:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » January 15th, 2019, 9:54 pm

ChristianRD wrote:Anyone knows where I can get bendable brackets like these to buy locally? https://www.amazon.com/Flex-lite-32124- ... JF7HRM2Y6Z
You can use perforated steel plumber's tape but it's about 20 gauge. You can try Peakes for perforated steel straps and angles. I have bought 3 foot lengths there. They cut with shears.

ChristianRD

Postby ChristianRD » January 16th, 2019, 12:29 am

adnj wrote:
ChristianRD wrote:Anyone knows where I can get bendable brackets like these to buy locally? https://www.amazon.com/Flex-lite-32124- ... JF7HRM2Y6Z
You can use perforated steel plumber's tape but it's about 20 gauge. You can try Peakes for perforated steel straps and angles. I have bought 3 foot lengths there. They cut with shears.

Not rigid enough. Its to make a mount for my radiator.

Postby adnj » January 16th, 2019, 9:12 am

ChristianRD wrote:
adnj wrote:

Not rigid enough. Its to make a mount for my radiator.
It might be time to take X_Factor's recommendation and start fabricating.

Use a scrap piece of purlin or get a flat bracket from the hardware. Either way, you will probably need to drill some holes.

I've use galvanized steel sheets for relay brackets, stand-off brackets and heat shields for years. It takes a little work. Use a piece of card stock to approximate what you need and use that to guide you.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2019, 9:14 am

Go by b&m sheet metal Freeport
They will have all kind of ends and can cut strips for you as well as bend to suit

Postby X_Factor » January 21st, 2019, 5:14 pm

got these two recently and they are deff worth it
20190120_071649.jpeg
20190120_071654.jpeg

Postby Rovin » January 21st, 2019, 6:09 pm

klein makes good tools

i hear channellock is good too so i gonna order & try 1 of these soon .... https://www.amazon.com/Channellock-909- ... B00004SBDI

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » January 21st, 2019, 6:26 pm

Where can i get a portable air compressor for car tyres? Ideally for the car cigarette lighter but AC power is fine.

Preferably in south.

Postby adnj » January 21st, 2019, 8:39 pm

Rovin wrote:klein makes good tools

i hear channellock is good too so i gonna order & try 1 of these soon .... https://www.amazon.com/Channellock-909- ... B00004SBDI
Channellock makes excellent tools. In fact, the Klein strippers shown above are probably made by Channellock. I have had a couple pairs of them for years.

amd-dude

Postby amd-dude » January 22nd, 2019, 7:28 am

ProtonPowder wrote:Where can i get a portable air compressor for car tyres? Ideally for the car cigarette lighter but AC power is fine.

Preferably in south.

I saw those in Allied I believe along with the small jumper packs.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » January 26th, 2019, 9:22 am

Anyone know where I could get a crimp tool locally? I'd buy it online but I need it kinda ASAP.

Postby *KRONIK* » January 26th, 2019, 9:35 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone know where I could get a crimp tool locally? I'd buy it online but I need it kinda ASAP.
Allied or bhagwansingh

Postby X_Factor » January 26th, 2019, 9:57 am

to crimp what? 0g 4g etc

Postby adnj » January 26th, 2019, 12:00 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:Anyone know where I could get a crimp tool locally? I'd buy it online but I need it kinda ASAP.
Also Peakes, MEPCO, SSL, Anands, Ramlagans, and Modern. They all carry them depending on terminal size and type.

If you aren't sure, walk in with a terminal so that you can match a tool to it.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2019, 2:02 am

looking for a paddle switch grinder, 4 1/2" with a guard that doesnt need a tool to adjust. where i getting that locally?

went allied and saw some cheaper ones, but its the push and hold model, not able with that na, i have two of those without guards. nearly chop out my toe and have a 4" long cut on my leg to show why not to use these things.

Postby adnj » January 27th, 2019, 7:25 am

Locally I've seen 4-1/2" DeWalt with a paddle switch and Stanley with a trigger.

I can't speak for tool-less adjustment. I typically tighten the guard collar to the point that it's snug and spin it around as necessary.

FT Farfan, Bhags, L&G

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2019, 7:37 am

l&G stuff is rell limited, has some ok milwaukee starting from 900+.

farfan does sell thing?
bought a makita for work, has speed controls, low rpm start ect rell impressive but for 1800$

Postby pugboy » January 27th, 2019, 8:35 am

I have 5 4.5" angle grinders, 1 cordless dewalt, 2 dewalts and 2 mexican makitas($350/pillai tools) which also work good.

