Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby matix » December 28th, 2017, 7:23 pm

Understood.

goviboo

Postby goviboo » December 28th, 2017, 7:31 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
matix wrote:How about an inverter for the car. Could that work?
A high wattage unit maybe...
But as i said before, i'm not considering 120v. i looking at portability as i will be between 3 locations and it needs to fit in one of the vehicles

Not sure if you wanna take a look at converting a regular AC compressor:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f12/ac-c ... cs/1437966

YouTube got a couple of vids on it also.
For the regular daily drivers this may not be an option.

car

Postby car » December 28th, 2017, 7:32 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:Where can I get a holder for various nuts and bolts?Something strong and durable with drawers

Fishing tackle box. Plastic but strong enough.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 28th, 2017, 8:33 pm

That last pic u posted up kronic is win, that is for air ride and thing.

Mount a tank below tray bed in ur pickup and run a quick connect, rell bess setup. Those fellas in the states does rate it, saw a build ched a fella with a datsun 620 use one of those and his chassis as the airtank. great option. That fitting in ur engine room and piping out hose ect.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 29th, 2017, 8:05 am

Ted_v2 wrote:That last pic u posted up kronic is win, that is for air ride and thing.

Mount a tank below tray bed in ur pickup and run a quick connect, rell bess setup. Those fellas in the states does rate it, saw a build ched a fella with a datsun 620 use one of those and his chassis as the airtank. great option. That fitting in ur engine room and piping out hose ect.
Yea...thinking about that route.
And from the reviews on amazon. It fill up in 2mins and 100% duty cycle.

Time to start saving!

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » December 29th, 2017, 11:41 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:12v compressors....lets discuss

Between my home, my parents and the business, we have 6vehicles.
Tire pressuring is becoming a pain when i have to go to a tire-shop to get the tires inflated, then its either over inflated or under inflated because they use those bogus stick type guages in the tireshop. So i need to wait till the wheels are cooled and set the correct pressure.

So i was thinking of getting a good 12v compressor to be able to do quick fills and top ups.
I have a cig lighter slime kit compressor but that thing is annoying and vibrates all over.
Last time i used it started to smell burnt.

Features preferred:
-good length of hose and a quick detach end for the valve stems
- easy to set up and pack away
- quick fill time
-small enough to keep in one of the vehicles.

What allyuh have in mind?

12 volt only for emergency off road use makes a lot of sense. But you can get a faster, more reliable fill from a can of Fix-a-flat. If you're just checking and maintaining pressure, a quality air guage and a portable tank work well, too.

Another option is a direct-fill, 120v compact compressor. You only need an extension cord.

I have never seen a 12v compressor that worked as well as most 120v.

So back onto compressors.

From all what i have seen so far; anything running off a cigarette lighter jack is a toy and not worth the purchase.
So i started looking into 12v compressors with a tank or dual piston.

I was considering buying on of those offroad kits from ARB which comes with a higer amperage compressor in a case with direct leads for the car battery. But at 350US, the performance didnt match the price.

So i started looking at the twin compressors but its seems to be the same... nothing impressive gonna happen without an air tank to strore the air.

ARB twin kit with tank is like 850US...that go have to remain there...

I found this on amazon:

Looking like it will do the trick.

The reason i didnt consider the 120v compressors is that they not that portable and need to have a 120v supply to charge the tank. Sounding like double work to me.

I'll keep looking still....

Nice
but still consider the 120 V , with the wide availability of 120 V inverter equipment you can get stuff which is a lot lighter and you can purchase a small generator which is now very light also . i cannot believe how good my welding plant works and it is so light compared to the old transformer ones .
Because of your farm consider if only a compressor is needed of if in the near future you will need other stuff

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2017, 8:32 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:
adnj wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:12v compressors....lets discuss

Between my home, my parents and the business, we have 6vehicles.
Tire pressuring is becoming a pain when i have to go to a tire-shop to get the tires inflated, then its either over inflated or under inflated because they use those bogus stick type guages in the tireshop. So i need to wait till the wheels are cooled and set the correct pressure.

