Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby kamakazi » November 15th, 2019, 9:01 pm

Thanks for the info.

Postby pugboy » November 16th, 2019, 1:09 pm

The R&S guys came and repaired the tank today
It had a 4” vertical split. They plastic welded/melted it and then put on a fiberglass patch for some reinforcement.
Cost $720 for 1000gal tank and 18mth warranty.

Postby rspann » November 16th, 2019, 1:22 pm

If you have a heat gun, it can be done for free. Just cut a strip from an old tank about half inch wide and place it at 90 deg to the tank, keep heating between the strip and the tank and keep pushing the strip forward, the way oxy acetylene welding is done. It will be just like the original . Fiberpol has an epoxy that is used for joining quartz countertops that works wonders on plastic too. It bonds and becomes part of the material.

Postby pugboy » November 16th, 2019, 3:07 pm

Boy I figured that is what they would do but I glad they did it as the amount of fumes it let off was bad
They wear respirators but still

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » November 20th, 2019, 9:21 pm

Looking for a concrete grinder to rent.

Postby adnj » November 28th, 2019, 11:54 am

Amazon has DeWalt 20V Max XR Brushless 4-Tool Combo Kit (DCK483D2) for $249. 

[IMG]https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51gmR9Vxo%2BL._AC_.jpg
[/IMG]

[URL]https://www.amazon.com/DEWALT-DCK483D2-Compact-Cordless-Circular/dp/B06ZXRCNQY
[/URL]

Postby gastly369 » November 28th, 2019, 12:08 pm

Black Friday sales is boo this year....

Postby X_Factor » November 29th, 2019, 2:37 pm

Bosch has the 20 off 100
Decent stuff

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 29th, 2019, 6:35 pm

Got this for $128. It's usually $160

BUF503X.png

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » November 29th, 2019, 7:19 pm

gastly369 wrote:Black Friday sales is boo this year....

Yep. I thought I was the only one that was disappointed.

Postby *KRONIK* » November 29th, 2019, 8:19 pm

Me eh have no money to buy nuttin....

:(

Postby supercharged turbo » November 29th, 2019, 9:42 pm

Thought was me alone
gastly369 wrote:Black Friday sales is boo this year....

Parvin

Postby Parvin » December 2nd, 2019, 5:26 pm

WestIndian424

Postby WestIndian424 » December 2nd, 2019, 6:43 pm

Guys where can i get a good spanner/ screw driver set locally?

Postby Ted_v2 » December 2nd, 2019, 8:56 pm

Im a strong believer in Buying what you need to do you work.

buy a proper stanley wrench set , 8-22mm should cover all your needs, a good 3/8 socket set, all short sockets with two extensions, a 3" and a 6" and a ratchet.

go L&G tool house. they have good variety and prices not to bad.

i did it the other way and bought wrench by wrench, I have stuff from proto, gearwrench, sata, snap on, ect tekton.

https://www.amazon.com/TEKTON-6-Point-R ... BTYTMX890P

that and the wrench set and yuh doing reallllllll thing.

allied have a cheap stanley set, just over 90$ for a set, have 10 pieces. Good value https://www.amazon.com/Stanley-60-100-1 ... p_pl_dp_14

but dont expect wonders.

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2019, 9:09 pm

I lost faith in Stanley drivers years ago. Didn't hold up to the torq. Have a Max craft and crescent to replace those Stanley drivers that would have essentially made those sets useless.

Postby Rovin » December 2nd, 2019, 9:17 pm

i find d stanley products they selling locally appears to be not so good quality

if thats d only 2 choices i wud put my faith in cresent instead ...

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2019, 9:34 pm

Allyuh does bend regular spanners, like 12mm up ?

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2019, 12:12 pm

i see somebody on fb asking

Price for dewalt hilti ?

... :lol:

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2019, 12:21 pm

btw ^^^comment was taken from this page , home mart stocking rel ting dey boi .... :shock:

Postby rspann » December 7th, 2019, 12:28 pm

Rovin wrote:i see somebody on fb asking

Price for dewalt hilti ?

... :lol:
:cry:

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » December 7th, 2019, 1:30 pm

There are tradesmen out there who think that a hilti is the tool name for a single hand held jackhammer.

Postby adnj » December 7th, 2019, 1:42 pm

rspann wrote:
Rovin wrote:i see somebody on fb asking

Price for dewalt hilti ?

:cry:
I can appreciate your point but it's not uncommon.

Ripped from the web:

Most people don’t reach for facial tissue, they reach for a Kleenex; they apply a Band-Aid, not an adhesive bandage, to a wound, and they make a Xerox of a document, as opposed to a photocopy. These words, like Kleenex, Band-Aid, and Xerox, are known as generic trademarks, genericized trademarks, or propriety eponyms. Through usage a trademarked name or brand becomes a generic term — a common noun or verb used in daily conversation and writing. In the world of lexicography, a generic trademark is considered a form of metonymy — a figure of speech that uses a word or phrase as a substitute for something for which it is closely related (e.g., the White House for U.S. Government or Wall Street for big business).

Postby pugboy » December 7th, 2019, 1:56 pm

prices for combihammer drills coming down

I see bhagwansingh selling a big milwaukee hilti for $6500
using the big boy SDS Max bits

My Hilti TE-55 cost $23k new by agostinis back in 1999
mind you bits still expensive, a padna price a 5/8" long bit for drilling to pump termite chemicals
$2100 for it yes

Postby hydroep » December 7th, 2019, 2:05 pm

^^"Crescent Wrench" — Is years after using that I found out it's really an "adjustable wrench"...:lol:

Postby Rovin » December 7th, 2019, 2:52 pm

all of us here know how ppl does call a item by brand like squeezy , so for some tradesmen every big drill is ah hilti

hydroep wrote:^^"Crescent Wrench" — Is years after using that I found out it's really an "adjustable wrench"...:lol:

^^^i eh go lie when i was young i myself thought crescent because of d crescent shaped head was a type of wrench not a brand

so i will admit dat 1 .... :oops: ...... :lol:

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 7th, 2019, 4:36 pm

Hilux for all 4wd pickups
Barbagreen(pardon the spelling) for road paving aggregate/bitumen mix

But proper tradesmen know what a hilti can do and they know the difference.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 7th, 2019, 6:54 pm

Yuh know, growing up, i always wondered why they called it a barber green

Even tho it yellow and dont cut hair.

Till i actually saw an actual “BARBER-GREENE” asphalt paver

Life made a lot of sense after
kamakazi wrote:Hilux for all 4wd pickups
Barbagreen(pardon the spelling) for road paving aggregate/bitumen mix

But proper tradesmen know what a hilti can do and they know the difference.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » December 7th, 2019, 9:59 pm

Just to clear up....

The SDS bit was developed by Hilti and Bosch in 1975. The name comes from the German "Stecken – Drehen – Sichern" (Insert – Twist – Secure). In German-speaking countries the back-formation "Spannen durch System" (Clamping System) is used, though Bosch uses "Special Direct System" for international purposes.

There are three standard sizes of SDS: SDS-plus (or SDSplus or SDS+), SDS-Top and SDS-max. 

SDS-Top has been largely phased out in North America and is not common except for older tools. Hilti's TE-S system is similar to these SDS systems, but is designed for chipping only (no rotation) in tools for applications larger than could be handled by SDS-Max (e.g. demolition of concrete walls or floors).