Postby hindian » November 10th, 2018, 7:00 pm

Almost exactly like this one but with a forward) reverse switch
502589.jpeg
502589.jpeg (10.3 KiB) Viewed 5002 times

Cantmis

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby Cantmis » November 10th, 2018, 7:00 pm

aidan wrote:Guys, looking for a 12v diesel transfer pump. Any ideas of where to check locally or just order online?
Tool store next to Duncan village gas station

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2018, 11:45 am

Rovin's Audio wrote:^^^^ u bought it for what purpose ? ...

i have several large ponds in my backyard that have been neglected so they have alot of lillies/grass that are a pain to pull out manually with the long fork i usually use.
have alot of caimans in the pond so sending people in to clean it is a issue as well..

so using this to hook up to the hook to pull out big junks of grass

as well as to pull large tree limbs after pruning them

Postby Chimera » November 11th, 2018, 11:46 am

adnj wrote:I was looking at one for moving tree limbs after pruning. I really liked that you can use a cordless drill to power the winch. Is that price TTD or USD?

the US price is on the amazon link

plus i paid $350 TT to ship and clear it

Postby adnj » November 11th, 2018, 12:57 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:i have several large ponds in my backyard that have been neglected so they have alot of lillies/grass that are a pain to pull out manually with the long fork i usually use.
have alot of caimans in the pond so sending people in to clean it is a issue as well..

If you measure very carefully, you can use Diuron to control pond vegetation. It shouldn't be a problem for vertebrates.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » November 12th, 2018, 9:32 am

supercharged turbo wrote:
ADONI wrote:Bought my Lincoln AC/DC welder 5 years ago in Bhagwansing for $4,600...
Must be about $5,000 by now...
Called this morning..$5500

I does bawl with the weight bro... Best u buy something lighter, that is, if you doing installs as well. 113 lbs in that lil square does be hard to lift. I used d DC once and the amount ah humming it was making, my bro swear I was cutting drill pipe with d ARC.

Postby pugboy » November 12th, 2018, 10:42 am

for Up to 1/4” thick steel inverter all the way
Dc, no humming no splatter and butter smooth arc

Postby Chimera » November 12th, 2018, 12:06 pm

adnj wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:i have several large ponds in my backyard that have been neglected so they have alot of lillies/grass that are a pain to pull out manually with the long fork i usually use.

If you measure very carefully, you can use Diuron to control pond vegetation. It shouldn't be a problem for vertebrates.

will that kill grass that is growing from the bottom of the pond through the water high over the pond?

Postby adnj » November 13th, 2018, 4:21 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:
adnj wrote:

will that kill grass that is growing from the bottom of the pond through the water high over the pond?

Yes, it will. It takes a few weeks to work. You don't need much of it.

You can spray it on the plants and add it to the water.

Postby Chimera » November 13th, 2018, 6:45 am

and what it will do the fish?

Postby adnj » November 13th, 2018, 8:42 am

Take a look at diuron use in catfish farming. That will give you an idea of the prescribed dosage and application frequency.

There are other aquatic herbicides used for fish ponds that are approved and safe. Rodeo is the aquatic version of Roundup and that works well, to a point. I haven't looked for any aquatic herbicides for use in Trinidad so I can't say what is easily available.

You'll may also find that the grass growing in your pond indicates that they are getting to the point where they will need to be drained and dredged. You may be better off just dragging by hand if you have concerns or you aren't planning on rebuilding your ponds.

I often used diuron on a couple of small ponds that were each about 1/2 acre and 10 feet deep. There were some fish and it kept them weed free.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 16th, 2018, 3:53 pm

Need inch lbs torque wrench asap. Where and price?

Postby hydroep » November 16th, 2018, 4:20 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Need inch lbs torque wrench asap. Where and price?

Bought this from Amazon a few years ago, works well.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C5ZL2EG/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 16th, 2018, 4:25 pm

hydroep wrote:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C5ZL2EG/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
U selling?