So i was thinking of getting a good 12v compressor to be able to do quick fills and top ups.
I have a cig lighter slime kit compressor but that thing is annoying and vibrates all over.
Last time i used it started to smell burnt.

Features preferred:
-good length of hose and a quick detach end for the valve stems
- easy to set up and pack away
- quick fill time
-small enough to keep in one of the vehicles.

What allyuh have in mind?

12 volt only for emergency off road use makes a lot of sense. But you can get a faster, more reliable fill from a can of Fix-a-flat. If you're just checking and maintaining pressure, a quality air guage and a portable tank work well, too.

Another option is a direct-fill, 120v compact compressor. You only need an extension cord.

I have never seen a 12v compressor that worked as well as most 120v.

So back onto compressors.

From all what i have seen so far; anything running off a cigarette lighter jack is a toy and not worth the purchase.
So i started looking into 12v compressors with a tank or dual piston.

I was considering buying on of those offroad kits from ARB which comes with a higer amperage compressor in a case with direct leads for the car battery. But at 350US, the performance didnt match the price.

So i started looking at the twin compressors but its seems to be the same... nothing impressive gonna happen without an air tank to strore the air.

ARB twin kit with tank is like 850US...that go have to remain there...

I found this on amazon:

Looking like it will do the trick.

The reason i didnt consider the 120v compressors is that they not that portable and need to have a 120v supply to charge the tank. Sounding like double work to me.

I'll keep looking still....

Nice
but still consider the 120 V , with the wide availability of 120 V inverter equipment you can get stuff which is a lot lighter and you can purchase a small generator which is now very light also . i cannot believe how good my welding plant works and it is so light compared to the old transformer ones .
Because of your farm consider if only a compressor is needed of if in the near future you will need other stuff

You raised some valid points here.
All of which will be considered.

Even though i dont think we will need a compressor on the farm.
Lol

Postby *KRONIK* » December 30th, 2017, 8:34 am

Postby pugboy » December 30th, 2017, 9:22 am

I have one of those pancake compressors, not sure how much 120v current it pulls though
it not very light.

I wonder how much pressure those pancake tanks can take or lets say a 5 gal water pump pressure tank.
Maybe if it could take a few hundred psi then it could be filled and kept as a storage fill tank like a pcp gun.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 5th, 2018, 10:26 am

I have a couple Dewalt miter saws available for sale. (only one would be sold and I would keep the other).

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=719041

I also have a Dewalt router combo for sale.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=715978

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » January 6th, 2018, 10:20 am

Does anyone know if these panel carriers are locally available or if anyone can make them?Image

Postby adnj » January 6th, 2018, 9:29 pm

pugboy wrote:I have one of those pancake compressors, not sure how much 120v current it pulls though
it not very light.

I wonder how much pressure those pancake tanks can take or lets say a 5 gal water pump pressure tank.
Maybe if it could take a few hundred psi then it could be filled and kept as a storage fill tank like a pcp gun.

Pancakes are typically rated between 120 and 150 psi on the tank. But the tank can hold about 300 psi as a safety factor.

Panckes weigh about 30 pounds and pull about 7 amps/hp when running and nearly twice that during the half second or so of start-up.

I use my pancake to fill my tires all the time. I don't use the bigger compressors at home that often and the six gallon tank fills up much faster.

Coming back from a cave dive, I saw a guy try to infate his truck tire with a full scuba tank. He blew out the tire because he didn't have a low pressure regulator on the tank. He was cussing all the while that he was putting on the spare because the tires were new.

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2018, 2:48 am

Yeah a scuba tank is 3000psi
Definitely need a regulator.
I might try taking a water pump 1gal pressure tank and modifying it to only hold air and put a gauge on it to see.
Should be able to hold at least 200psi.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 7th, 2018, 12:23 pm

Water tank is rated at 10bar or 145psi. Also, there is the bladder inside taking up space. That volume may let you top up maybe 3 tyres and possibly only 1 if it's flat.

