:: The official TOOLS thread ::

car

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » February 15th, 2018, 11:32 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:i find B&D stuff is too light duty i prefer d better built brands like makita , dewalt , milwaukee , porter cable , bosch ...

Yep. The dewalt 12v will beat the B&D 20v

Postby Chimera » February 15th, 2018, 12:36 pm

i thought i could use the vouchers to buy something on amazon or even to apply to the cost of shipping including opt/tax/vat etc

but the voucher can only be applied to the cost of freight, nothing else

so still trying to decide what to do

Postby rspann » February 15th, 2018, 12:54 pm

Lance wrote:Just vat on power tools, no duty.

I finally got my ac/dc Tig welder up and running. Still learning the ins and outs of it.

A lot of turbocharged projects coming up soon.Image

It takes practice ,but not really hard. Bought a new plant yesterday too.
IMG_20180214_131539.jpg

car

Postby car » February 15th, 2018, 1:01 pm

rspann wrote:
Lance wrote:Just vat on power tools, no duty.

I finally got my ac/dc Tig welder up and running. Still learning the ins and outs of it.

A lot of turbocharged projects coming up soon.Image

It takes practice ,but not really hard. Bought a new plant yesterday too.
IMG_20180214_131539.jpg

Allyuh fellahs big in de game.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 15th, 2018, 1:01 pm

Been using the HTP 221 for a few years now...love using that machine! I got mine with the water cooler.

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2018, 4:55 pm

Does anyone know of a local store that sells inspection cameras (also called a bore scope or endoscope)?

I want something small and inexpensive to carry with me sometimes. Even the ones that plug into a phone or tablet would work.
Last edited by adnj on February 15th, 2018, 4:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djruncrowd

Postby djruncrowd » February 15th, 2018, 5:05 pm

adnj wrote:Does anyone know of a local store that sells inspection camers (also called a bore scope or endoscope)?

I want something small and inexpensive to carry with me sometimes. Even the ones that plug into a phone or tablet would work.

Saw it at pricesmart pos a lil while back can’t remember the cost , give them a call to see if it still have stock

Postby adnj » February 15th, 2018, 6:16 pm

^^^ Thanks. I'll give them a try.

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » February 15th, 2018, 10:23 pm

Easy to find in pricesmart

Lance

Postby Lance » February 16th, 2018, 1:29 am

[X]~Outlaw wrote:Been using the HTP 221 for a few years now...love using that machine! I got mine with the water cooler.
Nice man.

For the type of welding I do, I didn't need a water cooled torch.

I even downgraded the standard 17 series torch that comes with the machine. I asked HTP to swap it for a flex head 9 series.

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2018, 4:48 pm

show us some stack welds

Lance

Postby Lance » February 16th, 2018, 6:34 pm

I don't have any close up pictures of the welds yet. I will be using it alot more soon.

To get some practice on it, I welded up this dog kennel.

IMG_20180127_224110_130.jpg

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2018, 6:37 pm

nice, could use bigger wheels if it moving a lot
those little ones tend to wear a lot esp if ground is rough

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » February 16th, 2018, 6:44 pm

Lance wrote:I don't have any close up pictures of the welds yet. I will be using it alot more soon.

Looking good!

Postby pugboy » February 16th, 2018, 7:00 pm

This guy has some nice squares to copy
https://www.fireballtool.com/

Good vid also to use a three point method to make something flat
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7128-LFGzl0

Postby Rovin » February 17th, 2018, 11:17 am

^wish i had those squares back when i used to welding\fab for a living , also wished back then i had a mig & 1 of dem evo chop saws ....

car

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » February 17th, 2018, 5:42 pm

[quote="pugboy"]This guy has some nice squares to copy
https://www.fireballtool.com/

Was watching this same ting last night after seeing it in YouTube.
But the price real hot.

Lance

Postby Lance » February 18th, 2018, 7:03 am

I came across then on YouTube as well. Solid cast pieces. They look great.

For now I just use the cheap red magnetic ones on Amazon.

Lance

Postby Lance » February 18th, 2018, 7:04 am

pugboy wrote:nice, could use bigger wheels if it moving a lot
those little ones tend to wear a lot esp if ground is rough
Good point.

It doesn't move around a lot. But I'll keep an eye on it. The casters are bolted on so I can easily remove and replace if needed.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » February 20th, 2018, 7:54 am

Lance wrote:I don't have any close up pictures of the welds yet. I will be using it alot more soon.

Like ah boss! Yuh use regular RHS or d zinc coated one?
That dog living like a King!!!

Lance

Postby Lance » February 20th, 2018, 10:06 am

ADONI wrote:

Like ah boss! Yuh use regular RHS or d zinc coated one?
That dog living like a King!!!
Thanks man.

I used the zinc coated one for this build. But I had to grind the coating off the joints that were going to be welded.

The coating is terrible to Tig weld on and the fumes aren't safe to inhale either.

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2018, 11:44 am

I guess you had to etch prime it to paint

Lance

Postby Lance » February 20th, 2018, 2:32 pm

Yeah, exactly that process.

Postby adnj » February 20th, 2018, 3:32 pm

djruncrowd wrote:
adnj wrote:Does anyone know of a local store that sells inspection cameras.

Saw it at pricesmart pos a lil while back can’t remember the cost , give them a call to see if it still have stock

MarlonSam wrote:Easy to find in pricesmart

Port of Spain Pricesmart doesn't have any. Does any of the others?

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2018, 6:14 pm

made a square similar to the fireball tool type.
have to be careful with welds to be small and not cause heat shrinkage.

Drilled holes and used 1/4" rod as the braces

Image-1 (1).jpg

car

Postby car » February 21st, 2018, 9:36 pm

pugboy wrote:made a square similar to the fireball tool type.
have to be careful with welds to be small and not cause heat shrinkage.

Drilled holes and used 1/4" rod as the braces

Image-1 (1).jpg

I got the 12” igauging like yours.

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2018, 9:38 pm

It's excellent.
I checked against some machinist squares too
Not big brand name but at least checking from both sides it is accurate.

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » February 22nd, 2018, 6:29 am

How much will u charge to build one like this ?
Thanks
Whatsapp 678-8474

Postby Rovin » February 22nd, 2018, 12:27 pm

thing about welding & squaring of corners , for those of u who ever worked with flimsy steel especially d thin ass RHS T&T has , if u making something like a rectangular frame : all 4 corners can be perfectly squared but d sides can still get warped or twisted , this is where a good large solid leveled worktable helps ....

Lance

Postby Lance » February 24th, 2018, 8:42 am

Pablo660 wrote:

How much will u charge to build one like this ?
Thanks
Whatsapp 678-8474
Hey man,

As of now I don't really do it commercially.

To be honest, with the material cost and the time I've put into it, I can't see myself coming up with a competitive price for one of these.

Probably this may change as I get to be more efficient and able to find material at better prices.