:: The official TOOLS thread ::

ShadowNos

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby ShadowNos » April 20th, 2018, 6:00 pm

DeWalt brushless 20v impact and hammer drill combo for sale $2600 neg. I buy them last year used about 10 times to do stuff around the house, fixed back some dining chairs and install a wall mount for my TV, have them packed down right now. Tools like new, just need someone who will appreciate them more. Reason for sale looking for some cash to upgrade vehicle suspension. Whatsapp - 469-8660
IMG_20180420_174417.jpg
IMG_20180420_174229.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2018, 6:01 pm

what model is the impact drill ?

ShadowNos wrote:DeWalt brushless 20v impact and hammer drill combo for sale $2600 neg. I buy them last year used about 10 times to do stuff around the house, fixed back some dining chairs and install a wall mount for my TV, have them packed down right now. Tools like new, just need someone who will appreciate them more. Reason for sale looking for some cash to upgrade vehicle suspension. Whatsapp - 469-8660 IMG_20180420_174229.jpgIMG_20180420_174417.jpg

ShadowNos

Postby ShadowNos » April 20th, 2018, 6:03 pm

1/4" drive impact DCF886, 1/2" drill DCD791

Postby pugboy » April 20th, 2018, 6:08 pm

price for impact driver alone ?
I dont need batteries or charger

ShadowNos

Postby ShadowNos » April 20th, 2018, 6:12 pm

pugboy wrote:price for impact driver alone ?
I dont need batteries or charger
Selling them together, need the cash

Lance

Postby Lance » April 23rd, 2018, 7:41 pm

Any affordable tool repair guys in the east?

I have a portable bandsaw that I table mounted.

Only used it a couple times. Today I was cutting some metal tube and the blade locked up and i started seeing sparks/smoke from the internals. It died right after.

Its a 1000dollar saw, so i'm weighing the options here.

Postby pugboy » April 23rd, 2018, 8:01 pm

What brand? May need a new armature if burnt.

I have a cheap harbor freight one also table mounted
The variable speed switch no longer works, only runs at full speed.

Lance wrote:Any affordable tool repair guys in the east?

I have a portable bandsaw that I table mounted.

Only used it a couple times. Today I was cutting some metal tube and the blade locked up and i started seeing sparks/smoke from the internals. It died right after.

Its a 1000dollar saw, so i'm weighing the options here.

Lance

Postby Lance » April 23rd, 2018, 8:05 pm

Its a harbor freight unit as well. The newer bauer ones they sell.

Postby Chimera » April 25th, 2018, 10:54 pm

how much realistically can i get for my 2 year old Milwaukee 2606-22CT M18 1/2" Drill Driver CP Kit

the whole kit with case/drill/charger and two 1/5amp batteries

Postby Ted_v2 » April 26th, 2018, 10:13 am

Not much. Just under 1k I think.

I bought this in ssl sale yesterday. Just over 2k.

1 5.0 battery
1 2.0 battery and charger.
Cloth carry bag which is lovely.

Midtorque unit. Total beast. Removing torqued wheel nuts on the lowest setting.
FB_IMG_15246968538619849.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » April 26th, 2018, 10:36 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Not much. Just under 1k I think.

1 5.0 battery

I wah a borrow

Postby Chimera » April 26th, 2018, 10:41 am

1 5.0 battery

Midtorque unit. Total beast. Removing torqued wheel nuts on the lowest setting. FB_IMG_15246968538619849.jpg

which model number is that item

Postby Chimera » April 26th, 2018, 1:19 pm

Just got it. M12 fuel 1/4 impact driver with two generic batteries. Total cost $974 with shipping and taxes
20180426_131556.jpg

Postby adnj » April 27th, 2018, 1:25 pm

1 5.0 battery

Most cars have a torque for wheels in the 100 ft-lb range. A friend bought new tires and it took about 250 ft-lbs to take his wheels off after about a month. I don't know what they used to install them.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 27th, 2018, 7:28 pm

I torque all my lugs plus my customers. I doh play with that.

Postby Chimera » April 30th, 2018, 8:25 am

that m12 impact is a nice little tool

driving in screws much easier and better than my 2016 m18 drill

very light and easy to use one handed

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 30th, 2018, 3:55 pm

NR8 wrote:
Ted_v2 wrote:anybody saw any good deals on 1/2 impacts cordless locally?

SSL have the midtorque Milwaukee for just over 2500$ .
wanna grab up one by early next month so.

I will have a bnib Craftsman 1/2" impact wrench for sale in about one month's time. Comes with the battery and multi-chemistry charger pictured below. See link for specs. 300 ft/lbs of torque. Handles axle nuts and all suspension bolts with ease. I have had one for about 3 years myself. Just bought it in a combo deal with other tools to add to my C3 collection so I won't need it. Will make a FS post when I get it in hand but estimated price should be <$2000.

spin_prod_1034396012.jpg
spin_prod_947241212.jpg

https://www.craftsman.com/products/craf ... by-4ah-xcp

Craftsman 1/2" cordless impact wrench for sale.
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=726627

Postby supercharged turbo » May 4th, 2018, 4:41 pm

Anyone know where I can get torx head screws to buy?

