:: The official TOOLS thread ::

Re: Power Tools

Postby Damien » August 21st, 2010, 9:01 pm

last time i checked ramlagan the price of the ac-dc was about $4500 and the ac alone was about $3000, you sure $3200 for the ac-dc ? thats a damn good price

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 21st, 2010, 9:30 pm

No the pic is the AC-225. Couldn't afford the AC/DC :|

Postby Damien » August 21st, 2010, 10:09 pm

scene

Postby Damien » August 22nd, 2010, 8:24 am

Me no, normal stick welding is not to hard just the fabricating does take time

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 22nd, 2010, 12:08 pm

pioneer wrote:So allyuh fellas does weld on ah PJ basis?

Like if i wanted something jus welded together...

Building my house and i hate to borrow tools :D

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 27th, 2010, 8:54 pm

Ordered the PS21-2A

12V Litheon line from Bosch

265in/lb of torque. That's almost twice as much as the closest Milwaukee and Dewalt 12V drivers. Just around 2 lbs and slightly bigger than your palm.

Postby pugboy » August 28th, 2010, 5:16 am

the A123 lithium powered ones are very good, those batteries can take licks
plenty people buy the dewalt packs just to open them and take the batteries.

there is a youtube video of a fella jumpstarting a car with 4 of them

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcvmvrmTMMk

they are physically C sized.

kaifzenn

Postby kaifzenn » August 28th, 2010, 8:40 am

thanks for sharing :)

Power tools

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 28th, 2010, 3:24 pm

pioneer wrote:need a cordless drill...them 18V lithium ion good?

get the right one and it'll be downright GREAT. with Li Ion they're nowhere near as heavy as the old Ni-Cads

A personal favourite but too heavy and big for my overhead use not to mention $220 US

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 31st, 2010, 12:41 pm

Small hammer drill for now. DW511 $99US vs $1325 at Bhags

Postby Damien » August 31st, 2010, 12:47 pm

What about electric impact wrenches are they any good? 1/2"

Postby Strugglerzinc » August 31st, 2010, 1:11 pm

Never had an opportunity to use one. Waiting until i get a compressor then get a pneumatic one.

Others here may have used them.

Postby X_Factor » August 31st, 2010, 1:15 pm

^ probably one of the best tools i ever used!!
http://www.amazon.com/Milwaukee-Electri ... 08&sr=1-11
its not mine, but i hav access to it....it makes anything automotive soo much easier!!

Postby Damien » August 31st, 2010, 1:19 pm

Pricesmart had some a while back don't know if they any good,after a while I does get fed up pulling spanner lol if I get this it might be incentive to do more work

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 31st, 2010, 7:12 pm

but pulling spanner & ketching ur ass is part of d fun & being a man .... :P

Postby Damien » August 31st, 2010, 8:20 pm

sometimes, i does always ketch meh ass when i have to work on my own vehicles, probably is just the patience i dont have

good link x factor, how long you had this for ? could it take real jamming ?

Postby X_Factor » August 31st, 2010, 10:20 pm

well its not mine, but as i said, i hav access to it almost anytime i need it
my cuz n them had it about 1yr i believe but during that year it got real liks!!
still workin strong no probs
i would be reluctant to change springs/spindle on my car but with this is like a breeze!

jus get a good set of deep sockets with them and u on!

Postby Damien » September 1st, 2010, 6:18 am

Cool.

kaifzenn

Postby kaifzenn » September 1st, 2010, 9:29 am

thanks for sharing :)

Power tools

Postby Kenjo » September 2nd, 2010, 7:45 pm

i just got this b&D at bhagwansingh's on sale.there was a sale but there are thesecircular saw still on sale.of course this is more for weeknd stuff and not for heavy duty use.i have to set it up still and i will let you all know how its going.(crosses fingers and hoping not to lose any:) )

Postby Damien » September 2nd, 2010, 7:50 pm

^ those could take real jamming and real handy around the house

Postby Kenjo » September 2nd, 2010, 8:58 pm

Kenjo wrote:i just got this b&D at bhagwansingh's on sale.there was a sale but there are thesecircular saw still on sale.of course this is more for weeknd stuff and not for heavy duty use.i have to set it up still and i will let you all know how its going.(crosses fingers and hoping not to lose any:) )

Have dat same one 2 yrs now...works well

change the blade though...get an Irwin

i just put in the stock blade but i will get a piece of old wood in the morning to anchor it down to tighten it properly.did yours come with a shaft lock to assist in changing the blades when tightening them?oh the stock blade has carbide teeth so shouldn't hat be the hardest tip or are there large discrepancies between brands...this one is a piranha black and decker blade

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 3rd, 2010, 11:20 am

the B&D blades tend to loose "sharpness" quickly when cutting bigger pieces like 2x4. No such problems with the Irwin blade. Also when you get a replacement, go for one with a bit more teeth (maybe a 24 tooth) than the stock B&D for a smoother cut.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 3rd, 2010, 11:48 am

nice saw but imho those laser guides on it is a total waste of time since if ur hand shaky then that is pretty much useless - use a straight edge as a cutting guide which will come out better than any free hand cutting

i have used a few of d IRWIN blades & they work well but d best i used so far is DEWALT blades , they r thin & those slots on it apparently help it fly thru d wood faster & cut smoother too

last wk i bought 1 of d ACE 24T blades by bhags to cut some 2x4 , only had to do like 5 cuts on d small project i was working on but d blade worked damn good for d $46 spent on it ...

Firewall

Postby Firewall » September 3rd, 2010, 12:14 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
pioneer wrote:need a cordless drill...them 18V lithium ion good?

get the right one and it'll be downright GREAT. with Li Ion they're nowhere near as heavy as the old Ni-Cads

A personal favourite but too heavy and big for my overhead use not to mention $220 US

Bhagwansinghs supposed to have a set of 3 in a package. all cordless

think the price was around $1500

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 3rd, 2010, 2:56 pm

^^^ that's a good hammer drill there

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 14th, 2011, 1:22 pm

Bought a 25 gal compressor.

Where can i locate air hose/filter/tools.

Made a pass by Peake's and they have a reasonable selection but expensive IMO.

Where i bought the compressor doesn't sell any of these...go figure.

Suggestions?

Postby Strugglerzinc » January 14th, 2011, 9:12 pm

Nah...not a Porter Cable luckily *whew*

Wham nobody uses air tools?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 14th, 2011, 9:15 pm

tools ?

*inserts shameless plug : ...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=343432&hilit=+...Rovin...+

Postby X_Factor » January 14th, 2011, 10:53 pm

if ur lookin for the hose n stuff it might be cheaper to check one of those auto paint shops