PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

src1983

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby src1983 » July 10th, 2018, 8:02 am

nervewrecker wrote:I want to put the home security system in a cabinet and add some cooling to it.

The peltiers will have a water block mounted to each side (multiple chips to one block, 4 to be exact), a 12v pump to each water block, a radiator for each side and fans on each radiator. The hot side mounted outside the cabinet for heat rejection and the radiator from the cold side mounted inside the cabinet with the fans blowing cold air inside it.

So much heat that generating?

Mine in a cabinet with ups and 2 poe switches and cool as a cucumber

Postby skylinechild » July 10th, 2018, 8:20 am

src1983 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:I want to put the home security system in a cabinet and add some cooling to it.

The peltiers will have a water block mounted to each side (multiple chips to one block, 4 to be exact), a 12v pump to each water block, a radiator for each side and fans on each radiator. The hot side mounted outside the cabinet for heat rejection and the radiator from the cold side mounted inside the cabinet with the fans blowing cold air inside it.

So much heat that generating?

Mine in a cabinet with ups and 2 poe switches and cool as a cucumber

some of the low end DVR / generic DVR manufacturers dont care about heat dissipation. they make it as small as possible to take up the smallest footprint possible.

small form factor = easier to install but it also makes it harder to deal with heat management.

for a DVR heat management... best best is to modify the cover to accept 120/140 mm computer case fans...and run that off a 12 V power supply.

you'l also have to drill some venting holes to allow the air to pass thru.

IMHO the best bet is to make a new cover out of wire mesh...and work from there

src1983

Postby src1983 » July 10th, 2018, 8:42 am

Oh, I use a vm appliance for cctv recording. Got fed up of those buggy dvrs

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 10th, 2018, 9:00 am

src1983 wrote:Oh, I use a vm appliance for cctv recording. Got fed up of those buggy dvrs

Interesting..... Learn meh bout that na.. like really, any informative links etc

src1983

PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby src1983 » July 10th, 2018, 10:28 am

nick639v2 wrote:
src1983 wrote:Oh, I use a vm appliance for cctv recording. Got fed up of those buggy dvrs

Interesting..... Learn meh bout that na.. like really, any informative links etc

Using ExacqVision vms, on Ubuntu 14.06 as a virtual machine in VMware esxi

Support for over 128 cameras (any brand) and ability to add storage as necessary

Right now I have 19 cameras and 8TB storage

By year end I will be installing 8 more cameras and 8TB storage

My only issue is the cost you pay license per camera, but for peace of mind and ease of use I prefer to go this route

Other advance features I want to try is the security door and gate

HSA

Postby HSA » August 2nd, 2018, 7:25 am

Tuners,

Need some help. Looking for a cheap but working fx cpu. Preferably never overclocked.

Pm or whatsapp 2983606. Much thanks

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 3rd, 2018, 11:34 am

Upcoming Threadripper 2000 packaging

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » August 6th, 2018, 9:31 am

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » August 6th, 2018, 10:03 am

For those who interested in gaming on linux. You can use any distro you want, in the guide he used ubuntu because it easier for ppl new to linux.
https://level1techs.com/article/gaming-linux-updated

This guide is broken into 4 sections:
1. Gaming on Ubuntu Linux, natively. (part 1 in video below, the other videos coming soon)
2. Gaming on Ubuntu Linux with Wine, DXVK & Lutris.
3. Gaming on Ubuntu Linux with a VM.
4. Gaming on Ubuntu Linux with a VM and Looking Glass.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » August 6th, 2018, 10:04 am

terique

Postby terique » August 9th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Anybody having any gaming cases for sale?

cryotec

Postby cryotec » August 9th, 2018, 3:00 pm

terique wrote:Anybody having any gaming cases for sale?

buy some rgb, tape it down on your existing case and you got a gaming case there

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 9th, 2018, 3:29 pm

Lol......

More rgb=More ghz

Postby skylinechild » August 9th, 2018, 5:36 pm

src1983 wrote:Lol......