Postby Ted_v2 » May 4th, 2018, 7:29 pm

what pitch?

dumore having thing once its machine screws, m10 ect ect.

wood screws allied, it comes with the bits, like t27 .

Postby adnj » May 4th, 2018, 9:21 pm

Does anyone know where I can buy scrap steel plate for an access cover?

I only need about 18"x18" and 1/8" (min) to 1/4" (max) in thickness.

matix

Postby matix » May 4th, 2018, 10:07 pm

adnj wrote:Does anyone know where I can buy scrap steel plate for an access cover?

I only need about 18"x18" and 1/8" (min) to 1/4" (max) in thickness.

Any scrap iron yard or just msg Team Loco here

Postby rspann » May 4th, 2018, 11:01 pm

Go check Francis Lau construction in Frederick settlement, you can get a piece of almost any size and thickness, or even pieces of beam or any type of steel used in construction.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2018, 1:11 am

car wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hindian wrote:
car wrote:Anyone knows where sells metal lathe locally. A bench top 1.
Looking to seabox 1 from amazon but want to see what is available locally.
Looking to get this before budget day.

ive been looking for a while mihself for one but nada. cah afford to pay them ridiculous machine shop price for simple non precision lathe work. a man charge me $150 to turn a 3/4" drill bit shank to 1/2" to fit in a drill. the bit cost about $80 :?

Post a link for an example of what u had in mind.

... and does raptor still operate?

Grizzly G8688 Mini Metal Lathe, 7 x 12-Inch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000DCZ7D/re ... HzbH9J5W0P

Or

Grizzly G0768 Variable-Speed Lathe, 8 x 16" https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0121VB63A/re ... Hzb07KEDHM

Hey man, u ever got to buy ur lathe? Inbox plz..

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 5th, 2018, 1:16 am

3stagevtec wrote:I just can't handle the prices some machine shops does want to charge to do simple bushing work.. I would rather use the same money and invest it in tools and do the job myself. I have built crude DIY 'lathes' in the past to build custom bushes to mount radiators etc.. Like this for example:

[img]https://scontent-mia1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xtf1/v/t1.0-9/12002040_10153490596076084_2357595924144119224_n.jpg?oh=abf4a2eeabda1753ecf3c464b845fec7&oe=56E7D536[/img]

Amazon also has a small hobby lathe, cheap design using a drill and a small frame to hold it:

I understand the side load and excessive run out issues, but I am stubborn too bad, have strong faith in my Milwaukee and would use it for mostly bushing making, so i figure it is worth a gamble.. (in the future, if this shows decent potential, I could always bearing mount the chuck to reduce runout, and create a dampered drive system powered by the drill..)

I will continue researching chucks and update on how this works out.
Ever bought one since this post?

Postby Chimera » May 5th, 2018, 5:03 am

tool store has sale

they have the 2408-22 package for 1199 with a free milwaukee pliers

thats the m12 hammer drill

i eh mind buying it to get the batteries and charger , sell the drill itself for small $$ and buy the fuel bare tool

NR8

Postby NR8 » May 5th, 2018, 5:00 pm

Some of my toys. The middle one is a hammer drill. Can't ask for better DIY tools at a better price

20180502_221625.jpg
20180502_214814.jpg

Postby supercharged turbo » May 5th, 2018, 8:13 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:what pitch?

dumore having thing once its machine screws, m10 ect ect.

wood screws allied, it comes with the bits, like t27 .
Its just like the t27 but about 1.5" long for wood application

Postby Ted_v2 » May 5th, 2018, 8:32 pm

allied is the spot, saw it in the lane as u walk in, where have the bolts ect, they include the bit with the purchase too.

car

Postby car » May 5th, 2018, 8:52 pm

cutthroatInt wrote:
car wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hindian wrote:

ive been looking for a while mihself for one but nada. cah afford to pay them ridiculous machine shop price for simple non precision lathe work. a man charge me $150 to turn a 3/4" drill bit shank to 1/2" to fit in a drill. the bit cost about $80 :?

Grizzly G8688 Mini Metal Lathe, 7 x 12-Inch https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000DCZ7D/re ... HzbH9J5W0P

Or

Grizzly G0768 Variable-Speed Lathe, 8 x 16" https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0121VB63A/re ... Hzb07KEDHM

Yep. End up buying a precision Matthews.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 5th, 2018, 8:57 pm

car wrote:
cutthroatInt wrote:
car wrote:
sMASH wrote:
hindian wrote:

Or

Yep. End up buying a precision Matthews.
Post a 2 pictures nah