Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby hong kong phooey » February 2nd, 2017, 12:36 am

i paid 130 it had 140 written on the package

Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » February 2nd, 2017, 4:22 pm

car wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Anywhere sells epoxy resin? I want to try something.

S Seepersad in Marabella. A quart is around $85. No brand.

Thanks.

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 5:45 pm

Looking for a motor shaft sleeve.
Motor shaft is about 1/4" and hole is about 3/8" on average.
Anywhere retails sleeves that small?

That and whats a good vernier caliper to buy? Is about time I get one.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » February 3rd, 2017, 7:04 pm

Looking for a cheap decent multimeter

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:07 pm

racedriverpro wrote:Looking for a cheap decent multimeter

Try the Klein from amazon.
Had one and it worked very well.
Mm200 model.

Replaced it with a fluke because I needed the clamp on feature and I got accustomed using fluke at work

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 3rd, 2017, 7:14 pm

Fellez

I'm looking for a woodworking router, I want to buy a good one and done. What are some things to look out for?

and where to get them locally if possible. Thanks in advance :)

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby racedriverpro » February 3rd, 2017, 7:15 pm

Mm200 model.

Replaced it with a fluke because I needed the clamp on feature and I got accustomed using fluke at work

Sounds good. Would like to use it tomorrow tho.

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:17 pm

I know a guy that bought a black and decker plunger and it wukking. Gave it some good jamming.
I bought the Milwaukee plunger, works bess. Paid a bit more. The black and decker was about $800.00 at ssl some time back.
I paid about $1400.00 or more for mine.
Know a guy with a dewalt as well.

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2017, 7:19 pm

Yeah you need to decide if you want a plunge or not
Plunge tend to be a little bigger
Most serious woodworkers have a larger plunge and smaller fixed base

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:20 pm

As we on routers, need some new bits.
Anything else besides freud to look at?

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:22 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Mm200 model.

Green lee is cheap.
If not there is someone selling a clamp on. I think is Kadijaveronica

What features you need?
Volts ac and dc?
Amps ac and dc?
Continuity
Resistance
What else?

Postby adnj » February 3rd, 2017, 7:24 pm

Mastech, Extech, Innova, Amprobe, Klein, and Craftsman all have solid budget meters. I prefer Fluke just because they last so long but I have owned all of these brands except the Klein (I have about 10 meters). You should be able to get a solid meter for about US$20. Any of them will be accurate enough unless you're getting into flow soldered PCBs.

If you want an inductive clamp, the price goes up but anything that has auto ranging, decent leads, auto shutoff, and an illuminated display.

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:25 pm

Used kurpal craftsman already, worked bess.

racedriverpro

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby racedriverpro » February 3rd, 2017, 7:29 pm

racedriverpro wrote:

Mm200 model.

Green lee is cheap.
If not there is someone selling a clamp on. I think is Kadijaveronica

What features you need?
Volts ac and dc?
Amps ac and dc?
Continuity
Resistance
What else?

That's all I need.

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:32 pm

Most clamp on dont check dc current (well fluke at least).
The one selling on the forum is used for hvac so maybe it does.
But any decent dmm should give you all the above
(minus the clamp on)

Postby pugboy » February 3rd, 2017, 7:37 pm

I have had good luck with yonico, Bosch and white side
There are also many cheap bits on Amazon that work ok, read the Amazon reviews
There are some cheap yellow bits on eBay that are a woft

nervewrecker wrote:As we on routers, need some new bits.
Anything else besides freud to look at?

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2017, 7:41 pm

Heard bosch good as well..
Will look at the yonico too.
Whichever is cheapest of the three i'll get.
Have me some woodwork to do soon.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 3rd, 2017, 11:31 pm

I use bosch bits. Very good stuff. Eats teak for breakfast.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 4th, 2017, 10:46 am

diablo router bits from amazon , it bad like crab & cutting like hot knife thru like butter

i have 1 or 2 extra brand new flush cutting router bits diablo & makita 2" flutes [1\2" shaft] if anybody wants it to buy ......
Last edited by - Rovin's car audio - on February 5th, 2017, 7:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 4th, 2017, 7:26 pm

l&d has the aeg router for around 600tt last time i checked, good price for something to practice on, note i have not used it. Comes with 1/4 collet. Have a bosch 1617 that allied has for around 2000tt very good router that comes with plunge and fixed base. Has adjustable speed which comes in handy for large diameter bits to prevent tearout. Comes with 1/4 and 1/2 collets.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWEUSc2GIos

For router bits , I am sold on whiteside router bits. these bits gives a smooth finish.
https://www.amazon.com/Whiteside-Router ... outer+bits

Heard good things on Yonico bits, good for quantity of bits vs price. If you want a good starter set go with the Yonico
https://www.amazon.com/Yonico-17702-Pro ... rds=yonico

If you are just looking to roundover edges and do basic trimming a small trim / palm router may be best for you. These normally come 1/4 collets

Postby Ted_v2 » February 4th, 2017, 7:54 pm

I used the milwaukee https://cdn.protoolreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/ptr/2956-333x500.jpg

honestly cant remember the price but its a great tool.

I rarely do house electrical but for i got a little greenlee that going for the past couple years, got at L&G for about 250$ ideal for a DIY Guy.
https://www.amazon.com/Greenlee-DM-20-R ... B000FRQO6C

for auto work cant beat a powerprobe 3

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2017, 12:13 am

Got some by seepersad in marabella today. Now all I need is carbon kevlar
Cloth now

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2017, 9:23 am

Wah u making?

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2017, 9:26 am

Wanna try and skin something. I might get a mirror shell from gastly369 so ill attempt that.
Just an experiment really.
If it goes well I want to try a hood scoop for the car and maybe some other stuff.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2017, 10:07 am

Havent got base coat or cf cloth yet. Might just try skinning something with normal cloth and see how I do.

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2017, 10:18 am

where you getting cf cloth from ?

Most serious places doing cf don't use straight dry cloth, they use prepreg cloth which is wet already but has to be kept cold to keep it from curing.

Postby nervewrecker » February 5th, 2017, 10:45 am

I think the sites I gathered the most info from were:

http://www.easycomposites.co.uk/#!/

http://www.carbonmods.co.uk/

And another was carbon mods on youtube.

Have some experience with polyester and its harder to work with than epoxy.

Amazon has dry cloth but I really really want the carbon kevlar. Black and yellow.

Base coat seems to be an issue right now as I dont have such (for skinning) but its not an issue if im building a fresh part.

Postby *KRONIK* » February 5th, 2017, 12:55 pm

I know two padnas who did similar projects with the CF cloth they bought online and clear FG resin.
It wont give the strenght of vacuum impregnated and heat treated CF, but you will get the look.

Postby rspann » February 5th, 2017, 1:20 pm

Practice with aloo bag , the brown ones. Real cheap or free, just was it first .