What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 7th, 2017, 8:42 pm

Lmao

Postby Chimera » December 7th, 2017, 10:45 pm

Screenshot_20171207-164814.png

fireworks

Postby fireworks » December 8th, 2017, 4:58 pm

I have spare boards for the ComfortStar CCI24CD 24,000btu inverter unit. Outside main board an the inside. Brand new never used brought and realize it was not faulty. Going cheap

outdoor .jpg
indoor.jpg
AC 2.jpg
AC 1.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 1st, 2018, 5:37 pm

Where offers the best course in AC maintenance in Trinidad?

How much more important would say a course that is a City and Guilds Diploma in AC/Refrigeration be compared to those cheaper courses from YTEPP or even the local certificate from SBCS?

Postby eliteauto » April 4th, 2018, 7:59 am

So at the moment, what's a good brand of unit to go with? Looking for a 24,000 btu split with installation to replace a current unit. What's the price range I should expect also

Postby nervewrecker » April 5th, 2018, 10:23 am

You will get an inverter in lennox daikin and the likes.
Other than that you might get a toshiba or katashi.

Postby nervewrecker » April 5th, 2018, 10:23 am

Not sure about gree

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 5th, 2018, 7:40 pm

Daikin is a sticker brand now?

Postby nervewrecker » April 5th, 2018, 8:50 pm

Well i confirm it have innovair earlier.

neexis

Postby neexis » July 15th, 2018, 5:20 pm

3 month bump.

Trying to get a 24k BTU unit installed. AC guy says there are no regular 24k BTU Lennox units available from his suppliers right now, only inverters. He says there are cheaper brands costing 200-300 less but, the quality is inferior and they start rusting after a year.

Inverter costing $1700 more than the regular one. Is it worth the extra change?

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2018, 5:30 pm

None that I know off and I spoke with the dealers Wednesday.

The inverter will make sense if you running it right through. Just stating the facts.

And yes about the cheaper brands. I dont deal with them either.

You can consider 2 12's however. I can have them supplied this week self. Lennox

Better air flow.

What about gree btw?

neexis

Postby neexis » July 15th, 2018, 5:48 pm

nervewrecker wrote:None that I know off and I spoke with the dealers Wednesday.

The inverter will make sense if you running it right through. Just stating the facts.

And yes about the cheaper brands. I dont deal with them either.

You can consider 2 12's however. I can have them supplied this week self. Lennox

Better air flow.

What about gree btw?

What about Gree? Do you have any 24k in those?

Haven't heard much about the brand. Reliable?

Postby nervewrecker » July 15th, 2018, 6:05 pm

I dont have any in stock right now but I can give the supplier a shout tomorrow.
Not sure if the supplier for daikin has either. Iirc they said they had but I will have to confirm.

Have a gree 24000btu in my living room abiut 5 years now. No issues. Full sized unit, not a 6 for a 9 where it looks like an old 18000btu.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 16th, 2018, 11:45 am

Comfee supposed to be more or less the same as Katashi but cheaper. Easier to get things changed under the "cheaper" comfee warranty as opposed to the Katashi according to my A/C guy. Also, katashi parts from ABS work in comfee A/C's according to him as well. Hope this helps.

Postby nervewrecker » July 16th, 2018, 12:08 pm

Last set of comfee I worked 9n were clones of daikin.
The jack frost l9oked like clones of the katashi.

Just talked to the supplier for lennox, no 24000btu

Postby nervewrecker » July 17th, 2018, 5:43 pm

No gree either.

Postby maj. tom » July 18th, 2018, 10:01 am

I'm confused on how the wifi works in the Delta units since I can't find an app from Delta to connect and operate it.

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2018, 4:30 pm

The remote has wifi and the unit doesnt.

Most units carry same remote across the board regardless of line and size.

I saw my gree inverter remote has it too and a couple lennox. As a matter of fact the remote is the same for them both. The daikin remote works on them as well.

Postby nervewrecker » July 18th, 2018, 9:56 pm

Yes, my ac is actually set to 28 degrees

See the wifi icon

Kronik

Postby Kronik » July 19th, 2018, 2:45 pm

So what does having the WiFi in the remote do?

Postby maj. tom » July 19th, 2018, 3:16 pm

I guess it's a generic thing but not for the low end models.

Having a Smart A/C would be nice and should have a lot of energy saving features. Check for a mobile app first to know if it's a wifi smart unit. Gree, Lennox, Frigidaire, GE, Carrier etc. all have apps.

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2018, 8:26 pm

Seems its just a remote. Same remote operate the higher end models so maybe it serves a purpose there.. i honestly never operate them..

Btw, rep for daikin and lennox said 24000btus may be here by the end of next week..

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 31st, 2018, 9:36 pm

So my frigidaire Split AC just conk out after 9 years of heavy usage. There was a smell of something burning in the room and I wasn't sure what it was until I realized the AC wasn't running.

