:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2019, 11:23 am

Rovin wrote:
Kenjo wrote:PORTER-CABLE PCFP12234 3-Tool Combo Kit https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009NR3R6A/re ... QCbF41BJKW
Is this a good price for this combo kit , besides wood work does a nail gun serve as big a purpose for do at home jobs ? I could find long term use for the compressor but I wonder what much like even for galvanize or z purlins to build a shed , could the nail gun be of any use

that type of nail gun is called FINISH NAILERS - shoots thin almost headless nails , used mainly for fine smaller wood work like trim work , speaker box , cupboards , cabinets etc ... not for heavy duty like roof like 2x4 wood etc , for that u will need a FRAMING NAIL GUN & a more powerful compressor

that kit good for light duty casual small projects or occasional tire pressuring

for me personally smallest compressor i wud buy is a 30 gallon none oil-less type which is still a bit portable

youtube have plenty info on this stuff ....

My err...

I believed that the rearmost nail gun was a framing nailer (but I could still probably use another 16 g nail gun).

You don't need a larger compressor delivering more than 2.0 cfm for most 3 1/2" framing nailers unless you are working very fast or have two people on the same compressor.

Postby Rovin » April 6th, 2019, 11:41 am

well i didnt mean d 30g for d nail gun only purposes : i meant if i had to advise a 1st time buyer for more general medium duty use

i really dont like hearing a annoyingly loud compressor running often even though i own a 30g for d past 9yrs or so : i hoping within a yr to upgrade to a 60 possibly a 80g if my pocket cud reach ...

Postby adnj » April 6th, 2019, 12:22 pm

I understood... my point is that most pancake compressors will handle most solo framing nailers.

If you are interested in less noise from your compressor, you may want to upgrade to just a more quiet model. I am also a believer in noise isolation cabinets if that will solve your problem.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2019, 8:23 am

Correct, this is what i wanted
adnj wrote:
X_Factor wrote:U mean like these?
1554552319390.jpeg
^^This is a hex cap screw.

Below is an acorn or crown hex nut.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2019, 8:24 am

I getting these in all kinda size in SS up by me
The guy has nuts and washers in SS too
Just not acorn nuts
X_Factor wrote:U mean like these?
1554552319390.jpeg

hindian

Postby hindian » April 12th, 2019, 8:08 pm

Fellas where can i get this locally? Tried maraj air-conditioning and a couple other similar places in the north with no luck...
Screenshot_2019-04-12-20-05-30.jpeg

Postby Ted_v2 » April 12th, 2019, 10:59 pm

got that by general appliance in san fernando by RIG

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2019, 1:13 pm

almost finished the slot mortising machine.
These designs are good.

However I found the drawer slides on the heavy side, prob 2+lbs.
Some guys use shower curtain rods as rails with blocks sliding on them.
I am going to build over and use that way.
Also dimensions can be adjusted to make more compact.

IMG_9162.JPG

Postby Rovin » April 13th, 2019, 6:39 pm

^^^^ like u does watch matthias wandel on youtube ent , da man eh easy ..... recently i read somebody comment that he cud probably make a wooden hip for grandma .... :lol:

Postby pugboy » April 13th, 2019, 6:43 pm

I watch all of them, and when you watch one
You see suggestions of similar vids for others. Th fellas good.

Rovin wrote:^^^^ like u does watch matthias wandel on youtube ent , da man eh easy ..... recently i read somebody comment that he cud probably make a wooden hip for grandma .... :lol:

car

Postby car » April 16th, 2019, 8:39 pm

pugboy wrote:almost finished the slot mortising machine.
These designs are good.

However I found the drawer slides on the heavy side, prob 2+lbs.
Some guys use shower curtain rods as rails with blocks sliding on them.
I am going to build over and use that way.
Also dimensions can be adjusted to make more compact.

IMG_9162.JPG

Pask on YouTube made a nice simple one. When I get some time I’ll try it.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2019, 8:48 pm

Yeah , I am switching to that design
Looking for some old car shocks to get the chrome rods

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 16th, 2019, 9:32 pm

pugboy wrote:Yeah , I am switching to that design

I have many of you want.

Postby pugboy » April 16th, 2019, 9:47 pm

You have ones with thin shaft like 1/2"
Where you located ?

Strugglerzinc wrote:

I have many of you want.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 16th, 2019, 10:24 pm

L&DG has a sale on Tactix storage items, if anyone is looking for toolboxes and what not. Pretty decent.

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 17th, 2019, 6:29 am

pugboy wrote:You have ones with thin shaft like 1/2"
Where you located ?

Strugglerzinc wrote:

I have many if you want.

Most likely yes. In Carapichaima.

Postby pugboy » April 17th, 2019, 8:00 am

send me your number, might be able to pass tomorrow

Strugglerzinc wrote:
pugboy wrote:You have ones with thin shaft like 1/2"
Where you located ?

