:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2019, 7:30 pm

Just use a circlip pliers nah. Steups ,, is everything I does have to tell yuh?

Postby skylinechild » March 19th, 2019, 7:42 pm

rspann wrote:Just use a circlip pliers nah. Steups ,, is everything I does have to tell yuh?

*blocks head and face and kidneys from fatherly blows..... :oops:

i sorry eah... :lol:

nah i did da once and i slightly scuffed up the nut - nut is polished chrome nuh...

so d nex time i removing it i'd rather hav the correct tool.

by chance how do you remove the glass from the door mirror without braking it to get to the folding unit behind it...??

Postby rspann » March 19th, 2019, 8:13 pm

Pull from the bottom of the glass plate. It just snaps out. Keep the pressure uniform across the bottom with both hands otherwise you can break the glass. The top pulls downwards out of a groove.

wingnut

Postby wingnut » March 19th, 2019, 8:37 pm

skylinechild wrote:anyone know where locally i cud get the tool that removes the antenna mast screw ???
Used a small bird beak pliers last time, worked great

Postby Ted_v2 » March 20th, 2019, 8:21 pm

i use a 2 liter bottle with some gorilla tape on the neck. wukking like oil.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxPyVOiMKQo look a good video about bleeding coolant ect.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 20th, 2019, 9:19 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:i use a 2 liter bottle with some gorilla tape on the neck. wukking like oil.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxPyVOiMKQo look a good video about bleeding coolant ect.
E bonx... I love their work!!! Glad he explained it isn't the drain radiator and bottle then fill....

Postby hydroep » March 21st, 2019, 9:20 pm

Success is the best form of revenge...

Postby Rovin » March 22nd, 2019, 12:58 am

^^^ saw this come up in my youtube feed few hrs ago but i now watched it

if only we cud hire that gally guy to run this country ......

Postby Rovin » March 29th, 2019, 11:54 am

so recently on fb i seeing a few hardwares advertising a brand of power tools name TOTAL at rel piper pricing like $1000 or so for a SDS max type drill & other tools for a few hundred tt$

never heard of them b4 but looks like a cheap chinese knock off copy of brands like makita , bosch , dewalt , stanley etc ...

at least they honest about their copying :

http://www.totaltools.cn/content/about.aspx

TOTAL is a brand focus on top quality tools affordable. Unlike the world famous brands such as Bosch, Makita and Stanley, of high quality but too expensive, our idea is the top quality not only referring to the function, usability and appearance, but also the efficiency, performance and maintainability. We never do any advertisement on TV, which means we save all unnecessary expense to bring the benefits to customers and make the top quality products cost-effective. All TOTAL team are devoted in making TOTAL brand to grow into the world-class tools expert. TOTAL team are located in China. We are willing to find distributors overseas instead of setting up our own sales team. We have great confidence to achieve success together with you in the future!

Postby pugboy » March 29th, 2019, 12:44 pm

Sws is the distributor
Whom I believe is also a makita dealer

Postby adnj » March 29th, 2019, 1:11 pm

marcop2487

Postby marcop2487 » March 31st, 2019, 10:53 am

Hey tuners. I'm looking for a router tool. Anybody have a used working unit for sale?

Postby gt4tified » April 1st, 2019, 9:27 pm

marcop2487 wrote:Hey tuners. I'm looking for a router tool. Anybody have a used working unit for sale?

Try SK Tools in Lime Head Road Chase Village. He sells foreign used tools. No warranty but all tools are powered up before purchase. He also has new stuff too at relatively good prices.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 4th, 2019, 1:24 pm

Looking to get a pistol grip grease gum. What are the reputable brands to consider? Seeing some unfamiliar names on Amazon; good ratings but the reviews show grease leaking through all sides

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 4th, 2019, 7:29 pm

NR8 wrote:Looking to get a pistol grip grease gum. What are the reputable brands to consider? Seeing some unfamiliar names on Amazon; good ratings but the reviews show grease leaking through all sides

I have 2 Lumax LX 1152 in a Auto shop environment with no issues.

Postby pugboy » April 4th, 2019, 9:44 pm

What is the trick to remove the nozzle after pushing some grease in the nipple?
I've seen many mechanics buying nipples so I didn't want to break any.

I ketch my tail when greasing my hilux joints, end up unscrewing the nozzle tip each time, real mess.