Unplugged it then plugged it back on and you hear the beep and the 24 degrees led screen comes on for 2 seconds then it disappears and nothing works. Happens everytime you unplug it from the wall socket and plug it back on, noway to turn it on

The smell was coming from the inside unit, maybe the circuit board blow? some capacitor etc?

At this age 9 years old does it make sense fixing this buying a new board or what have you?

if I have to buy a new AC would I get any money for this as it is? if so how much?

Also what AC do I buy?

https://www.facebook.com/NeilKoolAirCon ... gServices/

neil kool selling AC Delta for $2250 installed should I buy that? is it the same as lennox just different sticker? aka sticker brand?

Postby De Dragon » July 31st, 2018, 10:07 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So my frigidaire Split AC just conk out after 9 years of heavy usage. There was a smell of something burning in the room and I wasn't sure what it was until I realized the AC wasn't running.

Unplugged it then plugged it back on and you hear the beep and the 24 degrees led screen comes on for 2 seconds then it disappears and nothing works. Happens everytime you unplug it from the wall socket and plug it back on, noway to turn it on

The smell was coming from the inside unit, maybe the circuit board blow? some capacitor etc?

At this age 9 years old does it make sense fixing this buying a new board or what have you?

if I have to buy a new AC would I get any money for this as it is? if so how much?

Also what AC do I buy?

neil kool selling AC Delta for $2250 installed should I buy that? is it the same as lennox just different sticker? aka sticker brand?

Exact thing happened to me last week, 9-10 year old Peake took a dump. The tech. tried all kinds of fixes, from compressor to capacitor, but no luck. Looking to install a 24000 delta this week as replacement. went with Delta because I have one in the living room that's working very well for about 2 years now.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 31st, 2018, 10:19 pm

^ eh heh nice that Delta price really great.

BTW anyone has experience with the Daikin? niel kool selling it for $2800 installed the 12K unit.

Its weird because from what I know Daikin is supposed to be a super expensive brand like 8k and up cheapest unit. I wonder how come the price get so cheap now?

Allyuh think its a sticker brand they selling that is just like Delta? Niel say its a true original Daikin model he has.

And what could be the difference between the Lennox and Delta. Niel say both comes from the same Lennox factory

Postby redmanjp » July 31st, 2018, 11:17 pm

neexis wrote:3 month bump.

Trying to get a 24k BTU unit installed. AC guy says there are no regular 24k BTU Lennox units available from his suppliers right now, only inverters. He says there are cheaper brands costing 200-300 less but, the quality is inferior and they start rusting after a year.

Inverter costing $1700 more than the regular one. Is it worth the extra change?

inverters are more energy efficient so will pay for themselves after a while- especially as T&TEC want to increase rates

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 31st, 2018, 11:36 pm

So what you saying is that lennox has a better paint coat on the metal to prevent rusting etc?

Interestingly I noticed a lot of AC does tend to rust quickly on the outside. But then again even if they rust is not like you keeping the unit for life eh. Once it reach a certain age there isn't any point to continue fixing it etc or am I wrong?

From what I understand there is one factory in China making all of these AC units and stamping a different sticker on it.

Maybe the cheaper AC units doesn't undergo the rust prevention coat.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 9:24 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ eh heh nice that Delta price really great.

BTW anyone has experience with the Daikin? niel kool selling it for $2800 installed the 12K unit.

Its weird because from what I know Daikin is supposed to be a super expensive brand like 8k and up cheapest unit. I wonder how come the price get so cheap now?

Allyuh think its a sticker brand they selling that is just like Delta? Niel say its a true original Daikin model he has.

And what could be the difference between the Lennox and Delta. Niel say both comes from the same Lennox factory
They have the original daikin.
Iirc was about $12k
Inverter, wifi etc.
Not too sure what is the retail if they buy in bulk and if they bought more..
Had 2 on our shores last I know..

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 9:32 am

Only have delta right now and daikin 12's.
I dont deal delta and the last of my lennox stock left yesterday.
Nothing wrong with the delta, dealer for delta is using delta in their place. And they deal daikin, lennox etc. My experience just has not been so great with them. I find them a bit on the weak side (evaporator blower) and quite a few have had failed displays. That could very well be techs with half way service wetting them up.
Wrt the weak blower, some customers might fuss if the room has a high heat load and they want temp pulled down fast. For people like me, they might be a good choice. I leave my evap fan on auto and the gree inverter is like a small hurricane. Actually has stuff blowing around. Room is usually cool so a unit like a delta would very well be suited in these applications.
Another bedroom has a gree and complaints are that the room gets too cold too fast and the breeze is in your face.

Postby nervewrecker » August 1st, 2018, 9:34 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So my frigidaire Split AC just conk out after 9 years of heavy usage. There was a smell of something burning in the room and I wasn't sure what it was until I realized the AC wasn't running.

Also what AC do I buy?

Sounds like the board.
If you lived close id have come by and take a $500.00 from you. Would give you warranty too, cuz ah bad so..

I find niel kool price kinda iffy. Does he use a vacume pump? Cuz no vacume pump = no warranty.