:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2017, 4:24 pm

I bought a similar one from the foreign used tool ppl by caroni roundabout
it is pretty good, basic up down type, the ones with the sliding are the more finicky with adjustments etc

Miktay wrote:Car: Hows that Dewalt miter saw working out?

car

Postby car » December 15th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Miktay wrote:Car: Hows that Dewalt miter saw working out?

Hardly use it as I have a cross cut sled for the table saw. Only use it if I have to do compound mitre or any angle besides 90.

car

Postby car » December 15th, 2017, 6:25 pm

pugboy wrote:nice sander, what you planning to sand with that ?

I see a dewalt planer in the back, I have one of those.

Already used it to make the tool rest for the same belt grinder. It grinding nice and fast. My 1” and 4 “ sander was too low powered. This one is 2hp.
Going to make a professional bicycle repair stand now.
Just hope Santa brings me the bicycle.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2017, 6:30 pm

I made one of those a while back
used one of those vise grip clamps
welded half pipe to the jaws and glued rubber in the pipe

car wrote:

Already used it to make the tool rest for the same belt grinder. It grinding nice and fast. My 1” and 4 “ sander was too low powered. This one is 2hp.

car

Postby car » December 15th, 2017, 6:45 pm

pugboy wrote:I made one of those a while back
used one of those vise grip clamps
welded half pipe to the jaws and glued rubber in the pipe

car wrote:

Was thinking about doing the same but I remembered I had a spare zyliss vise doing nothing. So I going to try something with pieces of scaffolding pipe and scrap metal from a threadmill. Only problem is what height to put the vise as I don’t have the bicycle and don’t have enough pipe to make the height adjustable.

Postby X_Factor » December 15th, 2017, 9:40 pm

if u want a piece of 2 inch galvanized pipe about 5ft long msg me

Postby adnj » December 16th, 2017, 1:58 am

car wrote:

That looks good. I was wrong before: I thought that you were making it to grind metal.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 16th, 2017, 1:03 pm

Engine stand selling cheap by tool house in Duncan village. 800$
Last edited by Ted_v2 on December 31st, 2017, 8:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Lance

Postby Lance » December 16th, 2017, 1:06 pm

I was thinking about buying an engine stand. But when I looked at its construction, it seems like about 250 dollars worth in material and access to a welder

Postby *KRONIK* » December 16th, 2017, 1:36 pm

I just get this thingamajig

Its a drill dust collector with a vacuum to help it stay on the wall.
It actually sticks on very strong.
And it have a laser and bubble levels

trent

Postby trent » December 16th, 2017, 7:55 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Image

I just get this thingamajig

Its a drill dust collector with a vacuum to help it stay on the wall.
It actually sticks on very strong.
And it have a laser and bubble levels

I also have one of these, it really does stick on strong but some of the dust keeps escaping from mine :x , had to use tape to seal the leaks :?

car

Postby car » December 18th, 2017, 6:32 pm

Bicycle repair stand so far. Vise can rotate 360. Upper shaft can pan left and right. Twisted legs are removable. Thinking about welding up the removable legs.

I’ll send a pic again when the 4 star knobs are installed to lock the swivel and rotation and painted. Image

car

Postby car » December 24th, 2017, 7:43 pm

Rovin's Audio wrote:for chopsaws - makita , milwaukee , dewalt .... u cant go wrong with either of these

Bosch too. But I don’t think I ever see a Bosch chop saw.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 26th, 2017, 9:03 pm

Where can i get small metal toolpans? something like 4x8x1.

i have one and honestly its the best thing for small sockets and tools. I keep my picks, 1/4 sockets ect. Wanted a couple for my home use.

car

Postby car » December 26th, 2017, 9:22 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Where can i get small metal toolpans? something like 4x8x1.

i have one and honestly its the best thing for small sockets and tools. I keep my picks, 1/4 sockets ect. Wanted a couple for my home use.

You can get them in plastic. I doh now how durable it will be but it should work.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 27th, 2017, 2:10 pm

12v compressors....lets discuss

Between my home, my parents and the business, we have 6vehicles.
Tire pressuring is becoming a pain when i have to go to a tire-shop to get the tires inflated, then its either over inflated or under inflated because they use those bogus stick type guages in the tireshop. So i need to wait till the wheels are cooled and set the correct pressure.

So i was thinking of getting a good 12v compressor to be able to do quick fills and top ups.
I have a cig lighter slime kit compressor but that thing is annoying and vibrates all over.
Last time i used it started to smell burnt.