More rgb=More ghz

same cud be said for cars with stripes......stripes = more hp.... :lol:

HSA

Postby HSA » August 10th, 2018, 8:10 am

terique wrote:Anybody having any gaming cases for sale?

got a thermaltake chaser mk-i....mint condition...only issue is the headphone hanger is broken but it does not affect aesthetics..offer sum

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » August 18th, 2018, 6:13 pm

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » August 18th, 2018, 6:18 pm

Confirmed rtx 2080 & 2080 ti specs

https://wccftech.com/asus-geforce-rtx-2080-ti-strix-dual-and-turbo-graphics-cards-spotted/
https://videocardz.com/77369/nvidia-geforce-rtx-2080-ti-features-4352-cuda-cores
What we know: GeForce RTX 2080 Ti packs 11GB and 352-bit memory (just as GTX 1080 Ti). What is new is the GDDR6 memory clocked at 14 Gbps. This increased the maximum theoretical bandwidth to 616 Gb/s (that’s 132 Gb/s more).

We can confirm that GeForce RTX 2080 Ti features 4352 CUDA cores, that’s fewer than Quadro RTX 6000/8000, which both feature 4608 unified shaders.

The GeForce RTX 2080 is an 8GB 256-bit model. It is equipped with 2944 CUDA cores, not 3072 as previously speculated. This means GeForce RTX 2080 lost 128 CUDA cores from TU104 GPU compared to Quadro RTX 5000.

We also have clocks and TDP values, but since the origin of the data may suggest these are non-reference models, we will release this information later.

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » August 18th, 2018, 7:06 pm

Looking for a "cheap" graphics card that supports a 4k display for movies and for some light gaming in 1080p. What's my options? Seeing some crazy prices out there

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » August 18th, 2018, 8:16 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:Looking for a "cheap" graphics card that supports a 4k display for movies and for some light gaming in 1080p. What's my options? Seeing some crazy prices out there
Gtx 1060 may be what you're looking for
Maybe a GTX 2050 as well
Wait till the Nvidia news on Monday before you make up your mind

What exactly do you mean by "light gaming" though

infinite_RPM

Postby infinite_RPM » August 18th, 2018, 8:54 pm

Just a card that could run the latest games, doesn't have to be at max settings.. don't really wanna spend more than 200usd.. I hoping the 20 series cards cause a drop in prices

Postby Spitfir3 » August 20th, 2018, 12:05 pm

infinite_RPM wrote:Just a card that could run the latest games, doesn't have to be at max settings.. don't really wanna spend more than 200usd.. I hoping the 20 series cards cause a drop in prices

sounds like a 1050ti would be your jam

best to wait a bit since nvidea might release a 2050

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » August 20th, 2018, 12:17 pm

Wait a bit...those 1060 6gb should come down in price... The 1060 3gb is a slightly weaker card in terms of memory and performance. Hate Nvidia marketing for having two different gpu cores with the same name

Postby meccalli » August 20th, 2018, 1:33 pm

The International 2018 main event just started.
https://www.twitch.tv/dota2ti
Gaben giveth.

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » August 20th, 2018, 6:04 pm

techmelodic

Postby techmelodic » August 20th, 2018, 7:32 pm

Worddddddd

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » August 20th, 2018, 11:48 pm

New to this ched, see men talking about graphics card, i run illustrator, premier, photoshop and after effects, upgrading my systems and forgot to buy a graphics card, what card is suitable for someone running all those graphics applications (sometimes All at the same time)

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 23rd, 2018, 6:10 am

eurotuner wrote:New to this ched, see men talking about graphics card, i run illustrator, premier, photoshop and after effects, upgrading my systems and forgot to buy a graphics card, what card is suitable for someone running all those graphics applications (sometimes All at the same time)

A 1080 should do fine

Postby ismithx » August 23rd, 2018, 9:54 am

a 1080 is overkill, would recommend a GTX 970/980 if you want used hardware or a 1060 6GB if you want new

src1983

Postby src1983 » August 23rd, 2018, 2:19 pm

Any one here ever built a free Nas??

Chiney

Postby Chiney » August 23rd, 2018, 9:32 pm

src1983 wrote:Any one here ever built a free Nas??

do you mean if anyone every built a NAS using "FreeNAS" ??

if so, yes. I have actually built a few and deployed them as official storage in the company. it works really well!