What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 6th, 2017, 4:53 pm

hmm makes sense

Cheaper batteries won't last as long so you will quicker replace them before they get a chance to leak.

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2017, 8:47 pm

Duracell alkaline is top leaking battery

Best thing to use is the pricesmart green Duracell rechargeables,
They hold charge forever and don't leak.

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2017, 8:48 pm

Anybody ever buy a used unit ?
Somebody in fb selling a used unit but it is disconnected.

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » November 9th, 2017, 7:57 pm

Thoughts on McQuay guys.

Postby Dave » November 10th, 2017, 6:25 am

Mc Quay is supposed to be a respected name

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » November 10th, 2017, 7:15 am

Thank you Dave

Postby redmanjp » November 11th, 2017, 12:28 am

Not sure if this was mentioned before but it was hinted in the Budget that electricity rates are going to increase so energy efficient ones or inverters would be the best in terms of long term costs

In comparison to rates in the region if the subsidy is removed it could be 5 to as much as 10 times higher. So imagine if u already paying $1000. You will now pay up to $10000! More than the cost of some AC units in just a 2 month cycle. Insulation going to become very important

Postby nervewrecker » November 11th, 2017, 6:21 am

redmanjp wrote:Not sure if this was mentioned before but it was hinted in the Budget that electricity rates are going to increase so energy efficient ones or inverters would be the best in terms of long term costs

In comparison to rates in the region if the subsidy is removed it could be 5 to as much as 10 times higher. So imagine if u already paying $1000. You will now pay up to $10000! More than the cost of some AC units in just a 2 month cycle. Insulation going to become very important
Right now it hardly even have inverters in stock.
I was by a supplier yesterday and listened to two guys try to get inverters. Salt all side.
The forex problem seems to be the cause. They used to have goods in transit before stock reach low. Right now stock have time done and months passing.

Oh, and prices went up on ac units btw guys.

The next question is all who can work on / service an inverter unit. There is only one trainer in the caribbean afaik (sorac). Men who like to hit a voosh vash by sending some water through the fan grill when servicing going to be in real problems. There is a box over the compressor packed with components and the unit has sensors on them like an evaporator. Some have produced errors when they get soaked down.

shevondover

Postby shevondover » November 11th, 2017, 8:56 pm

Inverter board cost way too much

shevondover

Postby shevondover » November 11th, 2017, 8:57 pm

Did ah job for a guy he had an 24,000btu inverter and servair was charging him 3800 for the board

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 11th, 2017, 10:31 pm

With the Humidity in this country having a circuit board outside on the compressor unit? and with all that rain aswell?

Boy better yuh reduce your room by 80% and sit in a tiny box and have the AC cool that for cheap yes.

Only other option is to remove this government. I eh see why we have to pay the same rates like other Islands when we have our own Oil and Gas in this country.

Postby nervewrecker » November 12th, 2017, 10:46 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:With the Humidity in this country having a circuit board outside on the compressor unit? and with all that rain aswell?

Boy better yuh reduce your room by 80% and sit in a tiny box and have the AC cool that for cheap yes.

Only other option is to remove this government. I eh see why we have to pay the same rates like other Islands when we have our own Oil and Gas in this country.
Its in a box and on top the compressor. Heat keeps it dry.
It can take the humidity, it cant take 2000psi of water shooting a few gallons in the housing

Postby redmanjp » November 12th, 2017, 2:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:With the Humidity in this country having a circuit board outside on the compressor unit? and with all that rain aswell?

Even if u go with normal ACs and not inverters once you have a radiant barrier in the ceiling and an airtight room that should save electricity

hunter0803

Postby hunter0803 » November 12th, 2017, 2:27 pm

Have Panasonic 12k units thru out house for over 10yrs now and no problems ... normal every 6 months service .... 200 per service ... works best .... 1st choice

1kingmed

Postby 1kingmed » November 13th, 2017, 10:31 am

Just checking in.......McQuay 36000 btu by Daikin Applied installed and working great.

anil008

Postby anil008 » November 21st, 2017, 7:13 pm

hi, can anyone say which is better innovaire, Lennox or daiken? and which is more efficient, excluding the inverters.

Postby nervewrecker » November 22nd, 2017, 5:45 pm

anil008 wrote:hi, can anyone say which is better innovaire, Lennox or daiken? and which is more efficient, excluding the inverters.
All 3 are pretty decent units.
Id say pick one, any one.

RJ

Postby RJ » November 26th, 2017, 10:47 am

Does anyone know where I can get a Panasonic Inverter remote and at what price? Thanks.

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2017, 11:46 am

how much extra in your electricity bill would a 18000 btu unit cost if run for 8 hours a day?