Features preferred:
-good length of hose and a quick detach end for the valve stems
- easy to set up and pack away
- quick fill time
-small enough to keep in one of the vehicles.

What allyuh have in mind?

matix

Postby matix » December 27th, 2017, 2:30 pm

^^^^
In for info. Been looking for a good one for quite a while now.

Postby pugboy » December 27th, 2017, 2:53 pm

boy all of them lil 12v compressor is the same thing imho
lil motor turning a lil piston making a set of noise
I feel they all made in the same factry

Postby X_Factor » December 27th, 2017, 3:08 pm

i brought a db power 12v inflators sometime in october for a friend and he said he used it 3 times with no issues

Postby hydroep » December 27th, 2017, 3:29 pm

Went through three of those things yes. It looks as if they're designed for emergency use only. Any sustained use and *poof*.

Once the vehicles are at home we just charge up a li'l 7 1/2 gallon compressor, wheel it around and top up with that. 10-15 minutes and yuh done.

car

Postby car » December 27th, 2017, 4:34 pm

12 volt air compressor is a waste of time. Slow to pump, noisy, gets hot and can only run for 10 mins and needs cooling for a next 10 mins. Read the manual an it will say that. By the time you done pump a tyre your car battery dead.
Only good for bicycle and football.

android79

Postby android79 » December 27th, 2017, 5:21 pm

Where will I get a 1/2 hp or 5 amp drill press for about $1500? The skil 3320 good but I want more power than that.

car

Postby car » December 27th, 2017, 7:39 pm

android79 wrote:Where will I get a 1/2 hp or 5 amp drill press for about $1500? The skil 3320 good but I want more power than that.

You wouldn’t get it for $1500.
For the specs you want at least $4K. These drill press are much heavier and stout. Around 100 pounds in weight.

car

Postby car » December 27th, 2017, 7:42 pm

Colored up.
ImageImage

Postby pugboy » December 27th, 2017, 9:29 pm

You don't waste time at all

I am planning to build a knife sharpener like this
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=puvf7uHAP9k

Postby adnj » December 28th, 2017, 1:16 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:12v compressors....lets discuss

Tire pressuring is becoming a pain when i have to go to a tire-shop to get the tires inflated, then its either over inflated or under inflated because they use those bogus stick type guages in the tireshop. So i need to wait till the wheels are cooled and set the correct pressure.

So i was thinking of getting a good 12v compressor to be able to do quick fills and top ups.
I have a cig lighter slime kit compressor but that thing is annoying and vibrates all over.

Features preferred:
- quick fill time

12 volt only for emergency off road use makes a lot of sense. But you can get a faster, more reliable fill from a can of Fix-a-flat. If you're just checking and maintaining pressure, a quality air guage and a portable tank work well, too.

Another option is a direct-fill, 120v compact compressor. You only need an extension cord.

I have never seen a 12v compressor that worked as well as most 120v.

Postby supercharged turbo » December 28th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Where can I get a holder for various nuts and bolts?Something strong and durable with drawers

Postby *KRONIK* » December 28th, 2017, 4:43 pm

adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:12v compressors....lets discuss

Features preferred:
- quick fill time

12 volt only for emergency off road use makes a lot of sense. But you can get a faster, more reliable fill from a can of Fix-a-flat. If you're just checking and maintaining pressure, a quality air guage and a portable tank work well, too.

Another option is a direct-fill, 120v compact compressor. You only need an extension cord.

I have never seen a 12v compressor that worked as well as most 120v.

So back onto compressors.

From all what i have seen so far; anything running off a cigarette lighter jack is a toy and not worth the purchase.
So i started looking into 12v compressors with a tank or dual piston.

I was considering buying on of those offroad kits from ARB which comes with a higer amperage compressor in a case with direct leads for the car battery. But at 350US, the performance didnt match the price.

So i started looking at the twin compressors but its seems to be the same... nothing impressive gonna happen without an air tank to strore the air.

ARB twin kit with tank is like 850US...that go have to remain there...

I found this on amazon:

Looking like it will do the trick.

The reason i didnt consider the 120v compressors is that they not that portable and need to have a 120v supply to charge the tank. Sounding like double work to me.

I'll keep looking still....

matix

Postby matix » December 28th, 2017, 5:16 pm

How about an inverter for the car. Could that work?

Postby *KRONIK* » December 28th, 2017, 7:21 pm

matix wrote:How about an inverter for the car. Could that work?
A high wattage unit maybe...
But as i said before, i'm not considering 120v. i looking at portability as i will be between 3 locations and it needs to fit in one of the vehicles