What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby stev » November 30th, 2018, 9:59 pm

looking to put a unit in an approx. 9 feet x 18 feet room (a bit smaller).

any advice? last time i bought an AC unit was 3 years ago. lol

Postby nervewrecker » November 30th, 2018, 10:05 pm

Sounding like an 18000 btu.
WhatsApp me location for a site visit.

Tuner can see my page for more info on what services I offer:

https://www.facebook.com/ParsotanAC/

Postby stev » December 1st, 2018, 1:30 am

thanks nerve...i'll message you soon.

edit: seen some of your work on facebook...excellent job IMO!!!

Postby nervewrecker » December 7th, 2018, 10:55 pm

Much thanks. Was on your side today, should have called you to do a site visit.

Postby Chimera » December 8th, 2018, 1:05 am

hadda big up nerve again

he revive 3 more AC's for me

one of them a 10-15 year old lennox that the fan had rusted and fallen off in the condenser and the motor gone tru.

another one where the fan bracket and base rusted off...

and another one that wasnt working for whatever reason

bess work

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 9th, 2018, 1:24 am

Guys
In your opinion, are these a worthwhile investment to protect my split unit from surges and power dips?
Anyone have them that could comment?

Postby adnj » December 9th, 2018, 3:21 am

This will protect from surges but not voltage drops or high voltage but is probably worth buying.

---------

Voltage Regulators

Voltage regulators are deviced used to provide a constant voltage to any connected electrical devices. If the voltage given to an electrical device is too high or too low, it could cause damage. Voltage regulators help prevent this, adjusting the provided voltage up or down to keep it at the correct levels.

Surge Protectors

Surge protectors, also known as surge suppressors, are a device used to protect against electrical surges. Electrical surges can have many causes, such as lightning strikes or faulty wiring, and can severely damage electrical devices connected to the power grid. When a surge is detected, a surge protector diverts the surge to the ground, preventing it from reaching the connected devices.

Usage

Surge protectors are normally used with expensive electronic devices, such as computers or televisions. Since electric surges can happen almost anywhere under the right conditions, surge protectors are usually considered an easy and cheap investment.

Voltage regulators are not used as often as surge protectors, but can be useful in certain situations. Some households or business may receive so called "dirty power," where the power fluctuates frequently. Voltage regulators can be used in such situations to even out the power supply and help protect electrical devices.

https://www.techwalla.com/articles/voltage-regulator-vs-surge-protector

dredman1 wrote:Guys
In your opinion, are these a worthwhile investment to protect my split unit from surges and power dips?
Anyone have them that could comment?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 9th, 2018, 9:23 am

Thanks.

I think it "protects" against both surges and/or voltage drops by instantly shutting off the power to the unit, and not powering back on until the voltage returns to normal, and then with a pre-set delay. There's no regulation or conditioning (at least not at this price point).

I know that's not an ideal solution, but it seems better than nothing.

Was just wondering how well it does the switching and if that's enough protection for an a/c unit.

Postby adnj » December 10th, 2018, 10:47 am

I believe that it's relatively inexpensive protection and that it makes sense to add surge suppression your AC using this unit or something similar.

Common surge suppression circuitry will only protect against a spike or surge (sudden rise) in voltage. The circuit clips the sudden voltage level rise and shunts it to ground. However, It will not protect against a steady high voltage condition or any drop in voltage.

Spikes and surges occur at a few nanoseconds and may be a few hundred volts. Assuming that they have been UL or CE tested and certified, even the most common circuits will work.

T&TEC voltage is spec'd at 115/230V +/-6% (IIRC) single phase but I have regularly seen it range between 100V to 140V for hours at a time at different locations in Trinidad.

dredman1 wrote:I think it "protects" against both surges and/or voltage drops by instantly shutting off the power to the unit, and not powering back on until the voltage returns to normal, and then with a pre-set delay.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 13th, 2018, 10:45 pm

Guys my air cond unit is throwing an EC code....thr compressor is not coming on.....its a comfee unit....
Any advice....is it the capacitor or refrigerant?

Thanks guys....

Postby nervewrecker » December 13th, 2018, 10:52 pm

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys my air cond unit is throwing an EC code....thr compressor is not coming on.....its a comfee unit....

Thanks guys....
Where you located?
Its neither of the above.
Will need to know size of unit as well

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 13th, 2018, 11:58 pm

adnj wrote:I believe that it's relatively inexpensive protection and that it makes sense to add surge suppression your AC using this unit or something similar.

Common surge suppression circuitry will only protect against a spike or surge (sudden rise) in voltage. The circuit clips the sudden voltage level rise and shunts it to ground. However, It will not protect against a steady high voltage condition or any drop in voltage.

Spikes and surges occur at a few nanoseconds and may be a few hundred volts. Assuming that they have been UL or CE tested and certified, even the most common circuits will work.