Strugglerzinc wrote:

I have many if you want.

Most likely yes. In Carapichaima.

Postby Ted_v2 » April 20th, 2019, 10:29 pm

Looking for a vacuum cleaner for home use and my vehicles

i have a small shopvac and its alot of power but too small and short hose. I had one some years ago and it failed due to being run for more than 30 mins, this micro model on its way out too. i currently also have a upright vacuum and thats a total waste.

my house is 95 percent carpet so..

recommend me something.
go with a regular wet and dry shop vac or theres a better option?

Postby Rovin » April 20th, 2019, 11:39 pm

was in pricesmart last wk & i see they have a 12g 5hp shopvac for $729 , i feel i will buy it ....

Postby adnj » April 21st, 2019, 7:19 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Looking for a vacuum cleaner for home use and my vehicles

i have a small shopvac and its alot of power but too small and short hose. I had one some years ago and it failed due to being run for more than 30 mins, this micro model on its way out too. i currently also have a upright vacuum and thats a total waste.

my house is 95 percent carpet so..

recommend me something.
go with a regular wet and dry shop vac or theres a better option?
You will not beat an upright for normal vacuuming of carpeting in a home or office but the costs can be high.

For cars and trucks, a two gallon shop vac can be plugged into a longer cord and used from within the cabin so that hose length isn't much of an issue. If you need to use a smaller shop vac for an extended period, you may want to consider using two.

https://www.consumerreports.org/vacuum-cleaners/best-vacuums-of-the-year/

Postby pugboy » April 22nd, 2019, 3:51 pm

Did some work on the design using rods instead of drawer slides.
Will finish next time I work on it.

Better design than the drawer slides, slides easier and no play at extension of the slides.

Got the chromoly rods from old shocks, made a mess dismantling the first shock and got sprayed with foul spoilt hydraulic oil.

Need to work up connection to vacuum hose for dust collection next.

IMG_9239.JPG
IMG_9238.JPG

Strugglerzinc wrote:I have many of you want.

car

Postby car » April 22nd, 2019, 4:26 pm

pugboy wrote:Did some work on the design using rods instead of drawer slides.
Will finish next time I work on it.

Better design than the drawer slides, slides easier and no play at extension of the slides.

Got the chromoly rods from old shocks, made a mess dismantling the first shock and got sprayed with foul spoilt hydraulic oil.

Need to work up connection to vacuum hose for dust collection next.

IMG_9239.JPG
IMG_9238.JPG

Strugglerzinc wrote:I have many of you want.

Looking good. Your work bench looking like an ironing board.
After you finish with that you have to upgrade to a pantorouter.

Postby X_Factor » April 23rd, 2019, 7:57 pm

Remember my son's RC truck I boosted
Here it is now...much easier to recharge

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2019, 6:31 pm

Pretty much finished the domino clone, only thing to do is a top handle, the width stops/calibration, forward stops with spring load and possible vacuum attachment.

It works great however there is some flex on the router mount plate as the locally available plywood is rather soft.
Anybody know of any better quality options for plywood ?

Worst case will use a metal plate.

IMG_9261.JPG
IMG_9260.JPG
IMG_9259.JPG

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 25th, 2019, 8:48 pm

I'll say it again, allyuh fellas on some next level voodoo ting yes.

I can barely use my ready made tools.

Postby rspann » April 25th, 2019, 8:51 pm

pugboy wrote:Pretty much finished the domino clone, only thing to do is a top handle, the width stops/calibration, forward stops with spring load and possible vacuum attachment.

It works great however there is some flex on the router mount plate as the locally available plywood is rather soft.

IMG_9261.JPGIMG_9260.JPGIMG_9259.JPG

Try some StarBoard from MarcOne.

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » April 25th, 2019, 9:21 pm

ANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR A SMALL/DOMESTIC SILENT GENERATOR?

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2019, 9:27 pm

Will check them

rspann wrote:
pugboy wrote:Pretty much finished the domino clone, only thing to do is a top handle, the width stops/calibration, forward stops with spring load and possible vacuum attachment.

IMG_9261.JPGIMG_9260.JPGIMG_9259.JPG

Try some StarBoard from MarcOne.

Postby pugboy » April 25th, 2019, 9:31 pm

Quietest small generators are the inverter type
The common small size is 2000
The rolls royce of them is the Honda eu2000, pricey and was the first of this type I think

However many other mfgs have come out with similar and much cheaper.
I own a champion and it's decent, generac also has one.

Calor wrote:ANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR A SMALL/DOMESTIC SILENT GENERATOR?

Postby adnj » April 25th, 2019, 9:39 pm

Calor wrote:ANY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR A SMALL/DOMESTIC SILENT GENERATOR?
So far as brands, Yamaha and Honda have worked well in my experience. The noise is about the same as a radio playing.