Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby X_Factor » October 5th, 2017, 1:27 pm

their sale is quite good...got some decent stuff for more than half off

car

Postby car » October 6th, 2017, 7:37 am

rspann wrote:
car wrote:The hardener in my fiber glass kit leaked out. Only a full quart of resin remain. Where can I get the hardener to buy?
Ace is the brand of the kit but I figure any hardener for fiberglass should work.

Any type would work, just ask for MEK, methyl ethyl ketone. Thats the correct name. Almost all hardwares and paint shops has it.

So I got the mek in the sikkens shop. But the bottle only have about 30 drops and they say it will do a whole quart. The kit I have say 10 drops per ounce of resin.
So what’s the correct mix?

car

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » October 6th, 2017, 7:37 am

Looking for this for a tool chest. Image

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 6th, 2017, 1:11 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Anyone know where I can get those parking spot stops(the yellow and black stops) you see in carparks to buy?

Delta glass has

Postby rspann » October 6th, 2017, 2:02 pm

car wrote:Looking for this for a tool chest. Image

Go in the Bamboo with your measuring tape.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 7th, 2017, 8:48 pm

Looking for a m18 impact 3/8 or a m12 3/8. any ideas where to check?

L&G ent have the 3/8 but they have the 1/2" at 4k but none in stock. SSL sent me some quotes but a lady i called say they dont have any.

uhhhh

nick639v2

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby nick639v2 » October 7th, 2017, 9:09 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Looking for a m18 impact 3/8 or a m12 3/8. any ideas where to check?

L&G ent have the 3/8 but they have the 1/2" at 4k but none in stock. SSL sent me some quotes but a lady i called say they dont have any.

uhhhh

Try SWS or Allied.

Dgsm2789

Postby Dgsm2789 » October 8th, 2017, 6:15 am

Allied price too hot. Check laughlin and degannes

Postby *KRONIK* » October 9th, 2017, 7:00 pm

Fellaz

I need some ideas

I need to make a trolley system capable of carrying 3-500 lbs up a steep incline.

Its to transport feed (100lb bags) from a low level storage to a another building

We are currently using a pick-up to do the job but the van will be up for sale soon and we need a permanent system to move the feed.
The delivery truck is too big to fit the road and gateway so i cant ask them to drop it on the higher level

Wat allyuh have in mind?

car

Postby car » October 9th, 2017, 7:31 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

I need some ideas

I need to make a trolley system capable of carrying 3-500 lbs up a steep incline.

Its to transport feed (100lb bags) from a low level storage to a another building

We are currently using a pick-up to do the job but the van will be up for sale soon and we need a permanent system to move the feed.
The delivery truck is too big to fit the road and gateway so i cant ask them to drop it on the higher level

Wat allyuh have in mind?

Motorized winch and trolley.
Motorized conveyor belt.
Atv with a wagon.
Cut the hill to reduce the incline.

Another pickup might be the simplest and easiest answer. Any other solution might be more expensive and expose the equipment to the weather and theft.

Postby adnj » October 9th, 2017, 8:54 pm

I like the winch and trolley idea. Maybe use a gate opening motor. They will haul a 1500lb+ gate. What is the distance? If you build a basket that tips at the end of the run, it will empty itself too.

You can also consider a powered wheelbarrow. Those come in handy for a lot of things. It wouldn't be to hard to make one with a battery-powered drive train. You could use a salvaged motor from a wheelchair or something similar.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 10th, 2017, 9:28 am

car wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Fellaz

I need some ideas

Wat allyuh have in mind?

Motorized winch and trolley.
Motorized conveyor belt.
Atv with a wagon.
Cut the hill to reduce the incline.

Another pickup might be the simplest and easiest answer. Any other solution might be more expensive and expose the equipment to the weather and theft.

adnj wrote:I like the winch and trolley idea. Maybe use a gate opening motor. They will haul a 1500lb+ gate. What is the distance? If you build a basket that tips at the end of the run, it will empty itself too.

You can also consider a powered wheelbarrow. Those come in handy for a lot of things. It wouldn't be to hard to make one with a battery-powered drive train. You could use a salvaged motor from a wheelchair or something similar.

Great ideas so far guys

I'll try to put up pics of the situation so you can get a better understanding

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2017, 9:32 am

motorized winch and trolley might be the cheapest and easiest option

Postby *KRONIK* » October 10th, 2017, 9:40 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:motorized winch and trolley might be the cheapest and easiest option

I feel so..