T&TEC voltage is spec'd at 115/230V +/-6% (IIRC) single phase but I have regularly seen it range between 100V to 140V for hours at a time at different locations in Trinidad.

dredman1 wrote:I think it "protects" against both surges and/or voltage drops by instantly shutting off the power to the unit, and not powering back on until the voltage returns to normal, and then with a pre-set delay.

Thanks.

Yeah - although its not real voltage suppression for spikes or compensation for drops, and it just powers off In both events, I was thinking its probably better than nothing.

Just wanted to make sure it wouldn't cause any harm or if it was just marketing hype.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 14th, 2018, 6:45 am

*$kїđž![emoji769] wrote:Guys my air cond unit is throwing an EC code....thr compressor is not coming on.....its a comfee unit....

Thanks guys....
Where you located?
Its neither of the above.
Will need to know size of unit as well
Pm sent

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 14th, 2018, 7:18 am

It is more than likely a waste of money, the only thing that actually matters in my experience is a voltage regulator.

My old split ran 10 years with 0 protection without any issues.

Postby The_Honourable » December 14th, 2018, 11:05 am

dredman1 wrote:
adnj wrote:I believe that it's relatively inexpensive protection and that it makes sense to add surge suppression your AC using this unit or something similar.

Thanks.

Yeah - although its not real voltage suppression for spikes or compensation for drops, and it just powers off In both events, I was thinking its probably better than nothing.

Just wanted to make sure it wouldn't cause any harm or if it was just marketing hype.

Never heard about the Exceline brand but I know the Breakermatic brand has a product for air conditioners. Just make sure you ask for the 220v. You can look into that and do your comparisons before purchasing.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » December 14th, 2018, 1:01 pm

I have a green energy and had an intense cool unit and they were tata tbh. Looking to upgrade. How good is gree, comfee and pioneer units locally?
Also seeing some positive things about the innovair brand as well. Although most units are same internally with badging to differentiate.
Last edited by INHUMAN on December 14th, 2018, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2018, 4:43 pm

You can get the gree from me..
Comfee and pioneer, call someone else..

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2018, 4:43 pm

Stayed away from innovair because of relay issues and aluminium pipe.
But they improved so I may consider them.

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » December 15th, 2018, 1:27 am

Word. Will do a lil research on lennox, rheem and toshiba as they seem to be the talk of the town as of lately...

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2018, 8:15 am

pricesmart customer service terrible for rheem units. got a heap of complaints already.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 15th, 2018, 4:00 pm

Pricesmart is a latin American dump portal for rejected goods that won't pass quality test to make it to first world countries

Stay far away from pricesmart just buy the Gree from Nerve

Gree makes most of the AC on the planet. So if you get an actual Gree Unit you coming out real good.

Postby nervewrecker » December 18th, 2018, 9:07 pm

I now realise its a fresh thread I have running with no reviews.

Guys who my boys did wirk for already, can you leave a review.

Esp this rounds where safety is an issue. Want tuners to feel relaxed doing business.

And phone surgeon, might hail yuh tomorrow.

Postby Chimera » December 19th, 2018, 9:14 am

post the link for the new thread, i lazy bad 2 look for it

ill post up some pics of all the units you repair for me in it

Postby nervewrecker » December 19th, 2018, 7:56 pm

Eh reach by you yet cuz I aint know the date.
Had to pick up my portable ac that I left at a company and drop it rock road for a wedding. Bride dressing room.
Now reach home yes. Mc employee carry me back rock road to do a gas install for a bar.

Postby nervewrecker » December 19th, 2018, 7:57 pm

Dem boys fix up two tuners today.
Neil kool lost some customers proper.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 19th, 2018, 8:31 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Dem boys fix up two tuners today.
Neil kool lost some customers proper.
Nerve, thanks for the free troubleshooting pal. Appreciated. First thing in 2019 you hadda come and handle the inverter issue ok. I eh trust no technician climbing no ladder n ting from now till December 2nd 2019....

Postby nervewrecker » December 19th, 2018, 10:02 pm

Might make a turn up that side a day.
Still have a unit to pick up for chiney (tuner name) to refurbish. Its a nice project to add to my page.

Postby skylinechild » December 19th, 2018, 11:18 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Might make a turn up that side a day.
Still have a unit to pick up for chiney (tuner name) to refurbish. Its a nice project to add to my page.

still waitin for you to come an handle me....*sigh....

*looks off into the horizon fortuitously

an i gave a co worker ur number eah.... needs her ac cleaned.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » December 20th, 2018, 12:19 am

skylinechild wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Might make a turn up that side a day.

still waitin for you to come an handle me....*sigh....

*looks off into the horizon fortuitously

an i gave a co worker ur number eah.... needs her ac cleaned.
Lol.....

Lemme know a day in advance and we cud organise k

Postby shogun » December 20th, 2018, 12:41 am

Hey nerve, what's the average price to have a full unit refurbishment?