Postby pugboy » January 7th, 2018, 12:45 pm

Yeah the bladder is about halfway, I would bust it to get more volume

Or might even try using a Freon tank

Postby adnj » January 7th, 2018, 9:12 pm

I built a compressor from a scrap water tank, gauge and refridgerator compressor. I was about 10 years old. It did about 90 psi and lasted for many years.

You can also inflate your tires with CO2. IIRC, one pound of CO2 will fill about 4 average car tires (23l) to around 35 psi. A 5 pound bottle of CO2 would go a long way.

You'll still want a regulator and can use a welding tank. CO2 is about 850 psi.

... edited the volume estimate

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2018, 12:51 pm

Or you could buy those portable air tanks for inflating tires. Comes with pressure relief ext. 300 ish in allied.

Postby adnj » January 8th, 2018, 6:56 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:Or you could buy those portable air tanks for inflating tires. Comes with pressure relief ext. 300 ish in allied.

I just sold one. I had filled it to 100 psi about 6 years ago. It was still full.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2018, 6:58 pm

Has a foam cannon and the Turbo Nozzle from my Quick glance. Good deal for anyone want a nice home use Image

Postby Ted_v2 » January 8th, 2018, 7:00 pm

That's allied BTW

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » January 18th, 2018, 6:25 pm

Hey tunerz anyone know the average price for one of these batteries in the store?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 19th, 2018, 12:30 am

I dont think many stores carry that size of batteries

You can contact lange directly for pricing

Head Office
36-38 Gaston Street
Lange Park, Chaguanas 50070
Tel: (868) 665-9477
batteries@langetrinidad.com

Branch Offices
88-90 Lady Hailes Avenue
San Fernando
Tel: (868) 657-7342

Postby rspann » January 19th, 2018, 6:29 am

juggernaught wrote:Image

Hey tunerz anyone know the average price for one of these batteries in the store?

SGI limited ,El Socorro Ext. Has. They also have with higher CA.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 21st, 2018, 1:52 am

might be about 1400 or so?

Postby Ted_v2 » January 22nd, 2018, 7:04 pm

dewalt 3/8 or 1/2 impact, whose the trinidad dealer for dewalt?

i saw from google , the dewalt center in la romaine? they seem like a total fail.

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 22nd, 2018, 7:14 pm

Ted_v2 wrote:dewalt 3/8 or 1/2 impact

What you using it for?

1/2 will work for both but the 3/8 won't.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 22nd, 2018, 7:48 pm

I agree.

1/2 would be preferred. Getting the mid torque Milwaukee and two 5.0ah batteries for 3200.

Kinda don't wanna spend so much right now. Dewalt tools are usually cheaper, so that's why I'm looking at it.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using Tapatalk

Postby X_Factor » January 22nd, 2018, 10:09 pm

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B075P1XDYW/re ... UTF8&psc=1
pretty decent price for the 2ah batteries

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » January 23rd, 2018, 12:06 am

Ted_v2 wrote:I agree.

1/2 would be preferred. Getting the mid torque Milwaukee and two 5.0ah batteries for 3200.

Kinda don't wanna spend so much right now. Dewalt tools are usually cheaper, so that's why I'm looking at it.

Sent from my GT-I9060C using Tapatalk

Bought this the first week in January and got it last week Wednesday via seabox.

DEWALT DCK299P2 20V MAX XR Lithium Ion Brushless" Premium Hammerdrill & Impact Driver Combo Kit, 5.0 Ah https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DQ19B1S/re ... zAbPZ1C8YK

Got it for US$306 on Amazon and cost me TT$343 to clear.

Also bought this at the same time for US$130.

DEWALT DCF889B Bare Tool 20V Max Lithium Ion 1/2-Inch High Torque Impact Wrench with Detent Pin https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007NVSQSC/re ... zAbH011X80

Cost me TT$235 to clear with a couple other small items in the same package.

All of the above for roughly $3500 in total. It made more sense for me online.