Strugglerzinc wrote:
NR8 wrote:Looking to get a pistol grip grease gum. What are the reputable brands to consider? Seeing some unfamiliar names on Amazon; good ratings but the reviews show grease leaking through all sides

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » April 4th, 2019, 10:10 pm

Just bend the nozzle and twist it and it should come off the nipple or just buy a lock n lube grease gun coupler.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00H7 ... UTF8&psc=1

https://www.amazon.com/Lincoln-1162-Air ... 218&sr=8-3

I use this grease gun with the lock n lube coupler. No wasting of grease and ease of use.

Postby adnj » April 4th, 2019, 10:11 pm

pugboy wrote:What is the trick to remove the nozzle after pushing some grease in the nipple?

I ketch my tail when greasing my hilux joints, end up unscrewing the nozzle tip each time, real mess.

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Push straight on, grease, then roll the nozzle off axis until disengaged.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 5th, 2019, 9:10 am

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:What is the trick to remove the nozzle after pushing some grease in the nipple?

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Push straight on, grease, then roll the nozzle off axis until disengaged.

Usually this, however there are some miserable ones, ESPECIALLY u-joints where there isn't much wiggle room. I usually use a flat head screwdriver to help it out. Have not broken one yet.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 5th, 2019, 10:37 am

Guys...where i could get some stainless steel acorn nuts?
M8x1.25?

matix

Postby matix » April 5th, 2019, 11:29 am

Try Dumore

Postby *KRONIK* » April 5th, 2019, 11:58 am

Lol

Was thinking more in the east
matix wrote:Try Dumore

Postby adnj » April 5th, 2019, 3:59 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

I guess that leaves out Peakes.

matix

Postby matix » April 6th, 2019, 1:12 am

Oh sorry

Postby *KRONIK* » April 6th, 2019, 7:05 am

I got some regular SS nuts and washers yesterday
Will use those in the mean time until i get the acorn nuts. Its for aesthetic purposes so using the regular nut is fine.

So........who have a lathe and can turn out handles for me?

1.75” long x 0.75” wide, with a 1.5” 5mm bore
adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Lol

I guess that leaves out Peakes.

Postby X_Factor » April 6th, 2019, 8:05 am

U mean like these?
1554552319390.jpeg

Postby Kenjo » April 6th, 2019, 8:58 am

PORTER-CABLE PCFP12234 3-Tool Combo Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009NR3R6A/re ... QCbF41BJKW
Is this a good price for this combo kit , besides wood work does a nail gun serve as big a purpose for do at home jobs ? I could find long term use for the compressor but I wonder what much like even for galvanize or z purlins to build a shed , could the nail gun be of any use

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2019, 8:59 am

X_Factor wrote:U mean like these?
1554552319390.jpeg
^^This is a hex cap screw.

Below is an acorn or crown hex nut.

Last edited by adnj on April 6th, 2019, 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2019, 9:08 am

Kenjo wrote:PORTER-CABLE PCFP12234 3-Tool Combo Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009NR3R6A/re ... QCbF41BJKW
Is this a good price for this combo kit , besides wood work does a nail gun serve as big a purpose for do at home jobs ? I could find long term use for the compressor but I wonder what much like even for galvanize or z purlins to build a shed , could the nail gun be of any use

The price looks good for all that you get. You will likely never use a nail gun or stapler with steel roofing. All steel roofing should be installed with screws. If you have wooden trusses and supports, the nailgun will come in very handy. If you use asphalt shingles, even more so.

If you decide to buy, let me know soon and I will buy it. I need another nail gun.

Postby Rovin » April 6th, 2019, 11:02 am

Kenjo wrote:PORTER-CABLE PCFP12234 3-Tool Combo Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009NR3R6A/re ... QCbF41BJKW

that type of nail gun is called FINISH NAILERS - shoots thin almost headless nails , used mainly for fine smaller wood work like trim work , speaker box , cupboards , cabinets etc ... not for heavy duty like roof like 2x4 wood etc , for that u will need a FRAMING NAIL GUN & a more powerful compressor

that kit good for light duty casual small projects or occasional tire pressuring

for me personally smallest compressor i wud buy is a 30 gallon none oil-less type which is still a bit portable

youtube have plenty info on this stuff ....