None of these have tool-less guard adjustment.
The cordless dewalt does but it is not very secure.

the dewalt dw402 is a very good grinder with paddle switch whilst the makitas have the thumb push switch which often sticks locked so I only have those on grinding discs.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 27th, 2019, 11:46 am

Was checking out ssl website, they have a couple of those Dewalt and some reasonable Milwaukee. Saturday I'll go check them out

Postby X_Factor » January 27th, 2019, 4:40 pm

porter cable paddle switch will cost less than 650 landed and it works great

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 27th, 2019, 6:53 pm

X_Factor wrote:porter cable paddle switch will cost less than 650 landed and it works great

0% duty on tools is a beautiful thing.

Defiant

Postby Defiant » January 27th, 2019, 7:23 pm

My Milwaukee and Dewalt 4.5 paddle are beasts, almost lost a toe with one. Both bought from Baghwansingh, the Milwaukee is from when they had good heavy duty stuff. The Dewalt was the 2 from $1000 bought with a friend, works ok for my needs.

But side note Ted, don't you have cordless tools already?, since you have the batteries and charger why not buy a bare cordless grinder.

Postby Rovin » January 28th, 2019, 6:18 pm

how allyuh men nearly damaging urselves so - tools slipping out ur hands orr ?

me personally i always use d safety guard on them , i eh want sparks flying in my eyes or hands mistakenly gone to close d disc

i have 2 skil bought from pricesmart a few yrs going , i always keep 1 with a thin cutting blade & 1 with a thicker grinding blade , saves alot of time when doing work rather than to stop & change blades .... skil is not d best designed or smoothest but it works , paid rel small $$$ , $260 each

had a milwaukee that looks similar to d skil , i lent it out to a relative & somebody stole it from them

yesterday i tried a bnib makita my bro has that is about 5yrs, he forgot he owned it & it was sitting in a shelf , damn good tool , powerful smooth & quiet , best solid feeling 4.5" i have used ...

Postby Rovin » January 28th, 2019, 6:21 pm

while searching for tools on amazon or home depot i see this brand : WEN https://wenproducts.com/ est 1951

ppl saying is good stuff

anybody local ever used any & what is ur opinion on it ... ???

Postby adnj » January 28th, 2019, 6:31 pm

There is a lot of info online about WEN. The first soldering gun that I ever used was an old WEN.

Like other zombie brands, I read that some company bought the name and starting selling entry level tools. They're supposed to be good for the price that you pay.

Postby Rovin » January 28th, 2019, 6:56 pm

general opinions online from ppl who use/own WEN say they make products with a much lower price point that appear similar to well know brands but its more for home/hobby/light duty use , kinda like skil\black&decker\harbor freight etc econo level ...

Postby pugboy » January 28th, 2019, 6:58 pm

It’s a rebrand of Chinese stuff
Some of them highly rated
I bought an oscillating drum sander from them
Still in the box though but half the price and similar internals to the big names

car

:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby car » January 28th, 2019, 8:32 pm

I have a wen drill press, a wen 1” belt sander and an oscillating spindle sander. Both sanders work fine. Drill Press has a bit of runout. The prices are good compared to same specs of other brands.

Defiant

Postby Defiant » January 28th, 2019, 11:26 pm

Rovin wrote:how allyuh men nearly damaging urselves so - tools slipping out ur hands orr ?

me personally i always use d safety guard on them , i eh want sparks flying in my eyes or hands mistakenly gone to close d disc

i have 2 skil bought from pricesmart a few yrs going , i always keep 1 with a thin cutting blade & 1 with a thicker grinding blade , saves alot of time when doing work rather than to stop & change blades .... skil is not d best designed or smoothest but it works , paid rel small $$$ , $260 each

had a milwaukee that looks similar to d skil , i lent it out to a relative & somebody stole it from them

yesterday i tried a bnib makita my bro has that is about 5yrs, he forgot he owned it & it was sitting in a shelf , damn good tool , powerful smooth & quiet , best solid feeling 4.5" i have used ...

With regards to control of the grinder, a high powered grinder will kick with a lot of force compared to a cheaper less powerful one especially when using a cutting disc. A low power unit will slow and stall if pressed on, a high power will kick violently and that's where the danger is.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 29th, 2019, 6:08 am

just the other day i pulled out a piece of metal from my eye.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

the thought of the Milwaukee grinder never occurred to me rly, i played around with one of the DeWalt cordless and its a weaksauce, okay for the one or two cuts, not for any major fab work. the Milwaukee good? saw like 100USD

Postby hydroep » January 29th, 2019, 6:46 am

Plenty people (mihself included) does "take a chance" running equipment without guards, not wearing safety equipment etc. because it is usually more convenient...until something happens that is.

As they say, yuh does have to "burn to learn".