dell calls it a "non-conforming style," but we just call it drop-dead gorgeous -- assuming the final product even remotely resembles the company's renders -- and they're even promising a price that "won't break the bank," which is always a nice little bonus. The description we're reading of the phone leads us to believe that Dell will be targeting a corporate audience with the Smoke, and that's certainly the clique that tends to enjoy portrait QWERTY keyboards, so this should fit right in amongst the sea of BlackBerrys when it launches in the second quarter of 2011. That's a hell of a wait, yes, but in return, you'll be getting Qualcomm's next-gen MSM7230 processor at 800MHz, a 5 megapixel autofocus cam, 14.4Mbps HSPA, microSD expansion to 32GB, WiFi, Bluetooth 2.1 + EDR, and dual-mic noise canceling tech in a 12mm package.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/21/dell ... cretly-wa/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 9:38 pm

Dell Looking Glass tablet leaks: Tegra 2 coming your way in November

We'd already heard that Dell was working on larger tablets, and tonight's huge leak brought us tons of info on the Looking Glass, a seven-inch big brother to the Streak 5 that's due out in November. For starters, it's running Android 2.1 on a Tegra 2 processor, with an optional TV tuner module so you can watch ATSC or DVB-T programming on the seven-inch 800x480 display -- the same resolution as the Streak, which is sort of weak. In addition, the render on the slide shows an AT&T U-verse browser, though, which is interesting -- too bad there's no more info about it. RAM is pegged at 4GB, with another 4GB of flash for storage and an SDHC slot for up to 32GB of expansion, and there's a 1.3 megapixel camera. Yep, it's pretty much just a bigger Streak with a different, potentially awesomer processor -- imagine how slick you'll look with this bad boy held to your face on a call.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/04/21/dell ... y-in-nove/

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 21st, 2010, 9:41 pm

i'll say it again...

Postby M_2NR » April 21st, 2010, 10:00 pm

Postby Greypatch » April 22nd, 2010, 12:34 pm