Postby Chimera » December 5th, 2017, 12:14 pm

York wrote:I moved and have 7 Green Energy installed now for 3-4 yrs. One 18000 unit has leakage inside to sort out. They serviced and blew out the drain line but it started leaking again shortly after. It's just that many people sell and install them. Actually the first time i bought 4 units i thought they were General Electric. The advertising was misleading.

yuh see THIS flabbergastery

some fellas do me that the other day

i ask him brand..he say GE
so i thinking to myself...general electric daz a real bess brand yes for that price
i tell him install it, i wasn't around for the install
in the evening i seeing the box mark "green energy"

and i've had endless problems with it ever since
it was installed in a upstairs office....we left it on a day and left the office and came back the next morning to see the floor full of water

real bacchanal with the installer, he refuse to service it or do anything to fix it, when we contact the distributor...they say how we have no warranty from them..its from the installer....
and as i say...we had a installer who refusing to service it or fix the issues

we end up getting a full refund as well as keeping the unit though.

York

Postby York » December 6th, 2017, 8:59 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
York wrote:I moved and have 7 Green Energy installed now for 3-4 yrs. One 18000 unit has leakage inside to sort out. They serviced and blew out the drain line but it started leaking again shortly after. It's just that many people sell and install them. Actually the first time i bought 4 units i thought they were General Electric. The advertising was misleading.

yuh see THIS flabbergastery

some fellas do me that the other day

i ask him brand..he say GE
so i thinking to myself...general electric daz a real bess brand yes for that price
i tell him install it, i wasn't around for the install
in the evening i seeing the box mark "green energy"

and i've had endless problems with it ever since
it was installed in a upstairs office....we left it on a day and left the office and came back the next morning to see the floor full of water

real bacchanal with the installer, he refuse to service it or do anything to fix it, when we contact the distributor...they say how we have no warranty from them..its from the installer....
and as i say...we had a installer who refusing to service it or fix the issues

we end up getting a full refund as well as keeping the unit though.
Who is the distributor / contact?

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2017, 9:30 am

I'll check the file and see. We didn't get our refund because of regular channels though

Postby Dizzy28 » December 6th, 2017, 9:50 am

Changed my bedroom unit in August. Had a 12,000 BTU Miller that went bad. My A/C guy said he could get a GE for $2,300 and my train of thought was as above - That is a best deal as GE makes fricking jet engines and that price I win. Came home to see Green Energy on the unit.

Called back the A/C tech who say those units good doh worry. Fingers crossed it still working incident free 4 months later.

Postby Dave » December 6th, 2017, 10:26 am

They are good units. Warranty says it all. Industry standard in Trinidad, 5 comp/1 parts

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2017, 3:14 pm

Not me and that.
Fly by night techs usually choose that brand because its cheap and they can call "attractive prices".
I prefer advice people to pay the extra few hundred dollars and get peace of mind from another brand.

As mentioned above, companies honor warranty from reputable techs. I not sure about the dealers for GE but I know others do. Some actually interview you and make sure you have the equipment to install.
Some will sell anyone anything and when customer come crying down warranty they say no warranty because those installers never met the requirements

Postby Chimera » December 6th, 2017, 6:41 pm

That freaking racket where they say they providing GE is real bs

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 6th, 2017, 8:33 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Changed my bedroom unit in August. Had a 12,000 BTU Miller that went bad. My A/C guy said he could get a GE for $2,300 and my train of thought was as above - That is a best deal as GE makes fricking jet engines and that price I win. Came home to see Green Energy on the unit.

Called back the A/C tech who say those units good doh worry. Fingers crossed it still working incident free 4 months later.

That GE is green something.

That is not the real GE which is general electric, and in the event that it really is the real General Electric, it makes no difference since it will be a sticker brand which means it will be the identical same AC as the 90% of other AC out there made in same factory using same parts.

Do people seriously believe for a second that they would get a real GE unit for $2300? that is like saying you getting a real Rheem Unit $2300. You have to be out of your mind to think this is true.

Did you know something as simple as a real GE Profile refrigerator is $30,000 TT? These have a lifespan of around 20 years 24/7 without any service I know from experience.

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2017, 9:01 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:That freaking racket where they say they providing GE is real bs
Nobody kicking a fuss.
People buying it.
I believe the units may hold out eh. Is the installers are quacks. My boss has a GE home, no problem whatsoever. But he is a boss ac man!

Postby Dave » December 7th, 2017, 8:05 am

You must always see what the installer uses

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » December 7th, 2017, 8:55 am

I does fed up tell ppl get off they ass and be involved and look along when their installs goin on. But na yuh wanna sit down an wait for cold breeze?
I guh kink up all yuh copper an me ent even running no vacuum