Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby matix » December 30th, 2018, 1:15 pm

^^^^
Very well built. Some talented tuners here

Postby adnj » December 30th, 2018, 3:45 pm

This looks better than my rolled up magazine and diamond paste.
pugboy wrote:I recently built a wood version of the apex sharpener jig which uses sandpaper on a long wooden block
really ass proof and does the job

I previously owned a chinese clone of the apex which uses stones which need to be regularly flattened

however if you take the effort to learn to hand sharpen you can easily sharpen a knife on sandpaper mounted over a hard rubber surface just as well, which is what I used to do before.

5C7F2339-4EEE-46A0-B5D8-999FB9EBFC8B.JPG

Postby pugboy » December 31st, 2018, 7:54 am

3m wet/dry sandpaper is very effective at sharpening
on a knife with an undamaged edge and easy technique you can quickly sharpen a knife to hair splitting
with just 600, 800,1200

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » December 31st, 2018, 10:31 am

Yep sandpaper works well, if you want to reprofile or do serious repair to chips silicon carbide sandpaper is a beast at that.

200sx

Postby 200sx » December 31st, 2018, 11:13 am

happy ole years fellars

i'm looking for a small lathe simple DIY home use

any advice on where to get one a good price or import?

tanx much

linton

Postby linton » December 31st, 2018, 6:21 pm

Anyone knows where has a good ,cheap half sheet sander? Have some sheets of groove ply to sand.

Postby X_Factor » December 31st, 2018, 6:53 pm

home mart should have skil brand cheap

linton

Postby linton » December 31st, 2018, 7:02 pm

Most of the new tools are Chinese made. Are they reliable. I don't want something that will break down quickly

car

Postby car » December 31st, 2018, 8:06 pm

200sx wrote:happy ole years fellars

i'm looking for a small lathe simple DIY home use

any advice on where to get one a good price or import?

tanx much

Comet nova 2
Amazon.

Postby X_Factor » January 1st, 2019, 5:45 pm

was bored and didnt hav batteries to replace so decided to mod it with a pair of old laptop lithium

wayy more power now
20190101_173041.jpeg
20190101_173632.jpeg

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2019, 7:29 pm

How you charging them?
Lithium ion uses particular charge scheme

Postby X_Factor » January 1st, 2019, 7:58 pm

I have the charger for them...tho I have to scrap everything and unsolder to recharge

ordered the two slot battery holder so gonna mount it externally soon so access wont be an issue

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2019, 7:59 pm

What charger you using?

I have jst connectors if you want

Postby adnj » January 1st, 2019, 8:55 pm

You can try using 4 pin connector with a pin wired to each battery terminal that mates to a jumper with small magnets soldered to each wire end. Attach that to any 2-slot LiIon charger.

Wire your toy to only two of the battery pack terminals. Use a jumper for the other two battery terminals on the toy's connector to create your 2S pack.

Postby pugboy » January 1st, 2019, 9:34 pm

yep, I have a similar setup I use on my radio control lipo charger for playing with single cells

adnj wrote:You can try using 4 pin connector with a pin wired to each battery terminal that mates to a jumper with small magnets soldered to each wire end. Attach that to any 2-slot LiIon charger.

Wire your toy to only two of the battery pack terminals. Use a jumper for the other two battery terminals on the toy's connector to create your 2S pack.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 1st, 2019, 11:24 pm

Anybody knows where I can buy a dremel?
Need one ASAP, if I can't get it by noon, I'm hitting amazon.
20190101_232343.jpeg

Postby X_Factor » January 2nd, 2019, 12:34 am

a nice alternative is the black and decker rtx tool...uses same dremel accessories

android79

Postby android79 » January 2nd, 2019, 1:16 am

Peakes always have Dremel

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 2nd, 2019, 7:54 am

X_Factor wrote:a nice alternative is the black and decker rtx tool...uses same dremel accessories

Saw it and it's literally the same thing, AND it's half the price of a Dremel. so thanks!!!! i'm looking for something to cut PVC sheets (irregular shapes).

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » January 2nd, 2019, 7:54 am

android79 wrote:Peakes always have Dremel

Will give em a call, thanks!

Postby *KRONIK* » January 2nd, 2019, 7:55 am

Bhagwansingh also has the dremels

bossmann

Postby bossmann » January 2nd, 2019, 8:02 am

*KRONIK* wrote:Bhagwansingh also has the dremels
I called looking for last week and they claimed they didn't carry it. Wtf. Do they carry the accessories?

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2019, 8:16 am

I have Dremel, B&D, Dewalt, and Ryobi rotary tools. They can all use the same 1/8" shaft accessories.

The Dewalt that I have (DW660?) is the best cut out tool of the lot. It comes with the cutout bits and vertical guide that usually are extra accessories for Dremel kits.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 2nd, 2019, 8:21 am

bossmann wrote:
I called looking for last week and they claimed they didn't carry it. Wtf. Do they carry the accessories?
I sure i saw dremel stuff there

And they have a whole rack with all the different tips, trincity/piarco branch

Postby *KRONIK* » January 2nd, 2019, 8:22 am

adnj wrote:I have Dremel, B&D, Dewalt, and Ryobi rotary tools. They can all use the same 1/8" shaft accessories.

The Dewalt that I have (DW660?) is the best cut out tool of the lot. It comes with the cutout bits and vertical guide that usually are extra accessories for Dremel kits.
I borrowed that dewalt cut out tool from a padna once, thing is a beast.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » January 2nd, 2019, 8:23 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
bossmann wrote:

Thanks. Will have to pass through.

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2019, 8:24 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
bossmann wrote:

I have bought Dremel bits at Bhag. I don't believe that they don't carry any.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 2nd, 2019, 8:25 am

adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
bossmann wrote:

Hmmmm....probably was somewhere else then.
But i sure they have all the bits.
I bought 2 that day.

Postby adnj » January 2nd, 2019, 8:35 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
bossmann wrote:

Hmmmm....probably was somewhere else then.
But i sure they have all the bits.
I bought 2 that day.
I was agreeing that they do carry Dremel tools. I've seen them... unless they sold out.

bossmann

Postby bossmann » January 2nd, 2019, 8:37 am

I'm guessing the lady just wasn't feeling to be helpful when I called.