Cuz the cost of keeping the pick up to use once every 2 weeks not making sense

I could make a wooden trolly with a pallet and put the mounts on it for the winch

Postby Chimera » October 10th, 2017, 9:41 am

Yup and get some nice strong wheels

Postby adnj » October 10th, 2017, 10:24 am

I built one of these years ago. I used wheelbarrow wheels and steel pipe axles. It was steerable and could be used as a garden trailer. It rolled over everything.

Postby Ted_v2 » October 10th, 2017, 3:32 pm

That's a good idea. Not a gate motor tho. Use a winch. Allied have some cheap electric ones. 1 ton I believe. 110v

Postby pugboy » October 10th, 2017, 3:37 pm

I know somebody who just put in one of the geared winch motors in a supermarket as a goods elevator
it is using chain and a push button to go both ways as a 1 story lift
the model they bought was a little slow though but very strong
lifts pallet stacked high with cases of soft drinks

the motor basically hanging from a hook on an ibeam and chain running below and lift platform is on vertical rails to keep it inline

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » October 11th, 2017, 8:38 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:motorized winch and trolley might be the cheapest and easiest option

I feel so..

I could make a wooden trolly with a pallet and put the mounts on it for the winch

U will be running it on a track or wheels? If tyres consider foam filling it too, less headache

Postby *KRONIK* » October 11th, 2017, 8:40 am

nick639v2 wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:

I feel so..

U will be running it on a track or wheels? If tyres consider foam filling it too, less headache

Wheels most likely as it may be too late now to install tracks

Postby *KRONIK* » October 11th, 2017, 10:23 am

Feed need to be taken from by the IBc to up the hill, behind the gates

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 10:28 am

Kronik, you real lazy boy! Put a belt on yuh waist and tote it. I thought was about a mile it had to go.

Or you could invite one or two tuners for a lime and tell them that before the lime start you just have a couple bags of feed to move. Next month ,invite a different set.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 11th, 2017, 10:32 am

rspann wrote:Kronik, you real lazy boy! Put a belt on yuh waist and tote it. I thought was about a mile it had to go.

Or you could invite one or two tuners for a lime and tell them that before the lime start you just have a couple bags of feed to move. Next month ,invite a different set.

Is about 35bags to tote up the hill...and the hill rel steep.

I eh have no padnas who willing to toe feed nah...

But since u volunteer....wah we go do

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 10:32 am

Seriously, attach a pulley a post inside the shed ,pass a rope around it tie one end to the Rav 4 and the other end to a trolley. Drive forward with the Rav4 and the trolley goes right inside the shed.

Postby *KRONIK* » October 11th, 2017, 10:35 am

rspann wrote:Seriously, attach a pulley a post inside the shed ,pass a rope around it tie one end to the Rav 4 and the other end to a trolley. Drive forward with the Rav4 and the trolley goes right inside the shed.

The rav4 dont be available for work all the time...

But i go work out something soon

Postby rspann » October 11th, 2017, 10:51 am

You could replace the Rav4 with a winch. I have a 120 v one I could give you, needs a switch I believe.Image

Postby *KRONIK* » October 11th, 2017, 10:55 am

rspann wrote:You could replace the Rav4 with a winch. I have a 120 v one I could give you, needs a switch I believe.Image

U on the right track...i will build the trolley with some 2x6

I may take u on the offer for the winch

Postby adnj » October 11th, 2017, 11:52 am

Get a 2 ton portable winch for about TT$1000. Attach it to a post or point and power from inside the shed. Extend the remote by splicing in wire so that you can operate it from the bottom of the ramp. You will want to walk along with the load to keep it steady or pull the trolley back down.

Since the ramp is concrete, the problem of getting the cable dirty goes away.

Ride up and down the slope when no one is looking.

Edit: just saw the winch offer. Nice.

Postby Chimera » October 11th, 2017, 12:59 pm

Kronik yuh real lazy .

That's 5 trip with a wheel barrow

Postby *KRONIK* » October 11th, 2017, 1:07 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Kronik yuh real lazy .

That's 5 trip with a wheel barrow

Bwdh is this....all ah allyuh on my case so?

Which wheelbarrow toting 500lb per load up a hill?