Postby hydroep » November 16th, 2018, 4:35 pm

racedriverpro wrote:
hydroep wrote:

U selling?

Nah boi, but it's a good, reasonably priced unit if you decide to bring one down.

Postby pugboy » November 16th, 2018, 4:49 pm

Those clicky ones should be checked for calibration, they rely on friction slippage of a nut inside.
I have a harbor freight one and it was ok when I checked it by hanging a weight off it
But many say they needed adjustment but fine after.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 16th, 2018, 8:04 pm

any reputable parts place would have those, i had a pitsburg one and that lasted a proper while, did over 120 torqued bolts with it easily over the space of 3 years.

Postby adnj » November 16th, 2018, 10:19 pm

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 20th, 2018, 10:44 am

looking for good quality jack stands and impact wrenches, where has good prices?

NR8

Postby NR8 » November 20th, 2018, 9:41 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:looking for good quality jack stands and impact wrenches, where has good prices?

Allied, SSL and L&DG. Been pricing for commercial fleet last couple days.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 22nd, 2018, 12:43 pm

NR8 wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:looking for good quality jack stands and impact wrenches, where has good prices?

Allied, SSL and L&DG. Been pricing for commercial fleet last couple days.

Thanks.

Postby Morpheus » November 29th, 2018, 10:21 pm

Folks where has reasonably priced low profile hydraulic jacks?

Postby *KRONIK* » November 30th, 2018, 6:26 am

Pricesmart does have sometimes

Postby hydroep » November 30th, 2018, 6:51 am

Morpheus wrote:Folks where has reasonably priced low profile hydraulic jacks?

Checked A1 tools (San Juan) last year and they had a Pittsburgh 61253 (2 1/4" lowest point) for $ 1,500.00.

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2018, 7:50 am

thats a harbor freight product, ie cheapish quality
better to get the pricesmart

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 30th, 2018, 9:17 am

hydroep wrote:

Checked A1 tools (San Juan) last year and they had a Pittsburgh 61253 (2 1/4" lowest point) for $ 1,500.00.

Pricemart has the Arcan XL which is almost identical to the Pittsburgh. I have that Pittsburgh in my shop with no issues after 4 years.

Go with whichever is cheaper.

hindian

Postby hindian » November 30th, 2018, 10:16 am

Got this from Amazon yesterday to change some valve seals with the head on the engine. Didn't see it locally and im sure if it is available, prolly would be twice the price I paid, about $250 through a padna so I sure he make a lil change on mih head lol.
IMG_20181130_101249.jpeg

Postby black start » November 30th, 2018, 10:35 am

Did lots of checking around last year for the same

Ssl in sando had a Performance Tool 2.5 ton for around $1000

Pricesmart had arcan 3.5 ton for around $1050ish

These were the best prices I got. Both were low profile (between 2"-3") and looked decently built. The PT was slightly lower when unlifted but also had a smaller frame and by extension, less lift. So I was partial to the arcan as the unlifted height could still work for me and the extra lifted height would make it easy to get under the vehicles.

Ended up checking out some reviews and decided to take the pricesmart unit. Has been used quite a lot since then and still works perfectly

Would recommend!

Postby skylinechild » November 30th, 2018, 11:13 am

hindian wrote:Got this from Amazon yesterday to change some valve seals with the head on the engine. Didn't see it locally and im sure if it is available, prolly would be twice the price I paid, about $250 through a padna so I sure he make a lil change on mih head lol.IMG_20181130_101249.jpeg

lisle makes good stuff.. you wont be disappointed...

i bought a lisle radiator air bleeder and i also want to get the lisle brake cube and the tool to remove the antenna mast ( my car has auto antenna on it)

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2018, 11:53 am

few yrs ago i bought 1 of dem normal big red 3.5ton jacks from PS & had to be pumping it about 25 times to get height , barely moves with each pump , damn ting say 3.5T & ketching hmc , for normal cars it worked okish though

some of dem tire shops does have d low profile jacks selling too so u cud ask around

i remember a while back chippys in chaguanas here had ...