:: The official TOOLS thread ::

hindian

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby hindian » August 24th, 2019, 6:14 am

Guys im looking for a cable crimp tool to buy locally. Wanna use it to repair stuff like welding cables, auto battery cables etc. Is something like this available locally or Amazon for it?

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2019, 10:50 am

Electrical stores..modern electrical etc may have but may cost less to bring in one

Postby Rovin » August 24th, 2019, 10:58 am

dem local electrical stores have electrical stuff at reasonable prices but they does lix u with prices for their tools ... amazon it yes

Postby pugboy » August 25th, 2019, 9:16 am

Looking for aluminum angle 1.5" x 1/8
Who have ?

Postby Rovin » August 25th, 2019, 12:55 pm

ent them glass place like delta & such does carry that ....

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2019, 8:48 pm

Anybody know transformer reminders who can rewind a 110v to 24v toroidal transformer ?

screwbash

Postby screwbash » August 29th, 2019, 7:35 am

pugboy wrote:no as it doesnt have flutes to keep it driving forward in a centered manner
it has flutes but designed to clear the chips

you could probably use a router bit in a drill press with the target piece firmly clamped.

screwbash wrote:can i use a router bit on a drill ?

it have this yellow stanley brand selling in bhagwansingh. the price very reasonable, anyone ever used them, is it worth the money ?

Postby Rovin » August 29th, 2019, 11:18 am

^^^what a router or router bits ?

imo all dem stanley coming from mexico i believe d quality is rather basic or even less , good for casual DIYer ... i reached a stage yrs ago beyond d economy stuff but thats just me

Postby rspann » August 29th, 2019, 8:56 pm

pugboy wrote:Anybody know transformer reminders who can rewind a 110v to 24v toroidal transformer ?

Try Southern Rewinding and Servicing in cocoyea village.

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2019, 4:46 pm

Need a rotary hammer to remove some concrete that is covering pvc pipe
Does it make sense purchasing that brand
Would cost around 1200 landed
Screenshot_2019-09-01-16-41-58-048_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpeg

Postby *KRONIK* » September 1st, 2019, 4:56 pm

400 a day to rent a big one if yuh need 1
X_Factor wrote:Need a rotary hammer to remove some concrete that is covering pvc pipe
Does it make sense purchasing that brand
Would cost around 1200 landed
Screenshot_2019-09-01-16-41-58-048_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpeg

Postby hydroep » September 1st, 2019, 5:38 pm

Got caught with one of those near 5 star reviews on an unknown brand multi-meter a couple of years ago...never again.

For a little more you can get the D-Handle Milwaukee or variants of the Makita Pistol Grip SDS locally...not as powerful as that one but good enough for the home owner. SSL also has stock of the "Latin market" Makita SDS/Angle grinder combo for around $ 1500 if it's value you're looking for.

Postby X_Factor » September 1st, 2019, 7:02 pm

Anyone has those extension poles for painting to sell?

Postby pugboy » September 1st, 2019, 7:21 pm

That looking like a cheap hammer

Postby X_Factor » September 2nd, 2019, 3:56 pm

Anyone knows where I can get the threaded part that screws into a paint roller to buy in aluminium?

hindian

Postby hindian » September 2nd, 2019, 5:19 pm

X_Factor wrote:Anyone knows where I can get the threaded part that screws into a paint roller to buy in aluminium?
You mean the extension? Bhagwansinghs or Penta colour shops is where I last saw them...

Postby X_Factor » September 2nd, 2019, 5:49 pm

I have the pole but the threaded end broke
Hopefully can get a replacement to buy locallyy

Postby De Dragon » September 2nd, 2019, 6:07 pm

X_Factor wrote:I have the pole but the threaded end broke

roller.jpg

I bought this from Sherwin Williams in Montrose. Infinity Electrical in Couva also had these telescopic ones a while back. Extends from 6.2 feet, to 10.8 feet. Can't remember the exact price though.

Postby adnj » September 2nd, 2019, 7:52 pm

X_Factor wrote:I have the pole but the threaded end broke
I have never seen one locally. You want to look for a replacement metal ferrule.

If you can find a janitorial supply they should have them for brooms and window washing equipment.

[URL]https://www.amazon.com/Wooster-Brush-FR065-Sherlock-Replacement/dp/B0067NNMQI
[/URL]

Postby X_Factor » September 2nd, 2019, 9:30 pm

Good idea
I will call around tmr

Scratch n Dent

Postby Scratch n Dent » September 4th, 2019, 4:09 pm

Have this for sale $650.00 (brand new), check the link for more info (http://www.trinituner.com/v4/forums/vie ... 8#p9955658)

Need gone- check link for actual images.

Postby X_Factor » September 4th, 2019, 5:19 pm

^ good luck wit that

I used this to 'rub down' some concrete walls after plastering and wow!

Beats the concrete block method anyday
The 120 grit is perfect for it as well

Postby adnj » September 5th, 2019, 8:38 am

X_Factor wrote:^ good luck wit that

I used this to 'rub down' some concrete walls after plastering and wow!

Beats the concrete block method anyday
The 120 grit is perfect for it as well
I use a corded sander/polisher with a 7" masonry grinding wheel. It works great for removing high spots or squaring window and door openings, also.

Wheels cost about $20 and last a long time. You can get the whole setup for about $500 depending on what you spend on the sander/polisher.

[IMG]https://images.milled.com/2017-10-25/QEtXm4W3TM3TKRAw/-ALnPXrjzjVx.jpg
[/IMG]

[IMG]https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/61P-c7uJRaL._SX425_.jpg
[/IMG]

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 27th, 2019, 1:10 pm

$20 usd off on purchases more than $100 usd on Bosch cordless tools on Amazon until Monday.

Postby X_Factor » September 27th, 2019, 1:27 pm

I need a sds rotary drill
Studying to buy a Chinese unknown brand yes
70usd

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2019, 3:07 pm

X_Factor wrote:I need a sds rotary drill
Studying to buy a Chinese unknown brand yes
70usd
Compared to $300 to $400, I say give it a try.

I've seen many no-name power tools on Amazon with 4+ star ratings. Even if some reviews are fake, some of the worst reviews given are still 3-stars.

The Chinese contractors at the Arima and Couva hospitals weren't using any Milwaukee tools that I could see.
Last edited by adnj on September 27th, 2019, 3:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby X_Factor » September 27th, 2019, 3:11 pm

Might purchase this one
Should be around 1300 landed
Screenshot_2019-09-27-15-10-33-944_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpeg

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2019, 3:23 pm

LDG extended their sale to the end of September.

[URL]https://shop.thetoolstorett.com/collections/milwaukee-hammer-drill-time-sale
[/URL]

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 27th, 2019, 3:43 pm

X_Factor wrote:Might purchase this one
Should be around 1300 landedScreenshot_2019-09-27-15-10-33-944_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpeg

What size holes you doing? This style tends to be heavy for shipping. The regular "drill shaped" ones have enough power for up to 3/4 inch holes. I used a harbour freight one once and honestly I couldn't tell if was not a big brand name.

Postby adnj » September 27th, 2019, 4:02 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
X_Factor wrote:Might purchase this one
Should be around 1300 landedScreenshot_2019-09-27-15-10-33-944_com.amazon.mShop.android.shopping.jpeg

What size holes you doing? This style tends to be heavy for shipping. The regular "drill shaped" ones have enough power for up to 3/4 inch holes. I used a harbour freight one once and honestly I couldn't tell if was not a big brand name.
Struggler has an interesting point. Take a look at the product specifications for shipping weight. The difference is probably about 10 pounds or so.